#11: Marlfox: A Tale of Redwall
Stock No: WW501085
#11: Marlfox: A Tale of Redwall  -     By: Brian Jacques
Buy Item Our Price$6.99 Retail: $8.99 Save 22% ($2.00)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW501085
Penguin Random House / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$8.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

#11: Marlfox: A Tale of Redwall

Penguin Random House / Paperback

Buy 32 or more for $6.64 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW501085


  • Other Formats (3)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
  • In This Series (15)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. $8.99
    In Stock
    Our Price$8.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.99
  2. $6.99
    In Stock
    Our Price$6.99
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.99
  3. $8.09
    In Stock
    Our Price$8.09
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.09
Others Also Purchased (1)
In This Series (15)

Product Description

A villainous new presence is aprowl in Mossflower Woods-the Marlfoxes. Stealthy and mysterious, they are out to plunder and destroy everything in their path. And when they reach Redwall Abbey, they ruthlessly steal the most precious treasure of all-the tapestry of Martin the Warrior. It takes Dann Reguba and Song Swifteye, children of warrior squirrels, to follow in their fathers' heroic footsteps. Together with the young shrew Dippler, and Burble the brave watervole, they embark upon the seemingly impossible quest. . . .

Product Information

Title: #11: Marlfox: A Tale of Redwall
By: Brian Jacques
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 400
Vendor: Penguin Random House
Dimensions: 7.70 X 5.06 X 1.08 (inches)
Weight: 12 ounces
ISBN: 0142501085
ISBN-13: 9780142501085
Ages: 10-12
Series: Tale of Redwall
Stock No: WW501085

Related Products

  1. #10: The Long Patrol: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$5.29 Retail Price$8.99 Save 41% ($3.70)
  2. #12: The Legend of Luke: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin Books / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$8.09 Retail Price$8.99 Save 10% ($0.90)
  3. #13: Lord Brocktree: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin Books / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$8.09 Retail Price$8.99 Save 10% ($0.90)
  4. #14: Taggerung: A Tale of Redwall
    Add To Wishlist
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$8.09 Retail Price$8.99 Save 10% ($0.90)

Publisher's Description


The Redwall series is soon to be a Netflix original movie!

The bestselling Redwall saga continues in Marlfox.


A villainous new presence is aprowl in Mossflower Woods-the Marlfoxes. Stealthy and mysterious, they are out to plunder and destroy everything in their path. And when they reach Redwall Abbey, they ruthlessly steal the most precious treasure of all-the tapestry of Martin the Warrior. It takes Dann Reguba and Song Swifteye, children of warrior squirrels, to follow in their fathers' heroic footsteps. Together with the young shrew Dippler, and Burble the brave watervole, they embark upon the seemingly impossible quest. . . .

Perfect for fans of T. A. Barron’s Merlin saga, John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series, and J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings series.

Author Bio

"I sometimes think it ironic for an ex-seaman, longshoreman, truck driver, policeman, bus driver, etc., to find success writing children's novels," says Brian Jacques (pronounced "Jakes"). Yet it is all too true. With the publication of his first children's book in 1987, the award-winning Redwall, Jacques' fresh talent has received exceptional praise from reviewers in the United States and England. Newbery Award winner Lloyd Alexander called it "a fine work, literate, witty, filled with the excitement of genuine storytelling. Young people will surely be captivated. I hope they give their elders a chance to share the delights."

A well-known radio personality in his native Liverpool--as well as an actor, stand-up comic, and playwright--Brian Jacques is the host of "Jakestown" on BBC Radio Merseyside. Ever the performer, Jacques is well-known for applying his acting and entertainment background to his lively presentations to legions of young fans at schools across the United States and England.

Brian Jacques was born in Liverpool, England on June 15th, 1939. Along with forty percent of the population of Liverpool, his ancestral roots are in Ireland, County Cork to be exact.

He grew up in the area around the Liverpool docks. His interest in adventure stories began at an early age with reading the books of: Daniel Defoe, Sir Henry Rider Haggard, Arthur Conan Doyle, Sir Thomas Malory, Robert Michael Ballantyne, Robert Louis Stevenson, Edgar Rice Burroughs, and Kenneth Grahame. He attended St. John's School, an inner city school that had its playground on the roof. On his first day at St. John's, at the age of ten, he had an experience that marked his potential as a writer. When given an assignment of writing a story about animals, he wrote about the bird that cleaned a crocodile's teeth. The teacher could not, and would not, believe that a ten year old could write that well. When young Brian refused to falsely say that he had copied the story, he was caned as "a liar". He had always loved to write, but it was only then, that he realized that he had a talent for writing.

Some teachers at St. John's proved to be good role models. As Mr. Jacques recalls:

"My favourite teacher was Mr. Austin Thomas. He looked like Lee Marvin. Big Man. A Captain in World War II. He came to school on a big bush bike with the haversack on back. He was a man's man. Always fair. I was fourteen at the time when Mr. Thomas introduced the class to poetry and Greek literature. (Because of him, I saved seven shillings and sixpence to buy The Iliad and The Odyssey at this dusty used book shop.)"

This interest in poetry extended to Wordsworth, Tennyson, and Goldsmith.It was also at St. John's that Brian met a teacher, Alan Durband (who also taught two Beatles, Paul McCartney and George Harrison), who, more than thirty years later would bring about a major change in his life.

After Brian finished school at fifteen, he set out to find adventure as a merchant seaman. He travelled to many far away ports, including New York, Valparaiso, San Francisco, and Yokohama. Tiring of the lonely life of a sailor, he returned to Liverpool where he worked as a railway fireman, a longshoreman, a long-distance truck driver, a bus driver, a boxer, a bobby (Police Constable 216D), a postmaster, and a stand-up comic.

 

Penguin mourns the passing of celebrated children’s book author Brian Jacques

Editorial Reviews

A grand adventure story . . . breathtaking. (Chicago Sun-Times)

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review