More Than Enchanting: Breaking Through Barriers to  Influence Your World  -     By: Jo Saxton
Buy Item InStock11.49$11.49 Retail: $15.00 Save 23% ($3.51) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

More Than Enchanting: Breaking Through Barriers to Influence Your World

InterVarsity Press / 2012 / Paperback

$11.49 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $15.00
|
Save 23% ($3.51)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW836510

Black Friday Again

Product Description

Women who doubt their influence, who struggle to accept their distinct strengths and talents for what they are--gifts given through them to the world--suffer for it. The church, and really all of society, suffers with them. Jo Saxton invites women to discover (or rediscover) the gifts and talents that God has vested in us, and more important, the calling he has placed on each of us to seek first the kingdom of God where we are.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 208
Vendor: InterVarsity Press
Publication Date: 2012
Dimensions: 8.25 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 0830836519
ISBN-13: 9780830836512

Related Products

  1. Woman of Influence: Ten Traits of Those Who Want to Make a Difference
    Woman of Influence: Ten Traits of Those Who Want to Make a Difference
    Pam Farrel
    InterVarsity Press / 2006 / Trade Paperback
    $12.99 Retail: $21.00 Save 38% ($8.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
  2. Women of Influence, Women of Vision: A Cross-  Generational Study of Leaders and Social Change
  3. Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others
    Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others
    Carol Kent
    NavPress / 2006 / Trade Paperback
    $9.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 37% ($5.50)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 9 Reviews
  4. Women Rising: A Challenge to Stand Up and Step Out into a Life of Influence
    Women Rising: A Challenge to Stand Up and Step Out into a Life of Influence
    Amanda Antcliff
    Creation House / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $10.71 Retail: $14.99 Save 29% ($4.28)

Publisher's Description

Women have always been central to the life of the church. From the early hours of the first Easter, when women were charged to announce the resurrection of Jesus, to the state of the contemporary church, where women outnumber men in pews and positions of service. But as central as women have been, they've also found themselves regularly marginalized--and not only in the church but in the neighborhoods, cities and societies they inhabit. Sometimes they've had to endure the well-intended biases or benign neglect of the leaders of their communities; sometimes they've been sidelined by their own crises of confidence. Sometimes they've had to contend with both at once. Women who doubt their influence, who struggle to accept their distinct strengths and talents for what they are--gifts given through them to the world--suffer for it. The church, and really all of society, suffers with them. Jo Saxton invites women to discover (or rediscover) the gifts and talents that God has vested in us, and more important, the calling he has placed on each of us to seek first the kingdom of God where we are.

Author Bio

Jo Saxton is a pastor, missional leader, speaker, and author. Together with her husband, Chris, she leads Mission Point Church in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and she is a director of 3D Ministries, an organization that equips church leaders to create missional, discipleship-centered communities. She is the author of , , and . Born and raised in London, Jo has spoken at colleges, universities, and seminaries throughout the United States and England, including Liberty University, Bethel University, Virginia Baptist College, and Fuller Seminary. She is on the board of advisors for Today's Christian Woman and was previously college pastor at St. Thomas Church in Sheffield, England, planting missional congregations among college students and young adults. She has addressed conference audiences at Q, Catalyst, Simply Youth, and the National Day of Prayer, as well as denominational gatherings for the Virginia Baptist Women, Salvation Army, Evangelical Covenant and Foursquare Church, Lutheran Congregations on Mission for Christ, and North Star Church Network. Alan Hirsch is the founding Director of Forge Mission Training Network. He is the co-founder of shapevine.com, an international forum for engaging with world transforming ideas. He leads Future Travelers, a learning journey applying missional-incarnational approaches to established churches and is an active participant in The Tribe of LA, a Jesus community among artists and creatives in Los Angeles. Known for his innovative approach to mission, Hirsch is a teacher and key mission strategist for churches across the western world. His popular book (with Michael Frost) is widely considered to be a seminal text on mission. Alan's recent book , has quickly become a key reference for missional thinking, particularly as it relates to movements. His book is a radical restatement about the role that Jesus plays in defining missional movements. , his latest book (with his wife Debra) is about missional discipleship for a missional church. His experience in leadership includes leading a local church movement among the marginalized as well as heading up the Mission and Revitalization work of his denomination. Hirsch is an adjunct professor at Fuller Seminary and lectures frequently throughout Australia, Europe, and the U.S. Deb Hirsch is a speaker, church leader and writer who has led churches in both Australia and Los Angeles. She is one of the founders of Forge Mission Training Network and is a member of the Forge America national team. She also serves as a board member for Missio Alliance and was part of the leadership team of Christian Associates, a church planting movement in Europe, North & South America. She is the co-author (with Alan Hirsch) of and her new book reflects her own journey and attempts to bring new conversations about sexuality into the context of the church. Deb has been involved in social work, community development and as a trained counselor has worked in the field of sexuality for over twenty-five years. She and her husband live in community with others in Los Angeles.

Editorial Reviews

"Jo Saxton is a leader, visionary, practitioner and voice that leaders need to hear. This book is an essential resource for anyone serious about investing in the emerging generation of women leaders."
"Saxton has changed the conversation. She has catapulted us beyond the same tired debates, the old unanswerable questions and past paradigms to an unmistakable call to action. Women can no longer sit idly on the sidelines or argumentatively in the halls of debate but must step into their unique calling and work in the kingdom. This book is important for all women who influence--from the family to the marketplace to the church. It is also an important read for the men who lead them and are led by them."
"In the tradition of Carolyn Custis James, Jo Saxton encourages women to live beyond cultural assumptions and churchy expectations and to live fully into our calling. More Than Enchanting is a must-read for women--whether they are secure in their callings or just finding their feet."
"Every woman is a queen with her own unique kingdom of influence. Jo Saxton's compelling book not only reminds us as women to invest in our own heart of leadership but to invest in women everywhere."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search