The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel - eBook  -     By: Rob Stennett
Back
×
Buy Item InStock6.99$6.99 Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan / 2009 / ePub

$6.99 (CBD Price)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW2961EB

Cyber Week Sale
* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries.

Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $6.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.99
  2. In Stock
    $24.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $24.99

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Zondervan
Publication Date: 2009
ISBN: 9780310316251
ISBN-13: 9780310316251
UPC: 025986316259

Publisher's Description

Meet Ryan Fisher—a self-assured real estate agent who’s looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It’s like they’re begging for affordable but classy starter homes. Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week. But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church—he could create an empire. The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.

Author Bio

Rob Stennett is the author of two novels: The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher and The End Is Now. He’s the creative director at New Life Church and an accomplished film and theater director. He lives in Colorado.

Publisher's Weekly

Screenwriter Stennett offers a satirical look at a non-Christian's ascent to pastor of a megachurch in this engaging, highly readable novel. Ryan Fisher is a 28-year-old real estate agent who doesn't believe in God, but lists himself in the Christian Business Directory (along with a Jesus fish symbol) to beef up sales. He and his wife, Katherine, attend church to validate his new religious image, where he sees the possibilities of utilizing business principles to create his own megachurch. They move to Bartlesville, Okla., and create “The People's Church” where Ryan preaches a feel-good, do-good gospel (“I'm not encumbered by things like the Bible and Jesus”). As church numbers swell, Oprah calls, local pastors are on the warpath, a religious fanatic plots Ryan's assassination, and Katherine is smitten with Cowboy Jack, a karaoke singer-turned-worship leader who pens Christian lyrics to popular radio tunes. Is Ryan in over his head? Interesting narration and Dave Barryesque footnotes make this humorous entertainment with a faith-based message. (June)Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search