Could I Have This Dance?, Claire McCall Series #1
Buy Item $8.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 43% ($6.50)
In Stock
Stock No: WW40898
Zondervan / 2002 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook $7.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Could I Have This Dance?, Claire McCall Series #1

Zondervan / 2002 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW40898


  • Other Formats (2)
  • In This Series (3)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $7.99
  2. In Stock
    $8.49
    Retail: $14.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.49
In This Series (3)

Product Description

The pressures of a medical internship. The mystery of a genetic disease. A malpractice suit. A shaky engagement. A threat on her life. Claire McCall has been fighting the odds all her life---but now secrets from the past could destroy her dreams of becoming a surgeon. Will her faith in God survive? Will she? 416 pages, softcover from Zondervan.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Vendor: Zondervan
Publication Date: 2002
ISBN: 0310240891
ISBN-13: 9780310240891
UPC: 025986240899
Series: Claire McCall

Related Products

  1. Claire McCall Series, Vols 1-2
    Claire McCall Series, Vols 1-2
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Zondervan / Trade Paperback
    $17.49 Retail: $25.98 Save 33% ($8.49)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
  2. All I'll Ever Need, Claire McCall Series #3
    All I'll Ever Need, Claire McCall Series #3
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Zondervan / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 27% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 8 Reviews

Publisher's Description

You can’t dance this dance unless it’s in your blood. Claire McCall is praying it’s not in hers. Claire McCall is used to fighting back against the odds. Hard work, aptitude, and sheer determination have helped her rise from adverse circumstances to an internship in one of the nation’s most competitive surgical residencies. But talent and tenacity mean nothing in the face of the discovery that is about to rock her world. It’s called the "Stoney Creek Curse" by folks in the small mountain town where Claire grew up. Behind the superstition lies a reality that could destroy her career. But getting to the truth is far from easy in a community with secrets to hide. As a web of relationships becomes increasingly tangled, two things become apparent. One is that more than one person doesn’t want Claire to probe too deeply into the "Stoney Creek Curse." The other is that someone has reasons other than the curse for wanting Claire out of the picture permanently. Somewhere in the course of pursuing her career as a surgeon, Claire lost touch with the God who called her to it. Now she realizes how desperately she needs him. But can she reclaim a faith strong enough to see her through this deadly dance of circumstances?

Author Bio

Harry Lee Kraus, MD, (www.cuttingedgefiction.com) is the bestselling author of ten books, including Could I Have This Dance? For the Rest of My Life, and All I’ll Ever Need. He draws from his career as a board-certified general surgeon to flavor his writing with exceptional authenticity and technical knowledge. He and his wife, Kris, are missionaries serving in East Africa.

Library Journal

Kraus (Lethal Mercy) draws on his extensive medical knowledge in his sixth novel. As Dr. Claire McCall enters the toughest residency program for surgeons in the country, her world begins to fall apart. Attracted to another resident just as her feelings for her fianc have turned ambivalent because she believes he pressured her into intimacy before marriage, Claire has also lost her closeness with God. To top things off, a patient admitted to the emergency room exhibits the same symptoms that Claire's father has had for years. The people in her hometown of Stoney Creek, VA, called it "The Curse" and attributed it to alcoholism. But this patient is diagnosed with Huntington's disease. As Claire tries to determine whether her father has Huntington's and whether she, in turn, has it, someone else has other reasons to shut Claire up permanently. A solid, intense thriller heavy on medical terminology, this is for fans of William Cutrer and Sandra Glahn's Deadly Cure. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Publisher's Weekly

Dr. Claire McCall is on a mission to discover the truth behind the Stoney Creek curse in Kraus's sixth book, a well-written medical thriller with romantic and inspirational overtones. Claire puts the backwards town of Stoney Creek, Va., and her "cursed" alcoholic father, Wally, behind her as she begins a grueling medical internship at Lafayette University Hospital near Boston. Yet as her father exhibits classic signs of Huntington's disease (or "the dance" in medical slang, from which the title is gleaned), Claire wonders whether the legendary curse might be due to genetics, rather than superstition or alcoholism. Fearing for her future, she turns up information that leads to puzzlement over her and her twin brother Clay's paternity. As her world crashes around her, Claire becomes confused about her faith and ponders how a loving God could orchestrate her disastrous circumstances. Claire is fallible and multidimensional, and the narrative palatably combines suspense, medical instruction, romance, humor and faith. However, like many recent CBA novels, this one is too long, and a little judicious editing might have smoothed the pacing in spots. Reader credibility will also be stretched when Claire shares a great deal of personal information with hunky intern Brett Daniels, or a little too conveniently keeps stumbling over her undergraduate genetics project, which holds clues to her present dilemma. However, Kraus's experience as a general surgeon lends authenticity to his medical descriptions, and the curveball conclusion makes the long read worthwhile. (Mar.) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.