#5: Salamandastron: A Tale of Redwall
Illustrated By: Gary Chalk
Stock No: WW501528
#5: Salamandastron: A Tale of Redwall  -     By: Brian Jacques
    Illustrated By: Gary Chalk
Buy Item Our Price$7.99 Retail: $9.99 Save 20% ($2.00)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW501528
Penguin Random House / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$8.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

#5: Salamandastron: A Tale of Redwall

Illustrated By: Gary Chalk
Penguin Random House / Paperback

Buy 32 or more for $7.59 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW501528


  • Other Formats (3)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
  • In This Series (15)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. $8.99
    In Stock
    Our Price$8.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.99
  2. $7.99
    In Stock
    Our Price$7.99
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.99
  3. $8.09
    In Stock
    Our Price$8.09
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.09
Others Also Purchased (1)
In This Series (15)

Product Description

In Redwall Abbey, the residents are relaxing in the haze of summer. But at the same time, the neighboring stronghold of Salamandastron lies besieged by the evil weasel army of Ferhago the Assassin. Also, Mara, beloved daughter of Urthstripe, Badger Lord of the Fire Mountain, is in terrible danger. A lightning bolt uncovers the sword of Martin the Warrior, and young Samkin embarks on an adventure that leads him to Mara. Can the good creatures triumph over the villainous Assassin? Recommended for ages 9 and up.

Product Information

Title: #5: Salamandastron: A Tale of Redwall
By: Brian Jacques
Illustrated By: Gary Chalk
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 400
Vendor: Penguin Random House
Dimensions: 7.74 X 5.02 X 1.12 (inches)
Weight: 12 ounces
ISBN: 0142501522
ISBN-13: 9780142501528
Ages: 10-12
Series: Tale of Redwall
Stock No: WW501528

Related Products

  1. #4: Mariel of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin Books / 2003 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$7.99 Retail Price$9.99 Save 20% ($2.00)
    5 out of 5 stars for #4: Mariel of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall. View reviews of this product. 1 Reviews
  2. #6: Martin the Warrior: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$7.99 Retail Price$9.99 Save 20% ($2.00)
    5 out of 5 stars for #6: Martin the Warrior: A Tale of Redwall. View reviews of this product. 1 Reviews
  3. #7: The Bellmaker: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$6.99 Retail Price$8.99 Save 22% ($2.00)
  4. #8: Outcast of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin Books / 2004 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$6.99 Retail Price$8.99 Save 22% ($2.00)
    5 out of 5 stars for #8: Outcast of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall. View reviews of this product. 1 Reviews

Publisher's Description

The Redwall series is soon to be a Netflix original movie!

The beloved Redwall saga continues in Salamandastron.

The inhabitants of Redwall relax in the haze of summer-but as they do, the neighboring stronghold of Salamandastron lies besieged by the evil weasel army of Ferhago the Assassin. Worse still, Mara, beloved daughter of Urthstripe, Badger Lord of the Fire Mountain, is in terrible danger. Then a lightning bolt uncovers the sword of Martin the Warrior, and young Samkin embarks on an adventure that leads him to Mara. Can the good creatures triumph over the villainous Assassin?

Perfect for fans of T. A. Barron’s Merlin saga, John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series, and J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings series.

Author Bio

Brian Jacques was born in Liverpool, England on June 15th, 1939. Along with forty percent of the population of Liverpool, his ancestral roots are in Ireland. A well-known radio personality in his native Liverpool--as well as an actor, stand-up comic, and playwright--Brian was the host of "Jakestown" on BBC Radio Merseyside. Ever the performer, Jacques applied his acting and entertainment background to his lively presentations to legions of young fans at schools across the United States and England.

His interest in adventure stories began at an early age with reading the books of: Daniel Defoe, Sir Henry Rider Haggard, Arthur Conan Doyle, Sir Thomas Malory, Robert Michael Ballantyne, Robert Louis Stevenson, Edgar Rice Burroughs, and Kenneth Grahame. He attended St. John's School, an inner city school that had its playground on the roof. On his first day at St. John's, at the age of ten, he had an experience that marked his potential as a writer. When given an assignment of writing a story about animals, he wrote about the bird that cleaned a crocodile's teeth. The teacher could not, and would not, believe that a ten year old could write that well. When young Brian refused to falsely say that he had copied the story, he was caned as "a liar". He had always loved to write, but it was only then, that he realized that he had a talent for writing.

Some teachers at St. John's proved to be good role models. This interest in poetry extended to Wordsworth, Tennyson, and Goldsmith. It was also at St. John's that Brian met a teacher, Alan Durband (who also taught two Beatles, Paul McCartney and George Harrison), who, more than thirty years later would bring about a major change in his life.

After Brian finished school at fifteen, he set out to find adventure as a merchant seaman. He travelled to many far away ports, including New York, Valparaiso, San Francisco, and Yokohama. Tiring of the lonely life of a sailor, he returned to Liverpool where he worked as a railway fireman, a longshoreman, a long-distance truck driver, a bus driver, a boxer, a bobby (Police Constable 216D), a postmaster, and a stand-up comic.
 
Penguin mourns the passing of celebrated children’s book author Brian Jacques

Editorial Reviews

The story is gripping . . . . Salamandastron is thoroughly satisfying! (School Library Journal)

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review