The Christmas List, A Novel, HC   -     By: Richard Paul Evans
Buy Item $13.99 Retail: $19.99 Save 30% ($6.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $11.66 eBook Details

The Christmas List, A Novel, HC

Simon & Schuster / 2009 / Hardcover

$13.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $19.99
|
Save 30% ($6.00)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW150009

Current Promotions

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 368
Vendor: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2009
Dimensions: 7.5 X 5.5 X 1.0 (inches)
ISBN-13: 9781439150009
Availability: In Stock

Related Products

  1. Finding Noel: A Novel
    Finding Noel: A Novel
    Richard Paul Evans
    Simon & Schuster / 2006 / Hardcover
    $14.49 Retail: $19.95 Save 27% ($5.46)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW287037
  2. The Gift: A Novel
    The Gift: A Novel
    Richard Paul Evans
    Simon & Schuster / 2007 / Hardcover
    $14.99 Retail: $19.95 Save 25% ($4.96)
    2 Stars Out Of 5 3 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW550013
  3. Finding Noel, Audio, CD, Unabridged 5 CD's
    Finding Noel, Audio, CD, Unabridged 5 CD's
    Richard Paul Evans
    Simon & Schuster Audio / 2008 / Compact disc
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW576123
  4. The Christmas List: A Novel - eBookeBOOK
    The Christmas List: A Novel - eBook
    Richard Paul Evans
    Simon & Schuster / 2009 / ePub
    $11.66 Retail: $13.84 Save 16% ($2.18)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW9294EB

Publisher's Description

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and Finding Noel. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.

Dear Reader,

When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate.

What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers.

As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy.

Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts.

Merry Christmas

Author Bio

 Richard Paul Evans is the #1 bestselling author of The Christmas Box. Each of his more than twenty novels has been a New York Times bestseller. There are more than 17 million copies of his books in print worldwide, translated into more than twenty-four languages. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the American Mothers Book Award, the Romantic Times Best Women’s Novel of the Year Award, the German Audience Gold Award for Romance, three Religion Communicators Council Wilbur Awards, the Washington Times Humanitarian of the Century Award, and the Volunteers of America National Empathy Award. He lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with his wife, Keri, and their five children. You can learn more about Richard on Facebook.com/RPEFans, or visit his website RichardPaulEvans.com.

Product Reviews

4 Stars Out Of 5
4 out of 5
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Value:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1
  1. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Somewhat cliche; happy ending
    December 29, 2010
    teacher mom
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    This is my first experience with Evens, and I'll try another of his books again. The story focuses on James Kier, a well-do-to businessman, who reads his obituary in the newspaper (news service error--another man by the same name is the deceased). A hard-hearted man who walked away from his family and Lord, Kier is startled by the caustic online comments made in regard to his "death." Kier is more surprised by the written defense his wife makes for him--he is in the process of divorcing her after 24 years of marriage. Kier attempts to make amends with five of the people he has wronged over the years. The ending has a predictable sad/happy result. A nice story, one that reminds the reader to remember the important things in our temporal life. Not overly Christian and limited religious references--this book definitely won't lead anyone to Christ.
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Rhineland Inheritance - eBookeBOOK
    Rhineland Inheritance - eBook
    T. Davis Bunn
    Bethany House / 1993 / ePub
    $3.95 Retail: $6.99 Save 43% ($3.04)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW34265EB
  2. Istanbul Express - eBookeBOOK
    Istanbul Express - eBook
    T. Davis Bunn
    Bethany House / 1995 / ePub
    $4.41 Retail: $6.99 Save 37% ($2.58)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW27719EB
  3. The Jericho Sanction: A Novel - eBookeBOOK
    The Jericho Sanction: A Novel - eBook
    Oliver North, Joe Musser
    Fidelis Books / 2010 / ePub
    $9.99
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW15442EB
  4. Miles to Go, The Walk Series #2
    Miles to Go, The Walk Series #2
    Richard Paul Evans
    Simon & Schuster / 2011 / Hardcover
    $15.49 Retail: $22.00 Save 30% ($6.51)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 4 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW191378

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search