The Meeting of the Waters - eBook  -     By: Fritz Kling
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 41% ($7.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

The Meeting of the Waters - eBook

David C. Cook / 2010 / ePub

$9.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $16.99
|
Save 41% ($7.00)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW13597EB

Current Promotions
* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Read this eBook on:




Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Description

The Meeting of the Waters identifies seven trends having a major impact on the Church around the world-and on every Christian at home in every country.

The global community of Christians is stunning in its scope and spiritual impact. But what is happening to the Church as new technology, marketing, and generational shifts make their unavoidable mark? And what difference does it make for Christians in day-to-day life?

Equal parts travelogue, character study, and global documentary, The Meeting of the Waters interlaces stories and instruction in the tradition of Freakanomics, The World Is Flat, and The Tipping Point. This breakthrough book is for any Christian eager to make a difference in a changing world.

Product Information

Format: DRM Free ePub
Vendor: David C. Cook
Publication Date: 2010
ISBN: 9780781404297
ISBN-13: 9780781404297
Availability: In Stock

Publisher's Description

The Meeting of the Waters identifies seven trends having a major impact on the Church around the world—and on every Christian at home in every country.

The global community of Christians is stunning in its scope and spiritual impact. But what is happening to the Church as new technology, marketing, and generational shifts make their unavoidable mark? And what difference does it make for Christians in day-to-day life? Equal parts travelogue, character study, and global documentary, The Meeting of the Waters interlaces stories and instruction in the tradition of Freakonomics, The World Is Flat, and The Tipping Point. This breakthrough book is for any Christian eager to make a difference in a changing world.

Author Bio

As a longtime foundation head, Fritz Kling has visited the world's most common and most remote countries. He delivers riveting stories about the Global Church in transition, from an insider's perspective. Fritz and his family live in Richmond, VA.

Endorsements

“Fritz Kling’s book on the seven global currents is a great primer. It should be basic reading not only for all Christians involved in global missions but also for any believers trying to reach out to their own city.” - Tim Keller, Senior Minister, Redeemer Presbyterian Church, New York City

“Fritz Kling is well-qualified to assess contemporary trends of churches in global missions as he has had his finger on the pulse of God’s work around the world for years. We live in a changing world but tend to miss the implications of these changes due to the limited perspective of our western provincialism. Based on extensive research and interviews with national mission leaders, The Meeting of the Waters effectively communicates the issues that will shape mission strategies in the future. This is a book that should be read by church leaders, mission strategists, and anyone committed to fulfilling the Great Commission as we move further into the 21st century.” - Jerry Rankin, President, International Mission Board, Southern Baptist Convention

“The twenty-first century world is changing at a dizzying pace. Increasingly, for the Church to remain vital and relevant, new paradigms must be developed which address a wider-than-ever range of issues: poverty, human rights, ecology, justice, conflict, equality, reconciliation, and global events. In The Meeting of the Waters, Fritz Kling effectively identifies seven important trends that are leading the global Church into new and un-charted waters. The very relevance of the Church and its impact in the world will depend on whether and how it reacts to these emerging trends. This book is a must-read for Christians who want to stay relevant and effective while serving others and sharing the Gospel.” - Richard Stearns, President, World Vision U.S., and author of The Hole in Our Gospel

“This is an astonishing book. Kling’s survey of the changing world of missions reads like a fine novel. His truths are profound, his insights forged from years of hands-on work. For anyone who has a heart for missions, this book is a must-read. Kling grants remarkable insight into how today’s church-missions vision needs to grow to fit tomorrow’s challenges. Highly recommended.” - Davis Bunn, bestselling author of Gold Of Kings

“In this thoughtful book, Kling paints a picture of the ever-changing world God has called us to serve. Speaking from a life of experience and a heart attuned to God’s call, he lets us know that as the world changes, so must the Church’s response. I’m glad that we have him as a guide as we pioneer the next era of answering the Lord’s call to each of us: to do justice, to love mercy and to walk humbly with Him.” - Gary Haugen, President and CEO, International Justice Mission

Product Reviews

4.8 Stars Out Of 5
4.8 out of 5
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Value:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1
  1. Cdowning
    Kingwood, WV
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Great out of the box thinking.
    May 27, 2011
    Cdowning
    Kingwood, WV
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I really enjoyed the writing style and information within the book. As an out of the box thinker, this book even challenged me to venture further in rethinking our outreach an missionality at the church my wife and I pastor.

    I have suggested an will continue to share this book with other pastors and churches.
  2. St. Paul, MN
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    June 10, 2010
    St. Paul, MN
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    The Meeting of the Waters is a book packed with challenges and ideas for evangelizing through the global Church. Fritz lays out what he sees as seven currents that are changing the ways of evangelizing around the globe and the Church needs to engage in. 1. Mercy-an increasing emphasis on meeting physical need in addition to evangelism.2. Mutuality-leaders from traditionally poor countries having greater access to education, technology and growing economies, and thus demanding to be heard. 3. Migration-the increasing relocation of peoples among he nations, especially the cities.4. Monoculture-the cultures of all countries becoming more and more similar due to the spread of worldwide images, ideals, celebrities, and ad campaigns that reshape their deepest values. 5. Machines-transforming of lifestyles worldwide via cell phones, GPS, television, and Internet, changing individual lives and values. 6. Mediation-partisan rifts are proliferating due to communication avenues, inciting discord and attracting sympathizers7. Memory-distinct histories (albeit, violent or devastating) that profoundly shape their society; how their yesterday affects their thinking today. These currents are sometimes invisible, thus doubly potent. They cannot be overlooked. The Church needs to quickly and wisely act on these currents to be effective.The analogy of the Meeting of the Waters is a good view of the past methods of evangelizing and todays new ways. They need to converge together.My perspective is that these are real currents, but God is aware of all of them. I think Mr. Kling did an excellent job pulling these together for the Church to glean from. A good read for churches evangelizing in todays fast-paced world. I dont necessarily agree with all the information.,This book has accomplished its goal of alerting/informing the Church.I received this book from Audra at The B & B Media Group, Inc., for my honest review.
  3. Michelle Smith
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    March 21, 2010
    Michelle Smith
    This reflective new book introduces the looming challenges and trends facing Christian missions in the world today. A foundation executive, Kling shares an insider's view of mission work around the world, in locales spanning the globe, often diverse yet often similar. Kling's introductory illustration of the old "Mission Marm" of previous generations contrasted to today's "Apple Guy" was particularly insightful.Kling identifies these 7 prevalent global trends in missions: * Mercy: Meeting people's physical needs while evangelizing them. * Mutuality: Viewing Christians from other locales (especially developing countries) as our spiritual equals and partnering with them in missions efforts. * Migration: Global relocation, particularly to cities for economic, educational and other reasons, should lead to discovering new ways to reach out to radically diverse populations. * Monoculture: Cultural similarity amongst nations through media infiltration and other factors will shape our ability to more readily communicate with others. * Machines: Technology (television, the internet, cell phones, GPS, etc.) are transforming lifestyles globally and may impact their values as well as their lives. * Mediation: The church must strive to spread peace-making and reconciliation amidst a number of splinter groups and increasing polarity worldwide. * Memory: Each nation and region holds a history which shapes and influences it. Often these influences may be subtle and unstated, yet will continue to impact the current generation's thoughts, ideals, and way of life.Although futurists generally cannot predict with much accuracy what the future holds, Kling seems less concerned with interpreting these trends and instead merely introduces them for the sake of opening up a dialogue with other Christians. Careful consideration of these 7 global trends should lead to thoughtful strategizing for reaching billions of people with the gospel.
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Christianbook.com Search