Betting on Hope - eBook  -     By: Debra Clopton
Back
×
Buy Item InStock7.99$7.99 Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

Betting on Hope - eBook

Thomas Nelson / 2015 / ePub

$7.99 (CBD Price)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW66067EB

Cyber Week Sale
* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries.

Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

  • Other Formats (3)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $7.99
  2. In Stock
    $9.99
    Retail: $12.99
    Add To Cart
    $9.99
  3. In Stock
    $6.49
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.49

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: 2015
ISBN: 9781401690502
ISBN-13: 9781401690502
Series: Four of Hearts Ranch

Publisher's Description

One clutzy advice columnist.

One champion cowboy.

And an entire small town rooting for love.

Advice columnist Maggie Hope never dreamed she’d be shaking hands with champion horse trainer Tru Monahan over a high-stakes bet, especially one that involves horses. And saddles. And everything else a city girl like Maggie feels uncomfortable around. But after filling in for a coworker and interviewing the handsome cowboy, she finds herself doing just that. Anything to save her advice column.

Despite Maggie’s two left feet, Tru is bound and determined to bring out her inner cowgirl by teaching her to ride a cutting horse, trained to separate cattle from the rest of the herd. While her riding improves, their attraction intensifi es, but Tru knows he can never let her into his heart—for her own good.

In Wishing Springs, a community full of meddling but well-meaning townsfolk, Maggie discovers the home she’s always longed for. But she’s holding something back—a secret that could destroy her reputation and any future she’s ever hoped for with the cowboy she might just love.

Author Bio

Debra Clopton is a multi-award winning novelist who was first published in 2005 and has more than 22 novels to her credit. Along with her writing, Debra helps her husband teach the youth at their local Cowboy Church. Debra is the author of the acclaimed Mule Hollow Matchmaker Series, the place readers tell her they wish was real. Her goal is to shine a light toward God while she entertains readers with her words. Visit her online at www.debraclopton.com, Facebook: debra.clopton, Twitter: @debraclopton.

 

Editorial Reviews

“Clopton introduces an engaging cast of characters who are warm, welcoming, and feel like family in this new romantic series launch. Although the plot is a bit formulaic, the finely drawn and sympathetic protagonists drive the story forward to its ultimately hopeful and rewarding conclusion. An appealing choice for readers of Janette Oke and Robin Lee Hatcher.” – Library Journal
“Clopton’s novel is filled with humor, romance and a great sense of reality. The writing is moving and masterful. Each character comes alive through her words. They are diverse but fun characters who depict real life.” – Romantic Times

Product Reviews

4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
(21)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(0)
Quality:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
96%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 28
Page 1 of 6 12345 Next |Last
  1. Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A definite re-read
    November 25, 2015
    J Kay
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Really enjoyed this book. I will read it again.
  2. Montana
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    A delightful cowboy romance!
    July 15, 2015
    TellNJasmine
    Montana
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Until Betting On Hope, I had only read a couple of Debra Clopton's short stories and I must say that her full-length novels are just as good.

    Both the heroine and hero have emotional baggage including big trust issues that they have to wade through. I liked them both, but especially Maggie Hope. She's a bit clumsy and is afraid of horses, but she also has the kindest heart and wants to help people. And you never know, this cowboy just might make a country girl out of her yet....if she survives her spike heels the first day....

    Debra Clopton weaves a tale of love and of letting go of one's fears. Romance, comedy, and even a dash of mystery set in the great state of Texas made Betting On Hope a light and enjoyable read.

    If you love cowboy romances you will definitely want to read Debra Clopton's book Betting On Hope!

    (I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my review. All opinions are my own.)
  3. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Betting on Hope
    June 13, 2015
    Courtney
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This is not normally the type of book that I would pick up in a bookstore. Yes, I do enjoy a cheesy romance novel or film from time to time, but there's usually a line that I don't like to cross. That line includes things like Western themes and cowboys on the book cover. However, a limited number of options were available for review on BookLook, so I decided to give it a shot. (I can't believe I'm saying this, but...) It wasn't that bad.

    This novel follows Maggie Hope - an urban city girl and advice columnist - on her journey to a small town while filling in for a coworker. The cowboy that Maggie meets, Tru, is determined to show this city girl what the country is made of. It was fascinating to watch Maggie go through a transformation of sorts as she slowly lets go of the idea that she isn't interested in what Tru has to show her. She slowly starts seeing and feeling how things work outside of the city and the attraction between Tru and Maggie intensifies. All the while, the residents of Wishing Springs (which are stereotypical small town gossips) are rooting for Tru and Maggie to figure out how to love each other.

    The book was a very easy read and I found myself liking the characters from the start. Of course there are twists and turns along the way (to keep it interesting) and I think these serve the plot justice. The addition of a reader's guide adds to the book and encourages me to share this with others in order to have some in-depth conversations about the themes throughout.
  4. Kansas City
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Well, Howdy Ma'am!
    June 9, 2015
    tickmenot
    Kansas City
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Maggie Hope is doing a television interview--her first, and she is scared spitless. The subject matter is Tru Monahan, a famous rodeo winner who hates reporters. So begins the story of a handsome cowboy who meets a beautiful, but klutzy, writer. And all of this takes place in the charming, small town of Wishing Springs, Texas.

    I betcha you can't...I betcha I can!

    Tru and Maggie are thrown together for two months because of a silly bet made during their on air interview. Because of that bet, Tru has to teach Maggie to ride a horse like a pro--and Maggie is petrified of horses. If they don't try to do this, Tru will lose a lucrative sponsorship, and Maggie is told she would no longer have her advice column that is her real, much loved, job.

    Not your ordinary romance.

    So far, this might sound like just another romance story. But that would be a wrong assumption. There is romance in this book, but there is also a whole lot more. The characters have real depth, and serious issues in the storyline include child neglect, teenage runaways, unwed mothers, male sterility, and Alzheimer's disease--along with its affect on families.

    How about a good laugh?

    The author does a great job of breaking up the serious subjects with fun, humor and zany characters and circumstances that pepper the pages of this delightful tale. This is book one in A Four of Hearts Ranch Romance Series, and I look forward to the rest of them.

    Will Tru and Maggie decide it is too hard to work with each other, and give up, despite what they will each lose? Can Maggie find out who the blackmailer is? And will the wacky townspeople be able to help kindle a romance between Tru and Maggie, or drive them further apart? What will become of the runaway, and the baby she is soon to give birth to? Find out all this and more in the pages of Betting on Hope.

    This five-star book will leave a smile on your face, and a warm spot in your heart. It will do all that without offensive language or adult situations, and is written from a Christian point of view. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story.

    The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of Betting on Hope through The Thomas Nelson Publishing BookLook Bloggers Program for the purpose of review. I have not been compensated in any other manner. All opinions expressed are my own, and I was not required, or influenced, to give anything but an honest appraisal. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
  5. Cleveland, Texas
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Amazing Read!
    May 14, 2015
    Its About Time Mamaw
    Cleveland, Texas
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    After watching the news last night I decided to start reading BETTING ON HOPE intending to read just a little while. I was still reading when the sun came up. The words were blurry and I couldn't keep my eyes open which really upset me because I had gotten 91% of the book read. Hate it when that happens!Finished reading it this morning.Tru Monahan is not only a true cowboy he is truly a gentleman. He had so much patience with Maggie and her insecurities. She had every right to not trust men. But Tru Monohan was a different breed than the men she had known in her past.She made a bet with Tru and he was determined to win that bet.Tru has a loving close knit family, where as Maggie's family is sadly the opposite.Ifyou are wondering, yes, it is an amazing read! I highly recommend this book And I am ready for book two in this series.I rated this book a 5 out of 5.Disclosure:I received a free copy of this book fromNetgalley/Thomas Nelsonfor an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
Displaying items 1-5 of 28
Page 1 of 6 12345 Next |Last

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search