1. A Pursuit of Home #3
    Add To Wishlist
    A Pursuit of Home #3
    Kristi Ann Hunter
    Bethany House / 2019 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 20 Reviews
4.8 Stars Out Of 5
4.8 out of 5
(19)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Value:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 23
Page 1 of 5 12345 Next
  1. Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Hunter's Best Book Yet!
    November 14, 2019
    Suzie
    Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I was already a superfan of Kristi Ann Hunter's Regency books but wow, did A Pursuit of Home blow all of my (rather high) expectations out of the water.

    First, there's Jess! Finally, finally, Jess's backstory is revealed and it's beyond anything I could have dreamed up. Then Hunter pairs the lady who gets things done whatever it takes with a somewhat stodgy and cerebral art appraiser. From there, sparks fly. Sometimes they're flying as Jess and Derek butt heads over opposing opinions and others, well, let's just say there's a shift in their attitudes towards each other at some point.

    As if that wasn't enough to capture readers, Hunter also brings Kit, Daphne, and some familiar faces from the Hawthorne House series make their way into the fold and make for the perfect recipe (especially since the Hawthorne's matchmaking machinations have not abated with time).

    Wrongs are righted, questions are answered, and with Derek's help, Jess figures out the person she's meant to become. You most definitely do not want to miss the Haven Manor series finale.

    Disclosure statement:

    I receive complimentary books from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
  2. missouri
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Jess is in trouble!
    November 14, 2019
    Polly
    missouri
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    From the fertile mind of Kristi Ann Hunter comes a tale of intrigue. A spiritual journey is in store for Jess Beauchene and a trip to a place she has left behind. While in hiding, word comes that one she thought dead needs her help to solve a mystery. Jess has been holding her own for ten years. She is capable and equipped to defend herself. So she is confounded to realize that she in turn needs help from a man who irritates her no end. He comes in the person of art and antiquities curator, Derek Thornbury. Jess also gains help from friends she left without saying goodbye to because she intended to protect them. Can she realize with Derek's help that she is worth something to God?

    "Love is a sacrifice, but it's also selfish, because when you are able to give the other person what they need, it comes back on to you, too. Which means you don't get to decide if you're worth it or not."

    Jess has come a long way since we first met her in A Noble Masquerade where she was a parlor maid and a spy. But her past has caught up with her and she MUST do something about it.

    How Ms. Hunter comes up with these intricate plots is mystifying. But she executes the story flawlessly. The characters come alive through their enjoyable banter and the spiritual message shines through.

    I suggest that you read the whole Haven Manor series starting with A Defense of Honor. But why stop there! Add the two novellas as well. And don't forget the Hawthorne House series which introduces us to Jess. That is an exceptional series as well.

    *I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House on behalf of the author. I was not required to give a favorable review. All opinions are my own.*
  3. California
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    ***Fantastic Characters***
    November 14, 2019
    Blue Jeans & Teacups
    California
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    A Pursuit of Home - Haven Manor Book 3 - by Kristi Ann Hunter (one should read the previous Regency Era books in order)

    French Countryside, 1806 Jessamine Beauchene - wealthy, royal niece to the King of Verbonne, petite at age 15. Her family attacked in the middle of the night. Shoved into a hole in the floorboards with their family's secrets.

    [Absolutely one of my favorite scenes is when a beloved character from Kristi's very first novel appears.]

    The board lifted and the light from a single lantern revealed a pair of grey eyes... "What's your name?" he asked. "Jess-" hiccup - "Jess-" sniffle... "Well, Jess," the man said, "I'm here to rescue you. How do you feel about going to England?"

    [He is somewhat of a hero and definitely has amazing wit. Without revealing too much I was thrilled to have him back!]

    Marlborough, England, 1816

    Ch. 1 Sometimes despite time, distance, and a significant amount of ignoring it, the past never quite went away. Over the past two days, everything Jess had run from had spilled over the wall of the past and covered her present like gravy. Lumpy, bitter, burnt gravy. Every emotion she'd worked hard to bury had risen to the surface, making her mind a muddled swarm of incomplete thoughts and sharp colors.

    ...her current situation irritated her... she was going to have to ask a very bothersome man for his assistance. She needed Derek Thornbury's help. To get, she was going to have to ask him, which required talking to him, which required, which required being in the same room with him without taking her knife from its hidden sheath and stabbing him in the leg. A tall order, as the man was simply too vexing for words.

    "I brought you tea."

    "I see that." He crossed the room and lifted the top of the pot to gaze into the depths of the brown liquid. "Is it poisoned?"

    ...Derek was a scholar of antiquities. He worked with things created by dead people. When he was working he might go days without a significant interaction with anyone who drew breath. Living people, quite inconveniently, required him to recall his manners and finish his sentences. Jess wasn't merely an inconvenience, though. She was a massive complication, a mystery that was constantly changing, frustrating him to no end even as it kept enticing him closer.

    Tea Quote: Anyone who insisted on foisting their romantic notions on her could find themselves with ipecac in their tea.

    Faith Quote: ...how important it was to seek God in the quiet times in order to know what to cling to in the chaos.

    Enjoyable story as always!

    Thank you to Bethany House and the author for a copy. My opinion is my own and given freely. Keep updated on the author's website, Kristi Ann Hunter dot com

    Haven Manor Series:

    "The Haven Manor series follows a group of women who take what could have been a life-crushing circumstance and turned it into an opportunity to help desperate women and their children from the same fate. Their pasts may have brought these women here, but God has an amazing future in store for them." -Author's Website

    Book 0.5 A Search for Refuge (Margaretta's Story) 03/2018 FREE eNovella (available in print 2019 in the 3 author collection Love At Last)

    Book 1 A Defense of Honor (Kit's Story) 06/05/2018

    Book 1.5 Legacy of Love (Sarah's Story) 10/2018 Novella in The Christmas Heirloom Collection featuring 4 different authors

    Book 2 A Return of Devotion (Daphne's Story) 2/5/2019

    Book 3 A Pursuit of Home (Jess's Story) 11/5/2019
  4. Minnesota
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Delightful
    November 13, 2019
    An Old Fashioned Girl
    Minnesota
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Finally we find out the backstory of the mysterious Jess! My guesses regarding her history were woefully shy of the reality. With Jess's ties to the Duke of Marshington, I was not surprised when he and other characters from A Noble Masquerade made appearances. I will admit, Ryland, when not the hero of the story, can be exasperating. But it was fun to finally tie the Hawthorne House and Haven Manor series together, and to find out how Jess moved from one to the other.

    It amused me highly that Jess, the highly efficient master of disguise and rather blood-thirsty former spy, is forced to work with the one person in this world who annoys her more than any other. And that Derek, so oblivious to the world and so obsessed with art, is able to catch her out when she's up to her tricks. It's pretty sweet justice. Of course, once they quit fighting so much, they balance each other beautifully and form a great partnership.

    I really like how the romance played out. Enemies to lovers is a pretty popular trope, but the author keeps it believable with a slow change of opinions, a gradual softening toward one another, working toward friendship and then attraction (none of that getting-into-a-fight-that-ends-in-passionate-kissing nonsense). Come to think of it, I'm not sure they ever did kiss on page. But it was a delightfully satisfying conclusion regardless.
  5. NJ
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    fantastic conclusion to Haven Manor series
    November 13, 2019
    MJSH
    NJ
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    "The truth was that while the past colored the future, the people living in the present still wielded the paintbrush."

    What a surprising and completely satisfying conclusion to the Haven Manor series! This third book in the series ties in all the characters from previous books, as well as some endearing characters from A Noble Masquerade (first book in Hawthorne House series). With her trademark writing style that is fluid, easy to read, and often humorous, Kristi Ann Hunter draws us quickly into the world of intrigue and mystery in 1816 England as we finally....finally.... learn about Jess' past. The setting and the world that the author weaves during this time period are so realistic and believable that you won't know what's fictional and what's history until the author's note at the end of the book unless you're a European history expert (and I'm far from that). The plot is incredible with unexpected twists and turns and the maturation of faith we see in Jess is inspirational and encouraging. Derek is an unconventional hero, but a hero in his own right and you can't help but fall in love with his geeky, awkward, but sweet, honest, loyal, and selfless ways. And their romance! So delightful, funny, filled with mishaps and tenderness! This book can definitely be read as a stand-alone but reading A Noble Masquerade and then the two previous books in the Haven Manor series prior to this book will give you a wonderful insight and affinity for Jess.

    If you enjoy historical fiction with a good dose of mystery and intrigue, you will absolutely love this book. It will captivate you from the prologue and have you turning the pages for just one more chapter to try to piece together what's happening. I received a copy of the book from Bethany House Publishers and was under no obligation to post a positive review. All comments and opinions are solely my own.
Displaying items 1-5 of 23
Page 1 of 5 12345 Next