Ashes: A heart-wrenching tale of friendship, war and courage.
Ashes: A heart-wrenching tale of friendship, war and courage.  -     By: Chris de Vinck
Buy Item $12.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 24% ($4.00)
This product will be released on 05/26/20
Email me when this product is available.
Quantity:
Stock No: WW0111986
Harper Inspire / 2020 / Paperback
Quantity:

Preorder

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Preorder

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Ashes: A heart-wrenching tale of friendship, war and courage.

Harper Inspire / 2020 / Paperback

Buy 36 or more for $12.34 each.
This product will be released on 05/26/20
Email me when this product is available.
Stock No: WW0111986


Product Information

Title: Ashes: A heart-wrenching tale of friendship, war and courage.
By: Chris de Vinck
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 352
Vendor: Harper Inspire
Publication Date: 2020
Weight: 2 pounds
ISBN: 0310111986
ISBN-13: 9780310111986
Stock No: WW0111986

Publisher's Description

A deeply touching novel about two young women whose differences, which once united them, will tear them apart forever, during Hitler’s Nazi occupation of Belgium and France. Based on true events.

For fans of All The Light We Cannot See and Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Belgium, July 1939: Simone Lyon is the daughter of a Belgium national hero, the famous General Joseph Lyon. Her best friend Hava Daniels, is the eldest daughter of a devout Jewish family. Despite growing up in different worlds, they are inseparable.

But when, in the spring of 1940, Nazi planes and tanks begin bombing Brussels, their resilience and strength are tested. Hava and Simone find themselves caught in the advancing onslaught and are forced to flee.

In an emotionally-charged race for survival, even the most harrowing horrors cannot break their bonds of love and friendship. The two teenage girls, will see their innocence fall, against the ugly backdrop of a war dictating that theirs was a friendship that should never have been.

Author Bio

Christopher de Vinck is a teacher and the author of eleven books and numerous articles and essays for publications such as the Wall Street Journal and Reader’s Digest. He delivers speeches on faith, disabilities, fatherhood, and writing, and has been invited to speak at the Vatican. He is the father of three and lives in New Jersey with his wife.

His essays on everyday life have been published in the Wall Street JournalThe New York Times, USA Today, Reader’s DigestGood Housekeeping, The Chicago Tribune, The Dallas Morning News, The National Catholic Reporter, and used in high school and college textbooks as samples of good writing.

He has won two Christopher Awards, which celebrates authors whose work looks at the ’highest values of the human spirit’. His essays have been selected three times for ’Best Column’ by the National Catholic Press Association. His essay The Power of the Powerless praised by, among many others President Ronald Reagan, was selected by Christianity Today as one of the ten ’Best Biographies and/or Autobiographies’ of this past century, which also included the works of C.S. Lewis, Thomas Merton, and Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.