So Close to Amazing: Stories of a DIY Life Gone Wrong . . . and Learning to Find the Beauty in Every Imperfection
Buy Item $11.99 Retail: $17.99 Save 33% ($6.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW422010
Tyndale Momentum / 2017 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
eBook $9.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

So Close to Amazing: Stories of a DIY Life Gone Wrong . . . and Learning to Find the Beauty in Every Imperfection

Tyndale Momentum / 2017 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW422010


Product Description

So Close to Amazing is a collection of hilarious and heartfelt reflections on getting it almost right – and how, instead of giving up, we can choose to simply embrace our real selves right where we are. It’s a story of transparency and honesty and recognizing that perfection is completely overemphasized and overrated. It’s about grace and learning from mistakes and rejoicing in every victory, no matter how small. Because when you find joy in the “you” God created you to be, you’ll discover the amazing that was there all along.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 256
Vendor: Tyndale Momentum
Publication Date: 2017
ISBN: 1496422015
ISBN-13: 9781496422019

Related Products

  1. Balancing It All: My Story of Juggling Priorities and Purpose (slightly imperfect)
    Balancing It All: My Story of Juggling Priorities and Purpose (slightly imperfect)
    Candace Cameron Bure, Dana Wilkerson
    B&H Books / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 82% ($14.00)
  2. Life Management for Busy Women: Living Out God's Plan with Passion and Purpose - Slightly Imperfect
    Life Management for Busy Women: Living Out God's Plan with Passion and Purpose - Slightly Imperfect
    Elizabeth George
    Harvest House Publishers / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $4.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 64% ($9.00)
  3. Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
    Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
    Patsy Clairmont
    Thomas Nelson / 2011 / Hardcover
    $2.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 82% ($14.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 34 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW948268
  4. The Fringe Hours: Making Time for You
    The Fringe Hours: Making Time for You
    Jessica N. Turner
    Revell / 2015 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 80% ($12.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 2 Reviews Video

Publisher's Description

This is a book celebrating the incredible, awesome, special individual within each of us. It’s also a book for anyone who has ever mismatched her shoes or trimmed her own bangs when a professional might have been a better choice or added too much soap to the washer and watched it overflow.

(Not that KariAnne Wood has ever done any of these things.)

Fans of The Magnolia Story and The Pioneer Woman will love this debut memoir from the beloved Thistlewood Farms blogger. So Close to Amazing is a collection of hilarious and heartfelt reflections on getting it almost rightⷕand how, instead of giving up, we can choose to simply embrace our real selves right where we are. It’s a story of transparency and honesty and recognizing that perfection is completely overemphasized and overrated. It’s about grace and learning from mistakes and rejoicing in every victory, no matter how small. Because when you find joy in the “you” God created you to be, you’ll discover the amazing that was there all along.

Contains beautiful DIY project ideas anyone can do, whether you’re Pinterest perfect or craft challenged—homemade signs, centerpieces, recipe walls, and more!

Product Reviews

4.9 Stars Out Of 5
4.9 out of 5
(13)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.1 out Of 5
(4.1 out of 5)
Value:
4.1 out Of 5
(4.1 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.2 out Of 5
(4.2 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 14
Page 1 of 3 123 Next
  1. The Modest Maiden
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Breath of Fresh Air
    October 4, 2017
    The Modest Maiden
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    So Close to Amazing was a fun book to read.....a really fun book to read. I loved the style it was written in, and was easily drawn into the pages. I enjoyed the glimpse into the life of a less-than-perfect person (aren't we all?) and the honesty and rawness of some of the incidents. There were times I was laughing, times I was blinking back tears, times I was sighing in satisfaction.

    "The rest of the journey is as yet unwritten.

    See, that's the thing about God. He is mighty. He is sovereign. His ways are not our own. The plans He makes for us and the paths He directs us down are often closer to amazing than we can ever think or imagine. And I know that I know that I know that God isn't finished with our family yet."

    So many times, I picture an idyllic life on a farm, where you have a white picket fence, a made-from-scratch meal just waiting to be consumed, a perfectly clean house, and you are ale to sit out on the big, wrap around front porch watching the children play with a glass of lemonade. Or sweet tea. Or coffee.....just whatever you please. I have heard and read blogs about such homes -- but this book shows you an old farmhouse. A green pasture, flowers galore, sweet tea and lemonade, a porch.....but it also shows you a realistic view of life, in general. A life where you can be content, no matter the circumstances, where the messes and mistakes are embraced and learned from, where you can mess up and ask forgiveness, while creating a beautiful atmosphere to live in. To breathe in.

    Seriously, y'all -- this book was a breath of fresh air =)

    I would absolutely recommend this book to others, wholeheartedly and without reservation =)

    *I recieved a copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for a review on my blog. I was not required to enjoy this book, only to be honest.*
  2. Leslie Watkins
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    So Much More Than Amazing!
    September 9, 2017
    Leslie Watkins
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    KariAnne does a beautiful job of sharing reality in a joyful, fun way that takes you along for the ride. You experience laughter, tears, and deep wisdom when you least expect it! A book that you will read and reread again and again! A truly treasured gift that gives you an amazing perspective on life and who God truly designed you to be.
  3. Pegster
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Amazing Indeed
    September 7, 2017
    Pegster
    Quality: 0
    Value: 0
    Meets Expectations: 0
    I have been following KariAnne Wood's blog, Thistlewood Farms, for years and have always appreciated her positive outlook and sense of humor. Needless to say, I was thrilled when she announced that she had written a book. This book made me smile as I recognized my own mishaps with DIY projects, tear up as I read some of KariAnne's poignant stories, and come away with a sense that we are all amazing in one way or another. This is truly an uplifting book. I loved it so much that I have ordered the audio book, which KariAnne reads herself, to accompany me on my next long road trip.
  4. Living Boldly
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A Joy to Read
    September 5, 2017
    Living Boldly
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5


    Reading So Close To Amazing has been a joy and delight! KariAnne Wood candidly shares her personal stories and adventures of good days, great days, and just really hard days. The days that she was so close, so close to perfection, so close to amazing. But, somehow, something went wrong. It was way off. Not even close. So far from amazing.

    But it's in days and moments like these that God's love for us shines even brighter. KariAnne helps us to see that God is not looking for our moments of perfection, but He is looking at the desire of our hearts. Our loving and serving out of sincere hearts, even if the results aren't perfect. Because God is the God of grace, He embraces us in all of our imperfect moments. He gives us grace to do that for others and for ourselves.

    So Close To Amazing includes delightful stories; side notes and take- away truths, plus several original Do-it-yourself projects to make. These are the very ones that KariAnne talks about in So Close To Amazing!

    I very highly recommend So Close To Amazing. The stories were a delight to read and warmed my heart. KariAnne's heartfelt memoir helped me to joyfully reflect on my own "so close to amazing" moments. I learned to embrace the times I'm "so close to amazing" because I'm held so close by the One Who is Amazing!

    *Disclaimer: I have been blessed to have been able to read and review So Close To Amazing. I received an Advanced Reader's Copy from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. The opinion stated is my own. I have not been compensated in any way.*
  5. Kristie
    upstate NY
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    inspiring and relatable read!
    September 3, 2017
    Kristie
    upstate NY
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    "So Close to Amazing" is an excellent read for women! KariAnne Wood is honest, funny and just so real! This name may sound familiar as KariAnne writes the award-winning lifestyle blog Thistlewood Farms. I have to be honest she nor the blog were familiar to me, but I have checked it out and it is one I am going to faithfully follow!

    Anyways, back to this book...first of all, look at it, I love it! It has such a unique cover and it is a great hardcover edition that is just so pretty and so different. Inside, the pages follow the same color scheme (love it!). This book is divided into chapters, each chapter focusing on a different life lesson. Each chapter KariAnne shares a personal story, many of which you will be able to relate to in some capacity I'm sure, as I was able to, a quote is highlighted and shared all nice and pretty on it's own page and there are DIY projects shared throughout as well. Overall, this is a great collection of stories, inspiration and encouragement from KariAnne and some cute ideas of projects I now want to try!

    For more information about this book, go here! And be sure to check out KariAnne's blog as well: here!

    *Thanks to the Tyndale House Blogger Program for the complimentary copy of this book.*
Displaying items 1-5 of 14
Page 1 of 3 123 Next

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.