The Fiddler's Secret - eBook   -     By: Lois W. Johnson
Buy Item $5.09 Retail: $6.99 Save 27% ($1.90) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

The Fiddler's Secret - eBook

River North / 2013 / ePub

$5.09 (CBD Price)
Retail: $6.99
Save 27% ($1.90)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW39011EB

Current Promotions
* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Read this eBook on:

  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
  1. In Stock
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
  2. In Stock
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart

Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: River North
Publication Date: 2013
ISBN: 9780802486561
ISBN-13: 9780802486561
Availability: In Stock
Series: Freedom Seekers

Publisher's Description

In the dark of night Libby Norstad wakes up. It’s quiet. Too quiet. Then come the rapid strokes of the ship’s bell. What’s wrong? What happened? Where’s Pa?

Hurrying out into the dense fog on deck, Libby hears the slap of paddlewheels against water. The whistle of a steamboat coming too fast, too close. Grabbing Annika’s arm, Libby yanks her away from the railing. Run!

But soon, out of the dark and danger come the high notes of a gifted fiddler. Who is he? Where is he from? Why does his face seem to hold a secret?

As Annika joins the teaching in the Christina’s classroom, Captain Norstad asks Libby, Caleb, Jordan, and Peter, "What is most important to you?  What do you really want?" Though Jordan finds new, exciting possibilities for his family’s freedom in Minnesota Territory, he and Peter also face mystery and hardship.

When winter draws near, Pa needs to head south, but Annika stays in St. Paul. Will she be lost to the never-give-up family forever? Can the Christina possibly escape a winter ice storm? And what is the fiddler’s challenge for Freedom Seekers of every place and time?

In The Fiddler’s Secret, the sixth and final novel in the Freedom Seekers series, as well as other titles in the collection, Lois Walfrid Johnson combines high story interest with truth that offers life to readers of every age.

The Freedom Seekers series is a six-novel middle-reader set in 1857. Feel the rush of immigrants to the new land, and the dangers of the Underground Railroad in these true-to-life Riverboat stories.The characters will receive a heart-warming response from readers of all ages. Adult readers will ask themselves, &quote;Would I have been one of those who helped runaway slaves?&quote; Lois Walfrid Johnson uses strong historical research, great writing, and wonderful storytellingto bring alive a critical time in American history.

Author Bio

LOIS WALFRID JOHNSON is a speaker, teacher of writing, and former instructor for Writer's Digest School. She is the author of 38 books, including Girl Talk, the Gold Medallion Book Award winning Let's-Talk-About-It Stories for Kids series, the bestselling Adventures of the Northwoods mysteries, and the much-loved Riverboat Adventures. In her exciting Viking Quest series Lois' characters travel from Ireland to Norway, Iceland, and Greenland, then sail with Leif Erickson to what is now America. Lois' husband, Roy, is a gifted teacher and idea person for her writing. They enjoy time with their family, friends, and readers who have written from more than 40 countries to say, "I love your books. I can't put them down."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook


Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search