Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. The Dance, The Restoration Series #1
    The Dance, The Restoration Series #1
    Dan Walsh, Gary Smalley
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 27% ($4.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 22 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721480
4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
(15)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
Value:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 22
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next
  1. 3 Stars Out Of 5
    Teaching about Marriage through Fiction
    April 7, 2013
    i blog 4 books
    I was intrigued by the idea of Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley teaming up to write a new fiction series. I've loved the other books I've read by Dan Walsh, and Gary Smalley's series with Karen Kingsbury is one of my favorites of all time. So The Dance (and the whole series) definitely had potential for me.

    I thought the story itself was really good. It was definitely hard to read about a couple whose marriage is falling apart and how it affected not only them but also their three kids. The book was so emotional ... just reading the emotions and thoughts of all parties involved and knowing that people that I know face similar situations was hard.

    Audrey was my favorite character by far! I loved how her friendship with both Jim and Marilyn had such an impact on their marriage. Her story on its own was inspiring and I enjoyed the "secondary" story.

    There were a few aspects of the book that bothered me. While I know the purpose of the book was to use fiction to teach about relationships, at times the book was super "preachy." Those sections took me out of the story and felt like I was reading more of a sermon or something. Also, the ending wrapped up really fast. So much of the story was spent talking about the problems of Jim and Marilyn's marriage and their individual efforts to resolve things and then the book ended without really giving much insight to how they planned to work on their problems together ... as a couple. The ending was sweet, don't get me wrong, but it was a little too "tidy" for me given how the book started.

    Overall, though, The Dance was sweet, and I enjoyed this quick read. I'm not sure if I'll be reading the rest of this series or not. However, I'm still a huge fan of both of the authors! [3 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  2. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Marriage Problems, Healing, Forgiveness & Restorat
    April 6, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley in their new book, "The Dance" Book One in The Restoration Series published by Revell takes us into the lives of Jim and Marilyn Anderson.

    From the Back Cover: Love's recovery starts with a single step . . .

    After 27 years of marriage, Marilyn Anderson is tired of playing the role of perfect wife. Her husband Jim is a successful businessman who gives her everything she needs-a beautiful home in an upscale neighborhood, the financial freedom to be a stay-at-home mom, an enviable collection of stuff. Everything, that is, except what really matters: love.

    After years of trying to connect with Jim, Marilyn has had enough. She longs to experience some measure of happiness before she's too old to enjoy it. Needing some time to herself to sort things out, Marilyn leaves to start a new job and take dancing lessons-something she has wanted to do for as long as she can remember.

    Shocked to find his wife gone, Jim Anderson must sort through the past to save his marriage. With a little help from an unexpected ally, he begins a campaign to win Marilyn back. What he doesn't anticipate is how his actions will affect everyone around him-starting with himself.

    Without any doubt Dan Walsh is one of the best writers out there. He consistently writes books that go right to the heart, have wonderful characters that deal with issues that affect all of us. "The Dance" is no exception. "The Dance" is all about a marriage. For the majority of us if we are already not married then those that remain want to be married. This book touches on issues that can affect any marriage. The team of Walsh and Smalley takes these issues, put them in a fictional setting and get their point across without being preachy. There is healing, forgiveness, restoration all within the family and all from God. This is a wonderful book and a great beginning to a new series!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available April 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  3. Arizona
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Like a Christian "Shall We Dance"
    April 5, 2013
    Michelle Sutton
    Arizona
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    This story started out a bit slow for me, but I found myself warming up to the characters and eventually softening toward Jim and Marilyn. Jim presented as an angry man who was upset about his wife leaving him and how that complicated his life and tarnished his image. There wasn't much to like about him at first. That was well portrayed and very good characterization by the authors. The fact that Marilyn was clearly bitter to the point that she didn't believe her husband even when he was sincere was also well done.

    Then things started to turn around. I loved the change of heart that Jim had, but it started with recognizing that the responsibility for his failed marriage rested squarely on his shoulders. As long as it was everyone else's fault, it prevented him from having a change of heart. The conversations he had with his children were touching. The ending brought tears to my eyes. This book shows that marriage really does take work and that the death of love happens slowly over time, but even that can be restored. This was a touching and beautiful story of healing. I really enjoyed it.
  4. North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    EMOTIONAL AND COMPELLING!
    April 5, 2013
    My Book Addiction
    North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    THE DANCE by Dan Walsh & Gary Smalley is an interesting inspirational contemporary fiction set in River Oaks, Florida. First in

    "The Restoration"series. Have your tissues ready,ladies, you will need them. Follow, Marilyn Anderson, the perfect wife to Jim,a successful businessman,and who is tired of the position after twenty seven years. She is looking for more adventure,passion, and a connection to her husband. Jim must win her back,after she leaves him for a new job. Along the way he finds out something about himself. A compelling story of second chances, love lost that may be found again,faith,redemption,forgiveness,healing and finding happiness. A must read for anyone who enjoys tearjerkers,learning more of marriage,it is a two way street,after all,inspirational stories,and an emotional story. I truly enjoyed "The Dance",while I have enjoyed this author's other stories, I feel this one touches not only the heart but the soul as well. A compelling and emotional read.You do not want to miss "The Dance" for a far better understanding of the depth of marriage as told through a wonderful fictional story. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    "Available April 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews
  5. Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    In a single word WOW! The Dance not to be missed!
    April 4, 2013
    Blooming with Books
    Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    The Dance

    The Restoration Series #1

    By Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley

    For 27 years Jim Anderson thought he had the perfect marriage, but he is about to find out he was wrong! Marilyn has tried talking to Jim about the problems with their marriage, but he won't listen to anyone else so Marilyn does the only thing she can do - she leaves him.

    The Dance is a journey to discover self and to save a marriage. Marilyn has lost who she is to her marriage and she takes this break to get a job, share an apartment with another Christian woman, and to go to a church where everything is not based on social status.

    Jim can't understand why Marilyn would leave. He's given her everything that she could want - a beautiful house, social status, a nice car, expensive clothes - what could she possibly be unhappy about. Jim's first thought is that she must be seeing someone else. But his children especially Michelle and Doug disagree and mention that their mother has been unhappy for awhile.

    A chance encounter with an older woman is about to change both Jim and Marilyn's lives if they will open their hearts and overcome their fears - fears that have controlled their marriage from the very beginning. It all started with a dance that never took place. Can another dance restore what could have been? Jim and Marilyn are about to find out that second chances are possible with God's help and a willing heart.

    In a word WOW! The Dance should be required reading for everyone over the age of 15 ad it should be part of every family library. People who like Fire Proof or Courageous will be equally impressed with The Dance if not more so.

    I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Available April 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Displaying items 11-15 of 22
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next