Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense  -     By: Francis Spufford
Buy Item $18.99 Retail: $25.99 Save 27% ($7.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

Harpercollins Publishing / 2013 / Hardcover

$18.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $25.99
|
Save 27% ($7.00)
Buy 24 or more for $18.04 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW300454

Current Promotions

Product Description

First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn't an argument that Christianity is true - because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It's an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 240
Vendor: Harpercollins Publishing
Publication Date: 2013
ISBN: 0062300458
ISBN-13: 9780062300454
Availability: In Stock

Related Products

  1. Has Christianity Failed You?
    Has Christianity Failed You?
    Ravi Zacharias
    Zondervan / 2010 / Hardcover
    $10.49 Retail: $19.99 Save 48% ($9.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 15 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW269557
    Video
  2. The Case for Christ
    The Case for Christ
    Lee Strobel
    Zondervan / Mass Paperback
    $5.49 Retail: $5.99 Save 8% ($0.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 7 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW0226554
  3. The Case for Faith
    The Case for Faith
    Lee Strobel
    Zondervan / 2000 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 14 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW34703
  4. The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism
    The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism
    Timothy Keller
    Dutton Adult / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $16.00 Save 44% ($7.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 47 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW483493

Publisher's Description

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

Author Bio

Francis Spufford, a former Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (1997), has edited two acclaimed literary anthologies and a collection of essays about the history of technology. His first book, I May Be Some Time, won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Non-Fiction Book of 1996, the Banff Mountain Book Prize, and a Somerset Maugham Award. His second, The Child That Books Built, gave Neil Gaiman "the peculiar feeling that there was now a book I didn't need to write." His third book, Backroom Boys, was called "as nearly perfect as makes no difference" by the Daily Telegraph, and Red Plenty was one of Dwight Garner's New York Times 10 Favorite Books of 2012. Spufford is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and teaches at Goldsmiths College in London.

Endorsements

Mr. Spufford is an amused and amusing observer of human beings, and it is a pleasure to be in his company.
-Dwight Garner,
The New York Times

Francis Spufford is one of the cleverest and most thoughtful nonfiction writers in England...Unapologetic is exactly what those who've followed Spufford's career might have suspected it would be: an incredibly smart, challenging, and beautiful book, humming with ideas and arguments.
-Nick Hornby

A remarkable book, which is passionate, challenging, tumultuously articulate, and armed with anger to a degree unusual in works of Christian piety.
-Sunday Times (London)

A unique book, cutting its way ruthlessly through thickets of both religious and anti-religious sentimentality; painfully funny at points, always impassioned and never glib.
-Rowan Williams,
Magdalene College, Cambridge University

Flat-out exhilarating...Read this book and you will discover a faith that is brash, poignant, sensual, funny - but above all, profoundly, joyfully human.
-Diana Butler Bass,
Author of Christianity After Religion

Compelling...Spufford's argument occassions the much needed reevaluation of how integral emotions are to being human and why common sense ought not be dismissed. This is a compelling argument not only for its content but also because it has been written so beautifully.
-Stanley Hauerwas,
Duke University

Editorial Reviews

“Spufford is one of the most gifted English writers of his generation…Unapologetic captures the texture of today’s life of faith, faith always ever-so-slightly but also ever-so-constantly eaten away at by uncertainty, by the possibility of a truly disenchanted world, a wholly material life.”

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Sacred Scripture, Sacred War: The Bible and the American Revolution
    Sacred Scripture, Sacred War: The Bible and the American Revolution
    James P. Byrd
    Oxford University Press / 2013 / Hardcover
    $22.49 Retail: $27.95 Save 20% ($5.46)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW843497
  2. Living in Christ's Presence DVD: Final Words on Heaven and  the Kingdom of God
    Living in Christ's Presence DVD: Final Words on Heaven and the Kingdom of God
    Dallas Willard, John Ortberg
    Inter-Varsity Press / 2013 / DVD
    $21.99 Retail: $30.00 Save 27% ($8.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW835850
  3. Encounters with Jesus: Unexpected Answers to Life's Biggest Questions
    Encounters with Jesus: Unexpected Answers to Life's Biggest Questions
    Timothy Keller
    Dutton Adult / 2013 / Hardcover
    $14.49 Retail: $19.95 Save 27% ($5.46)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW954354
  4. An Unhurried Life: Following Jesus' Rhythms of Work and Rest
    An Unhurried Life: Following Jesus' Rhythms of Work and Rest
    Alan Fadling
    Inter-Varsity Press / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.49 Retail: $16.00 Save 28% ($4.51)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW835737

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search