The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1   -     By: Lisa Wingate
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $9.99 eBook Details

The Prayer Box, Prayer Box Series #1

Tyndale House / 2013 / Paperback

$9.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $15.99
|
Save 38% ($6.00)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW386881

Current Promotions
Browse
Refine by
Advanced Search Links

Product Media


Product Description

When Iola Anne Poole, an old-timer on Hatteras Island, passes away in her bed at ninety-one, the struggling young mother in her rental cottage, Tandi Jo Reese, finds herself charged with the task of cleaning out Iola's rambling Victorian house.

Running from a messy, dangerous past, Tandi never expects to find more than a temporary hiding place within Iola's walls, but everything changes with the discovery of eighty-one carefully decorated prayer boxes, one for each year, spa...

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 385
Vendor: Tyndale House
Publication Date: 2013
Dimensions: 8.25 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 1414386885
ISBN-13: 9781414386881
Availability: In Stock

Related Products

  1. The Prayer Box - eBookeBOOK
    The Prayer Box - eBook
    Lisa Wingate
    Tyndale House / 2013 / ePub
    $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 42 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW39403EB
  2. Firefly Island, Moses Lake #3
    Firefly Island, Moses Lake #3
    Lisa Wingate
    Bethany House / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 23% ($3.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 58 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW208232
  3. Prayer Box, Square, Silver
    Prayer Box, Square, Silver
    Alexa's Angels / 2013 / Gift
    $9.99 Retail: $12.00 Save 17% ($2.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW032399X
  4. Blue Moon Bay, Moses Lake Series #2
    Blue Moon Bay, Moses Lake Series #2
    Lisa Wingate
    Bethany House / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $12.49 Retail: $15.00 Save 17% ($2.51)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 19 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW208225

Publisher's Description

ECPA 2014 Christian Book Award Finalist!
When Iola Anne Poole, an old-timer on Hatteras Island, passes away in her bed at ninety-one, the struggling young mother in her rental cottage, Tandi Jo Reese, finds herself charged with the task of cleaning out Iola’s rambling Victorian house.

Running from a messy, dangerous past, Tandi never expects to find more than a temporary hiding place within Iola’s walls, but everything changes with the discovery of eighty-one carefully decorated prayer boxes, one for each year, spanning from Iola’s youth to her last days. Hidden in the boxes is the story of a lifetime, written on random bits of paper—the hopes and wishes, fears and thoughts of an unassuming but complex woman passing through the seasons of an extraordinary, unsung life filled with journeys of faith, observations on love, and one final lesson that could change everything for Tandi.

Editorial Reviews

Wingate writes with a sensitivity and lyricism so effortless, weaving a community atmosphere with a comforting story of personal healing
With a careful eye to detail and a beautiful, lyrical style reminiscent of those of Mary Alice Monroe and Patti Callahan Henry, Wingate vividly sets Tandi’s struggles in a once beautiful Victorian mansion now falling to ruin and guarded by a cranky cat in a small town recovering from the ravages of a hurricane. [Starred review]
Relatable characters and vivid portrayals of events both current and historical create an enchanting, memorable pilgrimage into the fullness of faith and love.
Readers will delight in this gorgeously written, true gem of a novel. Wingate has a way with phrasing that makes one stop and savor certain passages because they are incredibly meaningful—not only to the telling of the tale, but to the reader’s own life. Realistic characters and a saga of life, love, and rebuilding make a gorgeous treat. [Top Pick]
Running away from her past, single mother Tandi Jo Reese rents a cottage on Hatteras Island, but when her elderly landlady dies in her sleep, the task of cleaning out Iola Anne Poole’s big house falls to Tandi Jo. Tandi comes across 81 decorated prayer boxes containing notes: pieces of a life well lived. In them, Tandi finds not only redemption but peace with her past. VERDICT Two-time Carol Award winner Wingate (Blue Moon Bay) has written a moving and inspiring story with interesting female characters and a colorful Southern backdrop. A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe.

Product Reviews

Product Q&A



Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Fifteen Minutes
    Fifteen Minutes
    Karen Kingsbury
    Howard Books / 2013 / Hardcover
    $16.49 Retail: $22.99 Save 28% ($6.50)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 15 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW647051
  2. Distortion, Moonlighter Series #2
    Distortion, Moonlighter Series #2
    Terri Blackstock
    Zondervan / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $11.49 Retail: $15.99 Save 28% ($4.50)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 36 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW283140
  3. An Untamed Heart: The Prequel
    An Untamed Heart: The Prequel
    Lauraine Snelling
    Bethany House / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 15 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW202033
  4. All Things Hidden
    All Things Hidden
    Tracie Peterson, Kimberley Woodhouse
    Bethany House / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 24 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW211191
    Video

Find Related Products

Download Media Players

A Flash Player is required to view some of the content on this page. Click the "Flash Player" button above to download a Flash Player.

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Christianbook.com Search