I Don't Want To Be A Frog
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 41% ($7.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW378666
Doubleday / 2015 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

I Don't Want To Be A Frog

Doubleday / 2015 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW378666


Product Description

Join this little froggy as he gripes and whines about how he wants to be something, anything different than what he is. This adorable picture book features a humorous text of the father frog explaining to his son why he can't be a pig, a bunny, an owl, and all kinds of other animals---because he is a frog! It takes a little reminder from a neighboring animal to remind little frog just how lucky he is! Recommended for ages 3 to 7.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Vendor: Doubleday
Publication Date: 2015
ISBN: 0385378661
ISBN-13: 9780385378666
Ages: 3-7

Related Products

  1. Max Lucado's Wemmicks: If I Only Had a Green Nose, Picture Book
    Max Lucado's Wemmicks: If I Only Had a Green Nose, Picture Book
    Max Lucado
    Crossway / 2002 / Hardcover
    $12.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 24% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 2 Reviews
  2. You Are Special: A Story for Everyone
    You Are Special: A Story for Everyone
    Max Lucado
    Crossway / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $4.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 29% ($2.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 31 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW522673
  3. Oh, the Places You'll Go!
    Oh, the Places You'll Go!
    Dr. Seuss
    Random House Books for Young Readers / 1990 / Hardcover
    $10.99 Retail: $18.99 Save 42% ($8.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 3 Reviews
  4. Two Fat Camels: The Story of Two Rich Men from Luke 18-19
    Two Fat Camels: The Story of Two Rich Men from Luke 18-19
    Douglas Sean O'Donnell
    CF4Kids / 2015 / Trade Paperback
    $4.49 Retail: $7.99 Save 44% ($3.50)

Publisher's Description

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father! Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back!

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives—a wolf who HATES eating frogs—our hero decides that being himself isn’t so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog’s desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequel - I Don't Want to Be Big - available now!

* "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."—Publishers WeeklySTARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."—Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."—School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."—Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."—Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Author Bio

DEV PETTY is the author of I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, I Don’t Want to Be Big, and There's Nothing to Do! A graduate of the University of California, Santa Cruz, Dev previously worked as a visual-effects artist in film, contributing to such movies as the Matrix Trilogy. Dev was born and raised in Berkeley, California, and now lives right next door in Albany with her husband, two daughters, some dogs, and other critters. Visit her online at devpetty.com.
 
MIKE BOLDT is an author and illustrator living in the countryside of Alberta, Canada. He has been illustrating for children for the past fifteen years, including I Don’t Want to Be a Frog, I Don’t Want to Be Big, and There's Nothing to Do! When he’s not drawing, he’s building snow forts and Lego spaceships with his three kids, or sharing laughs and his ice cream with his wife. He is very glad he’s not a frog. Visit Mike online at mikeboldt.ca.

Editorial Reviews

* "First-time author Petty’s dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one’s nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers—or it might just make them giggle."
Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."
Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."
School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."
Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."
Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction—for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."
Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.