The Last Day: Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755  -     By: Nicholas Shrady
Buy Item $18.99 Retail: $25.95 Save 27% ($6.96) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

The Last Day: Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755

Viking / 2008 / Hardcover

$18.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $25.95
|
Save 27% ($6.96)
Buy 12 or more for $18.04 each.
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/06/15.
Email me when this product is available.
CBD Stock No: WW018512

Current Promotions

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 240
Vendor: Viking
Publication Date: 2008
Dimensions: 8.25 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 0670018511
ISBN-13: 9780670018512
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/06/15.
Email me when this product is available.

Publisher's Description

A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe

Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves, and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days.

In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God’s place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause célèbre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester’s Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World.

Author Bio

Nicholas Shrady is a journalist whose articles have appeared in Architectural Digest, Travel & Leisure, Forbes, The New York Times Book Review, and Town & Country. His previous books include Tilt: A Skewed History of the Tower of Pisa and Sacred Roads: Adventures from the Pilgrimage Trail.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Availability

Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/06/15. You may order this item now and we will ship it to you when it arrives. If you are charging this purchase to a credit card, you will not be charged for this item and its portion of your shipping charges until it is shipped.

Send Me Email  Email me when this product is available.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search