The God Effect: Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon
Buy Item $16.19 Retail: $17.99 Save 10% ($1.80)
In Stock
Stock No: WW555306
MacMillan / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

The God Effect: Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon

MacMillan / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW555306


Product Close-up
This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.

Product Description

The phenomenon that Einstein thought too spooky and strange to be true.

What is entanglement? It's a connection between quantum particles, the building blocks of the universe. Once two particles are entangled, a change to one of them is reflected---instantly---in the other, be they in the same lab or light-years apart. So counterintuitive is this phenomenon and its implications that Einstein himself called it "spooky" and thought that it would lead to the downfall of quantum theory. Yet scientists have since discovered that quantum entanglement, the "God Effect," was one of Einstein's few---and perhaps one of his greatest---mistakes.

What does it mean? The possibilities offered by a fuller understanding of the nature of entanglement read like something out of science fiction: communications devices that could span the stars, codes that cannot be broken, computers that dwarf today's machines in speed and power, teleportation, and more.

In The God Effect, veteran science writer Brian Clegg has written an exceptionally readable and fascinating (and equation-free) account of entanglement, its history, and its application. Fans of Brian Greene and Amir Aczel and those interested in the marvelous possibilities coming down the quantum road will find much to marvel, illuminate, and delight.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 269
Vendor: MacMillan
Dimensions: 8.30 X 5.50 X 0.80 (inches)
ISBN: 031255530X
ISBN-13: 9780312555306

Related Products

  1. New Proofs for the Existence of God: Contributions of Contemporary Physics and Philosophy
    New Proofs for the Existence of God: Contributions of Contemporary Physics and Philosophy
    Robert J. Spitzer
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $19.99 Retail: $28.00 Save 29% ($8.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
  2. The Physics of Christianity
    The Physics of Christianity
    Frank J. Tipler
    Random House / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $15.29 Retail: $16.99 Save 10% ($1.70)
  3. Quantum Theology: Spiritual Implications of the New  Physics, Revised and Updated
    Quantum Theology: Spiritual Implications of the New Physics, Revised and Updated
    Diarmuid O'Murchu
    Crossroad / 2004 / Trade Paperback
    $14.99 Retail: $19.95 Save 25% ($4.96)
  4. Modern Physics and Ancient Faith
    Modern Physics and Ancient Faith
    Stephen M. Barr
    University of Nebraska Press / Trade Paperback
    $27.19 Retail: $29.00 Save 6% ($1.81)

Publisher's Description

The phenomenon that Einstein thought too spooky and strange to be true

What is entanglement? It's a connection between quantum particles, the building blocks of the universe. Once two particles are entangled, a change to one of them is reflected---instantly---in the other, be they in the same lab or light-years apart. So counterintuitive is this phenomenon and its implications that Einstein himself called it “spooky” and thought that it would lead to the downfall of quantum theory. Yet scientists have since discovered that quantum entanglement, the “God Effect,” was one of Einstein’s few---and perhaps one of his greatest---mistakes.
 
What does it mean? The possibilities offered by a fuller understanding of the nature of entanglement read like something out of science fiction: communications devices that could span the stars, codes that cannot be broken, computers that dwarf today's machines in speed and power, teleportation, and more.

In The God Effect, veteran science writer Brian Clegg has written an exceptionally readable and fascinating (and equation-free) account of entanglement, its history, and its application. Fans of Brian Greene and Amir Aczel and those interested in the marvelous possibilities coming down the quantum physics road will find much to marvel, illuminate, and delight.

Author Bio

Brian Clegg is the author of A Brief History of Infinity, The First Scientist: A Life of Roger Bacon, and Light Years: The Extraordinary Story of Mankind’s Fascination with Light. He holds a physics degree from Cambridge and has written regular columns, features, and reviews for numerous magazines. His books have been translated into ten languages. He lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and two children.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.