Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
    When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
    Lorna Seilstad
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 18 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721810
4.7 Stars Out Of 5
4.7 out of 5
(13)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 18
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next
  1. North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    A SWEET LOVE STORY!
    May 21, 2013
    My Book Addiction
    North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    WHEN LOVE CALLS by Lorna Seilstad is a wonderful inspirational historical romance set in 1908 Des Moines,Iowa. #1 in "The Gregory Sisters",and what a beginning to a new series by this author. A sweet story of family,faith,secrets,healing,mystery,forgiveness and the power of love. Hannah Gregory,the eldest Gregory sister,and who is royal,feisty and resilient to a fault. And Lincoln Cole,a young lawyer. Follow,these two young people plus a cast of characters who are not only engaging but will steal your heart as they navigate their way through hardships,struggles,life,and romance. Hannah becomes a Switchboard operator to help support your younger teenage sisters,but she dreams of being an attorney. Lincoln is a senator's son who finds Hannah and her troubles right up his alley. A heart warming story of the 1900's during which there are many changes and companionship turns to a sweet romance. Ms. Seilstad is a wonderful storyteller who draws the reader into her stories and holds them there. She also has a powerful message in her stories. A charming and unforgettable love story. I would recommend this title,especially, if you enjoy twentieth century history,charming characters,and a powerful story. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    "Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
  2. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    Delightful Story from Lorna Seilstad
    May 18, 2013
    i blog 4 books
    What a wonderful book! In a week of working around the clock, getting sick, and trying to recover quickly, When Love Calls was just what the doctor ordered! Lorna Seilstad is an incredible author that delivers a story filled with characters to love, interesting historical details, humorous moments, a delicious romance, and the beginning of a series that I can't wait to read more of!

    I loved the message throughout the book that God is in control of our lives and we must depend on Him. This was illustrated over and over again, through every character, without being preachy or cheesy. As much as this message applied to the fictitious Walt, Hannah, and Lincoln (and others), there is certainly a message for this real-life reader as well.

    I enjoyed every moment spent reading When Love Calls and highly recommend it! [4.5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
  3. Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    When Love Calls is a delightful Historical Romance
    May 18, 2013
    Blooming with Books
    Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    When Love Calls

    The Gregory Sisters

    By Lorna Seilstad

    Following the deaths of her parents, 20 year old Hannah Gregory is left with the care of her two younger teenaged sisters. Caring for her sisters means giving up her dream of becoming a lawyer, but how is she going to support them all?

    Hannah uses her determination and learning skills to get a job as a "Hello Girl" if she can follow the rules and pass the training stage. But when lawyer Lincoln Cole insists on helping the Gregory girls after their farm is foreclosed on, Hannah's ire is raised and she blames Lincoln for the loss of their home.

    Set in 1908 When Love Calls is a look at a different world, a world of switchboards and operators who must connect each and every call. This is such a contrast to the world that we now live in where we can connect almost instantly through cell phones or over a computer.

    Hannah is feisty and independent so becoming a Hello Girl is a real trial for her especially having to strictly follow the rules. Hannah's antics are at times just too much. She doesn't back down to anyone when she feels she is in the right and she is loyal to those whom she views as friends.

    When Love Calls is a delightful step back in time, which were simpler but not necessarily easier. What's a girl to do when union unrest comes knocking at her door and her sister hides who she is just to capture the heart of a boy? Needing her parents guidance can Hannah learn to turn to God and rely on someone other than herself, someone like Lincoln?

    I love Hannah's risk taking attitude, though she definitely got herself into a few situations that proved taking a risk is sometimes not the best choice. I can honestly say that I would not have gone up to the top of the capitol and looked over the railing, UGHHH heights!!!

    The references made to the story of Ruth added another dimension to the story. We should all be like Ruth and allow God to cover us with His protection.

    If you like historical fiction with a touch of romance you will love When Love Calls. Take a set back in time as a whole new world of thought, invention, and equality begins to open up but not without a fight. Enter the world of the Gregory sisters as they reach out to capture their dreams and to triumph over their losses, you will come away with some new friends!

    I received a copy of a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  4. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Self-Reliance Versus God-Relaince and Romance
    May 18, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Lorna Seilstad in her new book, "When Love Calls" Book One in The Gregory Sisters series published by Revell brings us into the life of Hannah Gregory.

    From the Back Cover: When romance calls, will she choose to answer?

    Hannah Gregory is good at many things, but that list does not include following rules. So when she must apply for a job as a switchboard operator to support her two sisters, she knows it won't be easy. Hello Girls must conduct themselves according to strict-and often bewildering-rules, which include absolutely no consorting with gentlemen while in training.

    Hannah doubts it will be difficult to keep that rule-until a handsome young lawyer starts getting under her skin.

    With historic details that bring to life the exciting first decade of the twentieth century, Lorna Seilstad weaves a charming tale of companionship that blossoms into sweet romance.

    "When Love Calls" is a lot of fun. Just the idea of saying, "number, please" your entire shift is enough to drive you crazy. However Hannah is a self-reliant woman who has two sisters who must be taken care of. Hannah feels she lost the farm her deceased parents had owned and that guilt is what partly motivates her. All Hannah wants to do is follow the rules and keep her job but Lincoln Cole, the young lawyer who presented the eviction papers to them, is making that rather difficult. "When Love Calls" is full of wonderful themes of self-reliance versus God-reliance. Ms. Seilstad does a wonderful job of transporting us back to a time and place that we will, sadly, never experience again so savor the time spent in these pages. This is an interesting story filled with lots of excitement and romance as well as history. I liked it a lot and I am looking forward to more in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    "Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."
  5. a sunny island
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    May 15, 2013
    sunny island breezes
    a sunny island
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    The world of Hello Girls is fascinating. It's also restrictive. If one makes the cut and gets into the phone operator's school, it's still no guarantee she'll end up with a job.

    They are told up front that half of their class won't make it. Hannah really needs this job to put food on the table and care for her sisters. After her parents death, the bank repossessed the farm and house, so she's desperate for the job.

    Big problem - all the rules and regulations. Hannah can't seem to stay out of trouble. The two men hanging around her create another problem. There's that rule about no male callers during a woman's time in school.

    Hannah/s attempts to stay out of trouble while fighting her attraction to one of these men makes a good story. Then there's that danger that gets one of the men tossed into jail.

    I'm looking forward to reading more about the Gregory sisters.

    ***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
Displaying items 11-15 of 18
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next