Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. When a Heart Stops, Deadly Reunion Series #2
    When a Heart Stops, Deadly Reunion Series #2
    Lynette Eason
    Revell / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 27% ($4.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 21 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW720087
4.5 Stars Out Of 5
4.5 out of 5
(12)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 21
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next
  1. Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Suspenseful Mystery
    October 14, 2012
    Faith and Family Reviews
    Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    I anxiously read chapter after chapter trying to figure out who the murderer was....gradually towards the end I had a couple of ideas as to who it was, especially once Lynette revealed a clue.

    I really liked the twists and turns of the story and how it kept me guessing. It was really hard to pick out the killer from among all the characters and I found myself trying to recall what the first book was all about to see if there was a connection between characters that would give me the key to cracking the serial murder case.

    As the series title indicates, this is a murder mystery novel. The descriptions of the murder victims is dealt with discreetly, yet Ms. Eason definitely does not skirt around other details. There are not gory details. So if you like a nice clean mystery definitely check out this series.

    When a Heart Stop gets two thumbs up from me.

    Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive free products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
  2. Potosi, MO
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Page-Turning Suspense
    October 12, 2012
    Pam Burke
    Potosi, MO
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    When a Heart Stops keeps your heart racing and your mind guessing. Lynette Eason grabs you on page one and keeps you in suspense to the very end -- and even longer!

    Serena Hopkins deals with death on a daily basis in her job as a medical examiner. But when death strikes too close to home, her job becomes anything but routine. Working with Dominic Allen, an FBI agent and former high school crush, to find a serial killer adds even more excitement to the case. In a sick, frightening game, finding and stopping the players is a life-and-death race.

    When a Heart Stops picks up right where the drama of When the Smoke Clears left off in Lynette Eason's Deadly Reunions series. In fact, this series is one where the individual books would not work so well as stand alones. If you like to have all the loose ends tied up in a neat package at the end of the story, you might want to wait until you can read all three books at once. However, if you enjoy ongoing suspense and major teasers stretching into the wait for the next story -- this is a great series! I don't know when the conclusion of the series is coming out, but I'm anxiously waiting getting the answers to some mighty big questions.

    Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    (This book was provided free from the publisher for my honest review.)
  3. New Mexico
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    A Gentle Edge of a Suspense Novel
    October 12, 2012
    AlyciaMorales
    New Mexico
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    A gentle edge. That's what I think of when I read Lynette Eason's suspense novels. She keeps you on the edge of your seat, but her words have a gentle tone to their suspense. The killer is sick, but quietly so. The characters are nervous, but not frantically so. This makes for that gentle edge.

    One coy killer is on the loose, and Lynette Eason will keep you flipping pages through the final chapter of the book to find out who it is. You'll think you'll know and then you'll doubt you're right.

    Because this is a Deadly Reunion novel, you may wish to keep a list of character names. It's been awhile since I read When the Smoke Clears. Several of the cast from that are the same cast for When a Heart Stops. It took me a few chapters to figure out who everyone was again and how they were connected. Having a list of the characters' names would help keep them straight between the two books.

    I always enjoy Lynette's stories. If you like suspense thrillers but don't like a lot of gore or blunt detail, you will enjoy her novels.

    *Please note: I received a copy of When a Heart Stops from the publisher for review. I am in no way bound to providing a positive review of the novel. However, I enjoy books rather often, and Lynette Eason has written something I enjoy reading, so I give her my thumbs up and share my review with you.
  4. Oregon
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Bodies are Dropping!
    October 11, 2012
    Casey
    Oregon
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Oh the bodies are dropping! I think there must have been another murder every twenty pages and there really isn't much time to do a whole lot of gawking with this novel.

    I'm not a blood and guts kind of girl, I'd rather reader a romance over a murder, so when I read a murder, I take them suspenseful. If you're going to creep me out_then. creep. me. out. I think this novel didn't a pretty fair job of that task. The balance between murder and romance was pretty well level, though it did tip a bit heavier towards the murder business side.

    The novel did feel a bit as though there needed to be a killing to keep the tension level high, but I didn't think it too much until the ending.

    I loved it when the story took a personal turn for our heroine. Putting someone close to her in danger, totally upped the anty and pumped my blood. Excellent moment in the novel. The only place where I thought it totally came out of character for the novel was at the end and the twist. Which of course I can't say anything, so my lips are sealed, except to say I didn't see it coming and wasn't sure it really fit_but that's just my personal opinion.

    All in all, great book, cliffhanger ending, darn that author! ;-) And I have to wait more months until we figure out what's in that envelope people were killing over. Shoot.

    Pun intended.

    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publisher for my copy to review.

    **Available October 2012 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**
  5. Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    What a book!
    October 11, 2012
    Rosie
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Whew! What a book! Fast-paced and heart pounding from the first page, this isn't a book you want to miss!

    I read this book incredibly fast. And that's a good thing. This is the first book I've read from Miss Eason and I must say I'm impressed. Her writing is easy to read, her characters are very admirable, and her plot was a large knot just waiting to be untied.

    When a Heart Stops is focused mainly on Serena. It was just another homicide investigation until Serena pulled up and recognized the victim as someone she knew from high school. Evidence seems to indicate that an old serial killer has returned_but he's in jail so it must be a copycat. The tension mounts with every chapter and soon Serena finds herself the next target.

    Serena is a medical examiner (M.E.) for the police. Not exactly an attractive job, but it was neat to read about. I'd like to thank Miss Eason for giving us a very little, visually, about the autopsies. From what I've heard, she's had a part in past Eason novels, but this is the first time I met her. She is a very realistic character with honorable traits and a heart for God. I think she and I would have been good friends.

    Miss Eason's latest suspense novel is one that I enjoyed. I would recommend though, that you don't read it at night_ ;-)

    Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

    I received this book from Revell for free in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done.
Displaying items 11-15 of 21
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next