Buy Item InStock11.49$11.49 Retail: $25.99 Save 56% ($14.50) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

HarperCollins / 2013 / Hardcover

$11.49 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $25.99
|
Save 56% ($14.50)
Buy 24 or more for $10.92 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW300454

  • Other Formats (3)
  • Others Also Purchased (15)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $11.49
    Retail: $25.99
    Add To Cart
    $11.49
  2. In Stock
    $8.04
    Retail: $25.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.04
  3. In Stock
    $11.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $11.99
Others Also Purchased (15)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $15.99
    Retail: $22.99
    Add To Cart
    $15.99
  2. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $18.00
    Add To Cart
    $8.99
  3. In Stock
    $10.49
    Retail: $16.00
    Add To Cart
    $10.49
  4. In Stock
    $22.99
    Retail: $34.00
    Add To Cart
    $22.99

Product Description

First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn't an argument that Christianity is true - because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It's an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 240
Vendor: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 2013
ISBN: 0062300458
ISBN-13: 9780062300454
Availability: In Stock

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. The End of Apologetics: Christian Witness in a Postmodern Context
    The End of Apologetics: Christian Witness in a Postmodern Context
    Myron Bradley Penner
    Baker Academic / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $16.99 Retail: $23.00 Save 26% ($6.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW035982
  2. Reading for Preaching: The Preacher in Conversation with Storytellers, Biographers, Poets, and Journalists
    Reading for Preaching: The Preacher in Conversation with Storytellers, Biographers, Poets, and Journalists
    Cornelius Plantinga Jr.
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.00 Save 22% ($3.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW870770
  3. The Freedom of a Christian: The Luther Study Edition
    The Freedom of a Christian: The Luther Study Edition
    Martin Luther
    Fortress Press / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $16.00 Save 31% ($5.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW663117
  4. Is Reality Secular? Testing the Assumptions of Four Global Worldviews
    Is Reality Secular? Testing the Assumptions of Four Global Worldviews
    Mary Poplin
    InterVarsity Press / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $12.99 Retail: $18.00 Save 28% ($5.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW844060

Related Products

  1. Has Christianity Failed You?
    Has Christianity Failed You?
    Ravi Zacharias
    Zondervan / 2010 / Hardcover
    $10.99 Retail: $19.99 Save 45% ($9.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 17 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW269557
    Video
  2. The Case for Christ
    The Case for Christ
    Lee Strobel
    Zondervan / Mass Paperback
    $5.49 Retail: $5.99 Save 8% ($0.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 11 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW0226554
  3. The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism
    The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism
    Timothy Keller
    Dutton / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $7.99 Retail: $17.00 Save 53% ($9.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 51 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW483493
  4. Jesus Among Other Gods
    Jesus Among Other Gods
    Ravi Zacharias
    Thomas Nelson / 2002 / Trade Paperback
    $7.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 50% ($8.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 22 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW43272

Publisher's Description

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

Author Bio

Francis Spufford, a former Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (1997), has edited two acclaimed literary anthologies and a collection of essays about the history of technology. His first book, I May Be Some Time, won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Non-Fiction Book of 1996, the Banff Mountain Book Prize, and a Somerset Maugham Award. His second, The Child That Books Built, gave Neil Gaiman "the peculiar feeling that there was now a book I didn't need to write." His third book, Backroom Boys, was called "as nearly perfect as makes no difference" by the Daily Telegraph, and Red Plenty was one of Dwight Garner's New York Times 10 Favorite Books of 2012. Spufford is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and teaches at Goldsmiths College in London.

Endorsements

Mr. Spufford is an amused and amusing observer of human beings, and it is a pleasure to be in his company.
-Dwight Garner,
The New York Times

Francis Spufford is one of the cleverest and most thoughtful nonfiction writers in England...Unapologetic is exactly what those who've followed Spufford's career might have suspected it would be: an incredibly smart, challenging, and beautiful book, humming with ideas and arguments.
-Nick Hornby

A remarkable book, which is passionate, challenging, tumultuously articulate, and armed with anger to a degree unusual in works of Christian piety.
-Sunday Times (London)

A unique book, cutting its way ruthlessly through thickets of both religious and anti-religious sentimentality; painfully funny at points, always impassioned and never glib.
-Rowan Williams,
Magdalene College, Cambridge University

Flat-out exhilarating...Read this book and you will discover a faith that is brash, poignant, sensual, funny - but above all, profoundly, joyfully human.
-Diana Butler Bass,
Author of Christianity After Religion

Compelling...Spufford's argument occassions the much needed reevaluation of how integral emotions are to being human and why common sense ought not be dismissed. This is a compelling argument not only for its content but also because it has been written so beautifully.
-Stanley Hauerwas,
Duke University

Editorial Reviews

“Spufford is one of the most gifted English writers of his generation…Unapologetic captures the texture of today’s life of faith, faith always ever-so-slightly but also ever-so-constantly eaten away at by uncertainty, by the possibility of a truly disenchanted world, a wholly material life.”

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search