Real Christianity: The Book That Helped End Slavery In England - eBook
Real Christianity: The Book That Helped End Slavery In England - eBook  -     Edited By: Bob Beltz
    By: William Wilberforce
Buy Item $9.89 Retail: $15.00 Save 34% ($5.11)
In Stock
Stock No: WW66956EB
Bethany House / 2006 / ePub
Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Real Christianity: The Book That Helped End Slavery In England - eBook

Edited By: Bob Beltz
Bethany House / 2006 / ePub

In Stock
Stock No: WW66956EB


Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

* This product is available for purchase worldwide.
  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $9.89
    Retail: $15.00
    Add To Cart
    0
    $9.89
  2. In Stock
    $15.00
    Add To Cart
    $15.00

Product Description

He believed that slavery was wrong, and with his classic book Real Christianity, William Wilberforce set out to describe for people an authentic expression of the Christian faith. In doing so, he changed the course of a nation--and the world.

In this modern paraphrase of a contemporary classic, Bob Beltz introduces you to a set of principles critical in living an authentic Christian life. As you read his passionate words, you'll find that Wilberforce's examination of what it means to have authentic faith in a time of cultural Christianity resonates strongly, even today.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Bethany House
Publication Date: 2006
ISBN: 9781441267566
ISBN-13: 9781441267566

Publisher's Description

Just in time for the release of Amazing Grace, the movie about the life of William Wilberforce. This edition of his classic book from 1797, Real Christianity, is paraphrased in modern language and made more accessible to contemporary readers. This is the book that helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom and called Christians to live a more authentic life of faith more than two hundred years ago. The timeless truths it contains will speak to readers in fresh ways today. Christians who eschew cultural Christianity in favor of a real faith in Christ, will find the principles here thought-provoking and applicable. The social justice orientation will appeal to readers of Jim Wallis, Os Guinness, Charles Colson, Shane Claiborne, John Perkins, Bono, and Nancy Pearcey. Readers will also find the book is a good litmus test of the authenticity of their own faith.

Author Bio

Bob Beltz (www.bobbeltz.com) is the senior pastor of Highline Community Church in Centennial, Colorado, and president of The Telos Project, a nonprofit corporation based in Littleton, Colorado, seeking to influence contemporary, postmodern culture with faith and family-friendly projects.

Over the last fifteen years Bob has been a special advisor to the Anschutz Corporation, the parent company of Walden Media. In this role Bob helped in the development, production, and marketing of such films as Joshua, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Amazing Grace: The William Wilberforce Story, Prince Caspian, and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Bob served as a producer on Mark Burnett and Roma Downey's Emmy-nominated The Bible series, the movie Son of God, and the NBC series A.D.: The Bible Continues.

Bob is the author of fifteen books, including the novels Lilith Redeemed, Somewhere Fast, and She Loves You, the bestselling Daily Disciplines for the Christian Man, and an update of William Wilberforce's Real Christianity, published in conjunction with the film Amazing Grace. He blogs at bobbeltz.com on faith and culture, co-hosts the weekly radio program You Get the Blessing, and is a sought-after speaker and teacher.

Bob is a graduate of the University of Missouri and Denver Seminary, where he earned both his Master of Arts and Doctor of Ministry degrees. Bob's wife of forty-plus years, Allison, is a religious liberty and human rights advocate. Bob and Allison have a married daughter, Stephanie, a son, Baker, and three grandchildren, Olivia, Emma, and Jaxon. When not writing, speaking, or making movies, Bob can usually be seen heading into the mountains of Colorado on his Harley-Davidson with a group of cultural infidels.

William Wilberforce (1759-1833) was an English politician and a leader of the movement to abolish the slave trade. At the age of 26 he underwent a conversion experience and became an evangelical Christian, which resulted in a lifelong concern for reform. He headed the parliamentary campaign against the British slave trade for many years until the passage of the Slave Trade Act of 1807, which abolished the slave trade in the British Empire but did not abolish slavery itself. In later years, Wilberforce supported the campaign for the complete abolition of slavery. He died shortly after the Slavery Abolition Act of 1833 passed through the House of Commons, freeing all slaves in the British Empire. He was buried in Westminster Abbey.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×
Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.