#16: Loamhedge: A Tale of Redwall
Illustrated By: David Elliot
Stock No: WW403770
#16: Loamhedge: A Tale of Redwall  -     By: Brian Jacques
    Illustrated By: David Elliot
Buy Item Our Price$8.09 Retail: $8.99 Save 10% ($0.90)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW403770
Penguin Random House / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$5.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

#16: Loamhedge: A Tale of Redwall

Illustrated By: David Elliot
Penguin Random House / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW403770


Product Close-up
This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
  • Other Formats (3)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
  • In This Series (15)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. $5.99
    In Stock
    Our Price$5.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $5.99
  2. $8.09
    In Stock
    Our Price$8.09
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.09
  3. $7.19
    In Stock
    Our Price$7.19
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
Others Also Purchased (1)
In This Series (15)

Product Description

The sixteenth full length Redwall novel sheds light on the Abbey's ancient origins in a thrilling adventure. Loamhedge, the deserted Abbey, has been forgotten for countless seasons. What secrets do it's ruins hold? When it becomes clear that wheelchair-bound Martha might be cured by a formula buried there, two old warriors are inspired by the spirit of Martin the Warrior himself to go on a quest for the ancient Abbey and three young rebels are determined to go with them. Meanwhile. the giant badger Lonna Bowstripe thirsts for vengeance as he relentlessly pursues Raga Bl and his murdering crew of Searats...who are on their way to attack Redwall itself. The valiant Abbeybeasts must defend their home, but how can they, when their boldest warriors are away on their quest? Will Redwall fall to vermin invaders at last?

Product Information

Title: #16: Loamhedge: A Tale of Redwall
By: Brian Jacques
Illustrated By: David Elliot
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 464
Vendor: Penguin Random House
Dimensions: 7.72 X 5.06 X 0.77 (inches)
Weight: 10 ounces
ISBN: 0142403776
ISBN-13: 9780142403778
Ages: 10-12
Series: Tale of Redwall
Stock No: WW403770

Related Products

  1. #14: Taggerung: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$8.09 Retail Price$8.99 Save 10% ($0.90)
  2. #15: Triss: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$6.99 Retail Price$8.99 Save 22% ($2.00)
  3. Rakkety Tam: A Tale of Redwall, Volume 17
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$6.99 Retail Price$8.99 Save 22% ($2.00)
  4. #18: High Rhulain: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin Books / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$6.99 Retail Price$8.99 Save 22% ($2.00)

Publisher's Description

The Redwall series is soon to be a Netflix original movie!

The sixteenth installment of the bestselling Redwall saga sheds light on the Abbey's ancient origins in a thrilling adventure.

Loamhedge, the deserted Abbey, has been forgotten for countless seasons. What secrets do it's ruins hold? When it becomes clear that wheelchair-bound Martha might be cured by a formula buried there, two old warriors are inspired by the spirit of Martin the Warrior himself to go on a quest for the ancient Abbey and three young rebels are determined to go with them. Meanwhile. the giant badger Lonna Bowstripe thirsts for vengeance as he relentlessly pursues Raga Bl and his murdering crew of Searats...who are on their way to attack Redwall itself.  The valiant Abbeybeasts must defend their home, but how can they, when their boldest warriors are away on their quest? Will Redwall fall to vermin invaders at last?

Perfect for fans of T. A. Barron’s Merlin saga, John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series, and J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings series.

Author Bio

"I sometimes think it ironic for an ex-seaman, longshoreman, truck driver, policeman, bus driver, etc., to find success writing children's novels," says Brian Jacques (pronounced "Jakes"). Yet it is all too true. With the publication of his first children's book in 1987, the award-winning Redwall, Jacques' fresh talent has received exceptional praise from reviewers in the United States and England. Newbery Award winner Lloyd Alexander called it "a fine work, literate, witty, filled with the excitement of genuine storytelling. Young people will surely be captivated. I hope they give their elders a chance to share the delights."

A well-known radio personality in his native Liverpool--as well as an actor, stand-up comic, and playwright--Brian Jacques is the host of "Jakestown" on BBC Radio Merseyside. Ever the performer, Jacques is well-known for applying his acting and entertainment background to his lively presentations to legions of young fans at schools across the United States and England.

Brian Jacques was born in Liverpool, England on June 15th, 1939. Along with forty percent of the population of Liverpool, his ancestral roots are in Ireland, County Cork to be exact.

He grew up in the area around the Liverpool docks. His interest in adventure stories began at an early age with reading the books of: Daniel Defoe, Sir Henry Rider Haggard, Arthur Conan Doyle, Sir Thomas Malory, Robert Michael Ballantyne, Robert Louis Stevenson, Edgar Rice Burroughs, and Kenneth Grahame. He attended St. John's School, an inner city school that had its playground on the roof. On his first day at St. John's, at the age of ten, he had an experience that marked his potential as a writer. When given an assignment of writing a story about animals, he wrote about the bird that cleaned a crocodile's teeth. The teacher could not, and would not, believe that a ten year old could write that well. When young Brian refused to falsely say that he had copied the story, he was caned as "a liar". He had always loved to write, but it was only then, that he realized that he had a talent for writing.

Some teachers at St. John's proved to be good role models. As Mr. Jacques recalls:

"My favourite teacher was Mr. Austin Thomas. He looked like Lee Marvin. Big Man. A Captain in World War II. He came to school on a big bush bike with the haversack on back. He was a man's man. Always fair. I was fourteen at the time when Mr. Thomas introduced the class to poetry and Greek literature. (Because of him, I saved seven shillings and sixpence to buy The Iliad and The Odyssey at this dusty used book shop.)"

This interest in poetry extended to Wordsworth, Tennyson, and Goldsmith.It was also at St. John's that Brian met a teacher, Alan Durband (who also taught two Beatles, Paul McCartney and George Harrison), who, more than thirty years later would bring about a major change in his life.

After Brian finished school at fifteen, he set out to find adventure as a merchant seaman. He travelled to many far away ports, including New York, Valparaiso, San Francisco, and Yokohama. Tiring of the lonely life of a sailor, he returned to Liverpool where he worked as a railway fireman, a longshoreman, a long-distance truck driver, a bus driver, a boxer, a bobby (Police Constable 216D), a postmaster, and a stand-up comic.

 

Penguin mourns the passing of celebrated children’s book author Brian Jacques

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review