Within These Lines
Within These Lines  -     By: Stephanie Morrill
Buy Item $11.99 Retail: $17.99 Save 33% ($6.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW765235
Zonderkidz / 2019 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook $7.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Within These Lines

Zonderkidz / 2019 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW765235


  • Other Formats (3)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $11.99
    Retail: $17.99
    Add To Cart
    $11.99
  2. In Stock
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $7.99
  3. This product will be released on 12/03/19.
    $8.49
    Retail: $10.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.49
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

Evalina Cassano and Taichi Hamasaki are determined to be together. But after the attack on Pearl Harbor, the Hamasakis are sent to an internment camp, and treasured letters become their only communication. With tensions running high, can Evalina and Taichi believe in their love enough to find a way to be together despite unimaginable odds? 350 pages, hardcover from Blink.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 350
Vendor: Zonderkidz
Publication Date: 2019
Dimensions: 9.03 X 6.60 (inches)
ISBN: 0310765234
ISBN-13: 9780310765233
Ages: 13-16

Publisher's Description

When Evalina Cassano and Taichi Hamasaki are torn apart by the events following the attack on Pearl Harbor, they must fight if they want any hope of returning to one another before World War II steals their future together. Within These Lines is one unflinching, haunting, historical novel you don't want to miss; perfect for fans of Monica Hesse, Ruta Sepetys, and Elizabeth Wein.

Evalina Cassano's life in an Italian-American family living in San Francisco in 1941 is quiet and ordinary until she falls in love with Taichi Hamasaki, the son of Japanese immigrants. Despite the scandal it would cause and that inter-racial marriage is illegal in California, Evalina and Taichi vow they will find a way to be together. But anti-Japanese feelings erupt across the country after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are forced to give up their farm and move to a Japanese-American internment camp.

Degrading treatment makes life at Manzanar Relocation Center difficult. Taichi's only connection to the outside world is treasured letters from Evalina. Feeling that the only action she can take to help Taichi is to speak out against injustice, Evalina becomes increasingly vocal at school and at home. Meanwhile, inside Manzanar, fighting between different Japanese-American factions arises. Taichi begins to doubt he will ever leave the camp alive.

With tensions running high and their freedom on the line, Evalina and Taichi must hold true to their ideals and believe in their love to make a way back to each other against unbelievable odds.

Within These Lines

  • Is a young adult historical novel set in the World War II era
  • Contains themes of love, separation, social justice, war, and diversity
  • Perfect for junior high and high school students
  • A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.