Defiant Heart, Westward Hearts Series #1
Buy Item $12.59 Retail: $13.99 Save 10% ($1.40)
In Stock
Stock No: WW46334
Avon Inspire / 2007 / Paperback

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook $9.99 View Details

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now

Defiant Heart, Westward Hearts Series #1

Avon Inspire / 2007 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW46334

Product Close-up
This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
  1. In Stock
    Add To Cart
  2. In Stock
    Retail: $13.99
    Add To Cart

Product Description

Book One of the Westward Heart series describes the perilous journey of Fannie Caldwell and her two young siblings as they journey west. After escaping from a cruel master as indentured servants, Fannie devises a plan to secretly join a wagon train. However, Blake Tenner, handsome and stubborn wagon master, disturbs both Fannie's plans for escape as well as her personal life.

In this captivating frontier novel, the perils for a single frontier woman are brought to both Fannie and Blake's attention. While Fannie's hardships strenghten her, they also allow Blake to recognize his growing feelings for this strong alluring woman. Both Fannie and Blake must come to terms with their pasts in order to find redemption. Will Fannie and Blake be able to find true love? Or will the need for independence and personal dreams come between them? Tracey Bateman, 256 pages, softcover from Avon Inspire.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 256
Vendor: Avon Inspire
Publication Date: 2007
Dimensions: 8.00 X 5.31 (inches)
ISBN: 0061246336
ISBN-13: 9780061246333

Related Products

  1. Father of Dragons, Binding of the Blade Series #4
    Father of Dragons, Binding of the Blade Series #4
    L.B. Graham
    P & R Publishing / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $15.29 Retail: $16.99 Save 10% ($1.70)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 8 Reviews
  2. Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
    Healing Stones, Sullivan Crisp Series #1
    Nancy Rue, Stephen Arterburn
    Thomas Nelson / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 44% ($7.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 28 Reviews
  3. You Had Me at Goodbye, Drama Queen Series #2
    You Had Me at Goodbye, Drama Queen Series #2
    Tracey Bateman
    Hachette Book Group, USA / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $17.99 Retail: $19.99 Save 10% ($2.00)
  4. Thirsty
    Tracey Bateman
    Random House / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 79% ($11.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 32 Reviews

Publisher's Description

Trying to escape a life of indentured servitude, a woman and her two young siblings narrowly slip out of town secretly joining a wagon train heading west. Will Fannie be able to keep her family safe and find a new life on the frontier?

Author Bio

Tracey Bateman is the award-winning author of many books, including Kansas Home.

Editorial Reviews

“A wonderful story of adventure and love on the westward trail....a pleasure to read.”
“Award-winning author Bateman captivates with her latest novel...filled with action, drama and endearing characters....”

Product Reviews

4.5 Stars Out Of 5
4.5 out of 5
out Of 5
( out of 5)
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Displaying items 1-5 of 10
Page 1 of 2 12 Next
  1. Anna Labno
    2 Stars Out Of 5
    June 26, 2009
    Anna Labno
    Great biginning, but I prefer more descriptions of the surroundings.After reding the first of the series, I knew how other series will end.The scenes were changing too fast.
  2. Claudia
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    April 21, 2008
    Defiant Heart is a great romance, full of adventures and surprises. It has an excellent plot and very good characters. I highly recommend you to read it - It is a page-turner !!!
  3. MJ
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    February 25, 2008
    The book ends very abruptly to me it seems, but... I have the sequel on my bookshelf, so I'm OK. Fannie's life has seen rough days, she has lost both of her parents, left to take care of her younger twin siblings and sold by her supposed loving step-father immediately after her mother's death in childbirth to a stillborn. The man the three children were indentured to let the year of the contract end date come and go and the future looked bleak for nothing would change for Fannie and her dear brother and sister. Living in their small sin-filled town Fannie decides to join the next wagon trail headed west out of their Kansas town. It proves to be more difficult than expected. First denied, then accepted, and while taking the journey west is difficult enough Fannie, her new friend and ex-Fancy woman Toni shares the fate of being chased by a man that believes his ownership of her work and body. From a plausible new love when Fannie vows that all men are alike and want one thing, to a near drowning, then a tornado, will they all get through this alive? And when Fannie and her siblings ever be free? What of Toni and her future, will she get a second chance on life or always be ruined? All these questions and more are answered and leaving you thirsting for more from Tracey Bateman's new series. And of course, God works his ways in many ways, but this is not an overbearing preachy book. It's just wonderful. And now, if you'll excuse me, I'm off to finish the second in this series... Tracey Bateman has gotten together a good series that parallels to other great authors such as Tamera Alexander and even touches on the artistic ability of Francine Rivers's book Redeeming Love.These books are fast reads, at least for me, but they are strongly recommended good reads.
  4. nora
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    December 24, 2007
    Orphan Fannie Caldwell and her twin siblings are trapped in an indentured servant relationship with a cruel master. Fannie desperately wants a better life for her siblings and to escape the abuse they have endured. Fannie comes up with a plan to secretly join a wagon train heading west. Her plan runs into a snag called Blake Tanner the wagon master. Seems he has rules about allowing unmarried woman on the train. But Fannie's determined to leave her abusive situation. She has planned and saved for 2 years. Tonight was the night no matter what that wagon master said. She had to be set free. Fannie had not thought long and hard about life on the frontier as a single woman. Life on the trail tests every part of Fannies body and soul. Will the wagon master let her join the wagon train? Will she make the wagons final destination Oregon or have to settle for some other town? Will Blake sacrifice his own dreams and guide Fannie to safety? Or will Fannie's stubborn independent spirit keep her from finding peace and true love in her life? Get reading to find out the answers to these questions. I could see this as a TV movie special. I look forward to reading the rest of them.
  5. Clydene Overbey
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    November 30, 2007
    Clydene Overbey
    I just loved it. I started reading and just couldn't put it down.. I can't wait to get the next one in the series. I had never read Tracey Bateman before. Now I have a new one to add to my favorite authors list!!
Displaying items 1-5 of 10
Page 1 of 2 12 Next

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review


Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.