Real Christianity: The Book That Helped End Slavery In England  -     By: William Wilberforce, Bob Beltz
Buy Item InStock12.49$12.49 Retail: $15.00 Save 17% ($2.51) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $9.99 eBook Details

Real Christianity: The Book That Helped End Slavery In England

Bethany House / 2006 / Paperback

$12.49 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $15.00
|
Save 17% ($2.51)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW216312

Flash Sale
  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $9.99
    Retail: $15.00
    Add To Cart
    0
    $9.99
  2. In Stock
    $12.49
    Retail: $15.00
    Add To Cart
    $12.49

Product Description

He believed that slavery was wrong, and with his classic book Real Christianity, William Wilberforce set out to describe for people an authentic expression of the Christian faith. In doing so, he changed the course of a nation--and the world.

In this modern paraphrase of a contemporary classic, Bob Beltz introduces you to a set of principles critical in living an authentic Christian life. As you read his passionate words, you'll find that Wilberforce's examination of what it means to have authentic faith in a time of cultural Christianity resonates strongly, even today.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 208
Vendor: Bethany House
Publication Date: 2006
Dimensions: 8.5 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 0764216317
ISBN-13: 9780764216312

Related Products

  1. Amazing Grace: William Wilberforce and the Heroic Campaign to End Slavery
    Amazing Grace: William Wilberforce and the Heroic Campaign to End Slavery
    Eric Metaxas
    HarperOne / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 4 Reviews
  2. William Wilberforce: A Hero for Humanity
    William Wilberforce: A Hero for Humanity
    Kevin Belmonte
    Zondervan / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
  3. Amazing Grace, DVD
    Amazing Grace, DVD
    Fox Faith / 2007 / DVD
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 128 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW444930
  4. Fierce Convictions: The Extraordinary Life of Hannah More--Poet, Reformer, Abolitionist
    Fierce Convictions: The Extraordinary Life of Hannah More--Poet, Reformer, Abolitionist
    Karen Swallow Prior
    Thomas Nelson / 2014 / Hardcover
    $17.99 Retail: $24.99 Save 28% ($7.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 10 Reviews Video

Publisher's Description

Just in time for the release of Amazing Grace, the movie about the life of William Wilberforce. This edition of his classic book from 1797, Real Christianity, is paraphrased in modern language and made more accessible to contemporary readers. This is the book that helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom and called Christians to live a more authentic life of faith more than two hundred years ago. The timeless truths it contains will speak to readers in fresh ways today. Christians who eschew cultural Christianity in favor of a real faith in Christ, will find the principles here thought-provoking and applicable. The social justice orientation will appeal to readers of Jim Wallis, Os Guinness, Charles Colson, Shane Claiborne, John Perkins, Bono, and Nancy Pearcey. Readers will also find the book is a good litmus test of the authenticity of their own faith.

Author Bio

BOB BELTZ is a popular writer, speaker, and film producer. Currently he oversees film development for the Anschutz Film Group, parent company of Walden Media (Holes, Because of Winn-Dixie, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and Amazing Grace). He is a graduate of Denver Seminary where he earned both his master of arts and doctor of ministry degrees. He is the author of several books, including Somewhere Fast and Becoming a Man of Prayer.

William Wilberforce (1759-1833) was an English politician and a leader of the movement to abolish the slave trade. At the age of 26 he underwent a conversion experience and became an evangelical Christian, which resulted in a lifelong concern for reform. He headed the parliamentary campaign against the British slave trade for many years until the passage of the Slave Trade Act of 1807, which abolished the slave trade in the British Empire but did not abolish slavery itself. In later years, Wilberforce supported the campaign for the complete abolition of slavery. He died shortly after the Slavery Abolition Act of 1833 passed through the House of Commons, freeing all slaves in the British Empire. He was buried in Westminster Abbey.

Product Reviews

5 Stars Out Of 5
5 out of 5
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Value:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1
  1. Wisconsin
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A revolutionary book.
    August 10, 2016
    Ben Umnus
    Wisconsin
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    February 27th 2016, I attended the Wisconsin State Youth Conference with my church's youth group. When I went into their bookshop, I saw multiple books that practically wanted to leap into my arms; one of those books was William Wilberforce's Real Christianity. Months later, when my radio show first debuted on Blog Talk Radio, I had six different books up for nomination for my Thursday book segment, and by the roll of the dice, this book was selected as though it was meant to be. I had heard great things about Mr. Wilberforce, in particular the idea that he was crucial to the abolition of slavery in Great Britain, but admittedly I didn't know anything else about him or anything about his book. I've grown to love studying up on the Christian greats of history in recent years, so I knew this book was going to be interesting.

    Real Christianity is a book out to challenge the reader with a series of thought convicting, spiritual kidney punches to the gut of our ego. Mr. Wilberforce very passionately wants the reader to understand that there is a very fine difference between a Christian who is of an authentic faith versus a person of cultural Christianity. What he defines as cultural Christianity ought to serve as a stern warning as he exposes the weakness, laziness, and ignorance such a person has. What he defines as a Christian of authentic faith should serve an even greater sense of urgency, not just because of it is in comparison to cultural Christianity but what such a faith requires for us... In my opinion, this is a book every Christian ought to have on their bookshelf.

    William Wilberforce's Real Christianity is one of the best books I've ever read. This is the type of book where you are challenged spiritually, literally, in almost every page! Although this was written more than 200 years ago, it's easy to read and the vocabulary isn't too advanced, partially thanks to Bob Beltz' adaptation of the original work. This is also a book that you'd swear Mr.Wilberforce rose from the grave, and wrote about the year 2016. What he warns in his book is a message all churches need to hear, not only to expose the fakes that may be within her, but this book also will strengthen those who truly want to live for Jesus Christ. I was humbled, convicted, shocked by things that haven't changed 200 years later, and encouraged all at the same time throughout the reading of Mr. Wilberforce's book. Again this is a book I feel ought to be on every Christian's bookshelf; I highly recommend it!
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search