Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
    When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
    Lorna Seilstad
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.49 Retail: $15.00 Save 23% ($3.51)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 21 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721810
4.7 Stars Out Of 5
4.7 out of 5
(14)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 21
Page 1 of 5 12345 Next
  1. Harrison, AR
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Heroine very proud, but I otherwise liked the characters and mystery
    August 19, 2016
    Debbie from ChristFocus
    Harrison, AR
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    "When Love Calls" is a Christian romance set in 1908 in Iowa. The hero was kind, caring, and I understood why he wanted to help the heroine and her sisters. He even supports the heroine's dreams. However, the heroine was very proud and not very rational or law abiding for a person who wants to become a lawyer. She blames him for the loss of her family's farm even though she should know he's simply the messenger. He tries to help her, but she keeps refusing due to pride. Even her sisters know she has pride issues and doesn't see the need to follow any rule that makes no sense to her. This repeatedly gets her into trouble, though not very bad trouble.

    Anyway, the heroine did learn some lessons as time passed. The hero and the sisters were interesting characters, and I really enjoyed them. There was also an interesting mystery about who was setting the fires, which the hero and heroine needed to solve while the hero was defending the heroine's accused friend. The historical focus was mainly details about the job of the Hello Girls.

    There was no sex or bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this interesting novel as long as you don't mind a willful, proud heroine.
  2. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    A Special Story
    May 27, 2016
    Heidi
    Quality: 3
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 3
    Love the story of the Hello Girl. It's interesting and this book is a joy to read. The pace was a little slow though, till it reaches the middle. Nevertheless, I recommend this book!
  3. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    When Love Calls
    March 11, 2016
    Rosie
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I read this book at least three times and still plan to read it again! It was that interesting. I have always loved good romance with a christian theme. The story of Hannah Gregory struck a cord. Often, I come across christian romance novels that fail to keep my interest, it is all I can do to keep reading till the end. But in this case, the story was well written and will definitely keep any reader's interest till the end.
  4. U.P Mi
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Great Read
    November 15, 2014
    weatherlover1
    U.P Mi
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Hannah is the oldest of her three sisters. With her parents dead and no way to keep their home theyre forced out of their home and Hannah must find a job. The lawyer in charge of evicting them feels bad for them and finds himself helping them. Hannah is not happy about that and does not want to trust him but he make it hard not too. Hannah soon takes a job as a Hello Girl thought with her outspoken personality things were sure to get interesting.

    What I liked: I liked Hannah a lot. Being the oldest she felt the weight of responsibility for raising and providing for her sisters. She took a job that really did not fit her personality but she was willing to do what it took to keep her family together. Lincoln was just doing his job when he told the Gregory sisters that had to move out of their family home yet he wanted to help them and the banter between him and Hannah was quite enjoyable.

    What I did not like: This book was well written and not much to not like.

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from this author. I highly recommend this book.
  5. California
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    o:**:. INTERESTING HELLO GIRL HISTORY.:**: o
    October 31, 2014
    Blue Jeans & Teacups
    California
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    When Love Calls Book #1 in The Gregory Sisters Series

    Lorna Seilstad

    April 1908 Des Moines, Iowa - Hannah Gregory must now take care of her her two younger sisters, Charlotte and Tessa (both in their teens). She has walked away from Drake Law School, and will now try to become a Hello Girl at the Iowa Telephone Company. My own father retired from the phone company, AND he grew up in Iowa, so my interest was certainly piqued, and in fact it was apparently quite interesting to the author as well because she wrote this book after watching a random You Tube video on the subject. Cool, right? There were a plethora of rules involved that you cant imagine today. However, Hannah is a huge rule breaker so she has a very difficult time of it. Face forward to the switchboard at all times, raise your hand to scratch your nose, etc. She is high spirited and takes charge of most situations, and although she prays often and asks for Gods help, she rarely waits for His answer.

    Her mother used to tell her, (and I loved this), God made the rule keepers just like He made the rule breakers. Your independent spirt can be a blessing and a curse. And, so can being a rule keeper. Each can be used to Gods glory, and each needs the other. God is perfect in both justice and mercy.

    Lincoln Cole is a lawyer and graduate of Drake Law School. He is forced to deliver some bad news to the girls, which puts him in bad standing with Hannah. But, he does everything in his power to help the sisters, and try to convince them he was just the messenger and really is a good guy. I like Lincoln a lot. He is a strong man, and really takes a Godly role of covering these girls, and becoming their protector.

    There are many fun characters in this book. It was a real pleasure to read. I did not find anyone crazy annoying and for me, the story develops nicely. There is an unexpected wedding location that gave me a big smile! I am looking forward to the rest of the series.

    I give it 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to others.

    Included at the end of the book: n/a

    I wish there had been a recipe included at the end for the warm apple charlotte smothered in velvety vanilla cream sauce

    Book 2: When Love Stirs May 2014

    Book 3: Unknown as of this writing

    This was eBook was offered as a free download. I am offering my honest opinions for no compensation.

    2013 Revell Publishing

    338 Pages

    Read 10/27-30/2014 reviewed 10/31/2014
Displaying items 1-5 of 21
Page 1 of 5 12345 Next