#3: Penelope Crumb Finds Her Luck  -     By: Shawn Stout
    Illustrated By: Valeria Docampo
Buy Item InStock5.99$5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $6.99 eBook Details

#3: Penelope Crumb Finds Her Luck

Illustrated By: Valeria Docampo
Puffin / 2014 / Paperback

$5.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $6.99
|
Save 14% ($1.00)
Buy 24 or more for $5.69 each.
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW426373

Black Friday Again
  • Other Formats (2)
  • In This Series (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $6.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.99
  2. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.99
In This Series (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $5.39
    Retail: $5.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.39

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 240
Vendor: Puffin
Publication Date: 2014
Dimensions: 7.75 X 5.06 (inches)
ISBN: 0142426377
ISBN-13: 9780142426371
Ages: 7
Series: Penelope Crumb

Publisher's Description

“Penelope Crumb . . . channels the quirkiness of Ramona Quimby and the detective skills of Cam Jansen . . . Penelope will delight children and parents alike.”
Shelf Awareness

“Readers will root for and relate to this fresh-voiced young heroine who joins the likes of Ramona, Judy Moody and Clementine.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Kids who have outgrown the Junie B. Jones series will enjoy Penelope’s equally comical narrative style.”
BCCB


In the third book in this hilarious, endearing series, all Penelope Crumb wants is to be someone's "Favorite." She’d thought she was her Grandpa Felix’s Favorite, and her mom’s Favorite, and her friend Patsy Cline’s Favorite, but she’s starting to realize that maybe she’s not. And it’s all The Bad Luck’s fault. So since Penelope's a superb artist, she comes up with a plan—she's going to be the boss of the mural her school is making at the Portwaller’s Blessed Home for the Aged, which will make her into everyone’s Favorite.  And maybe it’ll frighten The Bad Luck away. But things don't quite go as planned there either. And when an old woman named Nila promises to help Penelope find her luck so everyone will like her again, things get even worse! In the end, Penelope finds out that friendships aren't about luck—and that it doesn't matter if you're anyone's Favorite when there are tons of people who love you. In a book that’s equal parts humor and heart, it’s clear to see why young readers will count Penelope as one of their Favorites.
 

Author Bio

Shawn Stout has held many jobs, including ice cream scooper, dog treat baker, magazine editor, and waitress. She also holds the job of “mother” to her daughter Opal. In addition to the Penelope Cumb series, Shawn has written two books, Fiona Finkelstein, Big Time Ballerina and Fiona Finkelstein Meets her Match for Simon and Schuster, and before that received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her family also includes a husband and two dogs named Munch and Laverne. She once won a ribbon for her Peach Pie at the Great Fredrick Fair.

Editorial Reviews

"Stout populates her story with appealing characters who shine in both snappy dialogue and Penelope's wry yet winsome first-person narration...Although full of candies and melting Popsicles, this sweet take is refreshing rather than cloying."
Kirkus Reviews

"The first person narrative magnifies the wacky humor of Penelope's unique observations and phrasings, and readers can compare her (not-always-reliable) perspective with that shown in the occasional spot art."
Horn Book

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona Quimby will feel right at home with [Penelope]."
School Library Journal

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search