The Farewell Symphony   -     By: Anna Harwell Celenza
    Illustrated By: JoAnn E. Kitchel
Buy Item $19.76 Retail: $21.95 Save 10% ($2.19) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

The Farewell Symphony

Illustrated By: JoAnn E. Kitchel
Charlesbridge Publishing / Hardcover

$19.76 (CBD Price)
Retail: $21.95
Save 10% ($2.19)
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 04/30/15.
CBD Stock No: WW914060

Current Promotions
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Description

Prince Nicholas isn't easy to work for-just ask famous composer Joseph Haydn. When the prince isn't demanding chamber music, operas, and ballets to entertain his guests, he wants dance music for balls, outdoor music for his walks in the garden, and dinner music with his meals. Haydn and the twenty-two musicians under his care are kept quite busy at the prince's summer estate in Hungary. As summer fades into autumn, the musicians grow increasingly homesick. It seems that Prince Nicholas will never return home to Austria, and when Haydn mentions the musicians' distress, the prince threatens to fire the entire orchestra! How can the talented composer convince the mighty prince that it's time to bid farewell to the summer palace? Memorable characters, carefully researched text, and energetic, expressive illustrations bring the story behind Haydn's famous Symphony No. 45 to life. Author Anna Celenza and illustrator JoAnn Kitchel create a masterwork of their own in this tribute to the power and beauty of music.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 32
Vendor: Charlesbridge Publishing
Dimensions: 10 X 10 (inches)
ISBN: 1570914060
ISBN-13: 9781570914065
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 04/30/15.
Ages: 4-8

Publisher's Description

Anna Harwell Celenza's engaging fictionalized telling of the story behind Franz Joseph Haydn's famous symphony is a perfect introduction to classical music and its power. THE FAREWELL SYMPHONY brings to life a long summer spent at Esterháza, the summer palace of Prince Nicholas of Esterházy.

The blustering, bellowing prince entertained hundreds of guests at his rural retreat and demanded music for every occasion. As the months passed, Haydn was kept very busy writing and performing music for parties, balls, dinners, and even walks in the gardens. His orchestra members became homesick and missed their families. The anger, frustration, and longing of the musicians is expressed beautifully in the symphony born of the clever mind of Joseph Haydn who used it to convince Prince Nicholas that it was time to go home.

Wonderfully expressive illustrations by JoAnn E. Kitchel capture all the comedy and pathos of this unique symphony. Beautifully interpretive motifs and borders convey the setting and emotion of the story mirroring the structure of the symphony with the repetitive use of sets of four. Making classical music and history come alive with color and character, THE FAREWELL SYMPHONY ensures a place for the arts in the hearts and minds of children.

Author Bio

Anna Harwell Celenza is a musicologist and the author of several books for adults and children regarding music history and the history of art. Her children’s books include THE FAREWELL SYMPHONY, PICTURES AT AN EXHIBITION, GERSHWIN'S RHAPSODY IN BLUE, and VIVALDI'S FOUR SEASONS. Anna lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook


Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.


Availability: Expected to ship on or about 04/30/15. You may order this item now and we will ship it to you when it arrives. If you are charging this purchase to a credit card, you will not be charged for this item and its portion of your shipping charges until it is shipped.

Send Me Email  Email me when this product is available.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search