13th Apostle
13th Apostle  -     By: Dermot McEvoy
Buy Item $12.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 24% ($4.00)
Expected to ship on or about 10/24/18.
Email me when this product is available.
Stock No: WW712073
Skyhorse Publishing / 2017 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

13th Apostle

Skyhorse Publishing / 2017 / Paperback

Buy 30 or more for $12.34 each.
Expected to ship on or about 10/24/18.
Email me when this product is available.
Stock No: WW712073


Product Information

Format: Paperback
Vendor: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication Date: 2017
Dimensions: 9.00 X 6.00 (inches)
ISBN: 1510712070
ISBN-13: 9781510712072

Publisher's Description

On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the General Post Office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.

The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad—with its thirteenth member, young Eoin—assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.

An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.

Author Bio

Dermot McEvoy was born in Dublin in 1950 and immigrated with his family to New York City four years later. He is a graduate of Hunter College and the author of of three novels, THE 13TH APOSTLE, OUR LADY OF GREENWICH VILLAGE, and TERRIBLE ANGEL. He is also the author of IRISH MISCELLANY and THE LITTLE GREEN BOOK OF IRISH WISDOM. He is a frequent contributor IrishCentral.com. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.

Editorial Reviews


“McEvoy gives us the story of the Irish War for Independence in all its vivid, intimate, squalid, intricate, heroic, and tragic immediacy. . . . This is historical fiction of a rare and wonderful sort.” —Peter Quinn, author of Banished Children of Eve

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.