Arabian Sands  -     By: Wilfred Thesiger, John Siciliano
Buy Item InStock9.99$9.99 Retail: $17.00 Save 41% ($7.01) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

Arabian Sands

Penguin Classics / 2007 / Paperback

$9.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $17.00
|
Save 41% ($7.01)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW442075

Black Friday Again

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 400
Vendor: Penguin Classics
Publication Date: 2007
Dimensions: 7.75 X 5.06 X 0.80 (inches)
ISBN: 0141442077
ISBN-13: 9780141442075

Publisher's Description

Arabian Sands is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life-"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.

Author Bio

Jon Lee Anderson is a staff writer for The New Yorker and the author of the national bestseller The Fall of Baghdad. He lives in Dorset, England.
Rory Stewart is the bestselling author of The Prince of the Marshes and The Places in Between. He was awarded the Order of the British Empire for services in Iraq.

Editorial Reviews

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, [Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia."
-The Daily Telegraph, London

"The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life."
-The Sunday Times, London

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search