The God Effect: Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon
Buy Item $16.19 Retail: $17.99 Save 10% ($1.80)
In Stock
Stock No: WW555306
Warehouse Location: - A note to our customers: This product is not stocked at our Peabody, MA location. However, if you purchase this product at our warehouse sale, or order it online for pick-up at our warehouse sale, we will ship it to you at no additional charge.
MacMillan / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

The God Effect: Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon

MacMillan / Paperback

In Stock
Warehouse Location: - A note to our customers: This product is not stocked at our Peabody, MA location. However, if you purchase this product at our warehouse sale, or order it online for pick-up at our warehouse sale, we will ship it to you at no additional charge.
Stock No: WW555306


This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.

Product Description

The phenomenon that Einstein thought too spooky and strange to be true.

What is entanglement? It's a connection between quantum particles, the building blocks of the universe. Once two particles are entangled, a change to one of them is reflected---instantly---in the other, be they in the same lab or light-years apart. So counterintuitive is this phenomenon and its implications that Einstein himself called it "spooky" and thought that it would lead to the downfall of quantum theory. Yet scientists have since discovered that quantum entanglement, the "God Effect," was one of Einstein's few---and perhaps one of his greatest---mistakes.

What does it mean? The possibilities offered by a fuller understanding of the nature of entanglement read like something out of science fiction: communications devices that could span the stars, codes that cannot be broken, computers that dwarf today's machines in speed and power, teleportation, and more.

In The God Effect, veteran science writer Brian Clegg has written an exceptionally readable and fascinating (and equation-free) account of entanglement, its history, and its application. Fans of Brian Greene and Amir Aczel and those interested in the marvelous possibilities coming down the quantum road will find much to marvel, illuminate, and delight.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 269
Vendor: MacMillan
Dimensions: 8.30 X 5.50 X 0.80 (inches)
ISBN: 031255530X
ISBN-13: 9780312555306

Related Products

  1. New Proofs for the Existence of God: Contributions of Contemporary Physics and Philosophy
    New Proofs for the Existence of God: Contributions of Contemporary Physics and Philosophy
    Robert J. Spitzer
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $18.99 Retail: $28.00 Save 32% ($9.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
  2. The Physics of Christianity
    The Physics of Christianity
    Frank J. Tipler
    Random House / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $15.29 Retail: $16.99 Save 10% ($1.70)
  3. Quantum Theology: Spiritual Implications of the New  Physics, Revised and Updated
    Quantum Theology: Spiritual Implications of the New Physics, Revised and Updated
    Diarmuid O'Murchu
    Crossroad / 2004 / Trade Paperback
    $14.99 Retail: $19.95 Save 25% ($4.96)
  4. Commentary on Aristotle's Physics, Softcover
    Commentary on Aristotle's Physics, Softcover
    Thomas Aquinas
    St. Augustine's Press / 1999 / Trade Paperback
    $45.00

Publisher's Description

The phenomenon that Einstein thought too spooky and strange to be true

What is entanglement? It's a connection between quantum particles, the building blocks of the universe. Once two particles are entangled, a change to one of them is reflected---instantly---in the other, be they in the same lab or light-years apart. So counterintuitive is this phenomenon and its implications that Einstein himself called it “spooky” and thought that it would lead to the downfall of quantum theory. Yet scientists have since discovered that quantum entanglement, the “God Effect,” was one of Einstein’s few---and perhaps one of his greatest---mistakes.
 
What does it mean? The possibilities offered by a fuller understanding of the nature of entanglement read like something out of science fiction: communications devices that could span the stars, codes that cannot be broken, computers that dwarf today's machines in speed and power, teleportation, and more.

In The God Effect, veteran science writer Brian Clegg has written an exceptionally readable and fascinating (and equation-free) account of entanglement, its history, and its application. Fans of Brian Greene and Amir Aczel and those interested in the marvelous possibilities coming down the quantum physics road will find much to marvel, illuminate, and delight.

Author Bio

Brian Clegg is the author of A Brief History of Infinity, The First Scientist: A Life of Roger Bacon, and Light Years: The Extraordinary Story of Mankind’s Fascination with Light. He holds a physics degree from Cambridge and has written regular columns, features, and reviews for numerous magazines. His books have been translated into ten languages. He lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and two children.

Product Reviews

2 Stars Out Of 5
2 out of 5
(0)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(0)
Quality:
2 out Of 5
(2 out of 5)
Value:
2 out Of 5
(2 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
1 out Of 5
(1 out of 5)
0%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1
  1. Mary C
    Raleigh, NC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    2 Stars Out Of 5
    Book title a little misleading
    August 11, 2011
    Mary C
    Raleigh, NC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 2
    Value: 2
    Meets Expectations: 1
    I was hoping to have a more detailed discussion of faith in relationship to quantum mechanics; and "The God Effect" was more about the history of quantum mechanics than describing a correlation between particle/wave duality and the application of speaking the Word. I couldn't find in the book where "the God effect" was mentioned. So I was disappointed.
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.