Building a Dream: How the Boys of Koh Panyee Became Champions
Stock No: WW855473
Building a Dream: How the Boys of Koh Panyee Became Champions  -     By: Darshana Khaini & Dow Phumiruk (Illustrator)

Building a Dream: How the Boys of Koh Panyee Became Champions

Eerdmans Books for Young Readers / 2023 / Hardcover

Buy 24 or more for $13.29 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW855473

Buy 24 or more for $13.29 each.

Buy Item Our Price$13.99 Retail: $18.99 Save 26% ($5.00)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW855473
Eerdmans Books for Young Readers / 2023 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Product Description

Your youngsters will enthusiastically cheer as they read this unforgettable tale of persistence and problem-solving. Based on the amazing true story of a Thai soccer team, this full-color picture book follows a group of boys who became a team long before they had jerseys or even a field. In Thailand’s Phang Nga Bay, atop a network of stilts, floats the village of Koh Panyee, where a group of boys loved soccer but had nowhere to practice and no space to dribble, juggle, shoot, and score.  When they looked out at the water, they got an idea and started gathering tools, even while their neighbors laughed.  They sawed wood, hammered nails, and tied barrels together and worked for weeks to build Koh Panyee’s first floating field, a place to practice, and a place to transform their community. 40 pages, hardcover. Ages 5 and up.

Product Information

Title: Building a Dream: How the Boys of Koh Panyee Became Champions
By: Darshana Khaini & Dow Phumiruk (Illustrator)
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 40
Vendor: Eerdmans Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 2023
Dimensions: 11 X 9 (inches)
Weight: 1 pound 1 ounce
ISBN: 0802855474
ISBN-13: 9780802855473
Ages: 5-9
Stock No: WW855473

Author Bio


Darshana Khiani is a computer engineer, children's book author, and South Asian kidlit advocate based in the San Francisco Bay Area of California. Her books include How to Wear a Sari (Versify) and I'm an American (Viking). Visit Darshana's website at darshanakhiani.com and follow her on Twitter @darshanakhiani.

Dow Phumiruk is the award-winning illustrator of over a dozen books for young readers, including One Girl (Abrams), Titan and the Wild Boars: The True Cave Rescue of the Thai Soccer Team (HarperCollins), and Counting on Katherine: How Katherine Johnson Saved Apollo 13 (Henry Holt). She lives in Colorado, where she also works as a general pediatrician. Follow Dow on Instagram @dowphumiruk.

Editorial Reviews

The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"This nonfiction pick reads like a sports underdog story and will empower young readers to overcome challenges and take a leap of faith in their dreams with teamwork and perseverance."

Kirkus Reviews
"A stirring story of perseverance."

Booklist
"A great read-alike for Julie Abery and Chris Sasaki's Sakamoto's Swim Club (2021)."

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review