Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

    3.6 Stars Out Of 5
    3.6 out of 5
    (2)
    (5)
    (5)
    (1)
    (0)
    Quality:
    4 out Of 5
    (4 out of 5)
    Value:
    4.2 out Of 5
    (4.2 out of 5)
    Meets Expectations:
    3.9 out Of 5
    (3.9 out of 5)
    85%
    of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    SORT BY:
    SEE:
    Displaying items 1-5 of 13
    Page 1 of 3 123 Next
    1. candids
      Watertown, WI
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      2 Stars Out Of 5
      A Sci-Fi thriller that is very timely...
      July 7, 2011
      candids
      Watertown, WI
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      Quality: 3
      Value: 3
      Meets Expectations: 2
      This "end of the world" sci-fi thriller was a good read. It took me awhile to get into it, but about half way through it captured my interest. Of course, it's very timely, with many thinking the world will end in December of 2012 which is the premise of this novel.

      I got a bit lost in the science terminology as I'm not really a sci-fi reader, but it was a good story line with interesting characters and I enjoyed the change of pace overall. One thing that disappointed me though is that though it was clean and had Christian references, it didn't clearly present the Gospel. There are definitely points in the story line where it could have been presented, but the author kept it rather vague. Overall, I would recommend this book to someone who enjoys science fiction without the secular mindset.

      I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review. I was not told that I must give a positive review.
    2. ATaylor
      Texas
      Age: 25-34
      Gender: female
      4 Stars Out Of 5
      gripping tale
      July 7, 2011
      ATaylor
      Texas
      Age: 25-34
      Gender: female
      Quality: 4
      Value: 4
      Meets Expectations: 4
      I'll admit that it took me a while to find the groove in "The Alarmists." But once I dug in, this book was great!

      "The Alarmists" is my first read by Don Hoesel, and I'm really impressed by his assembly of this story. What could have been an incredibly tangled web of too much information was instead a well-planned, drop-into-the-action, international suspense narrative.

      Set in 2012, the plot centers on greedy Arthur Van Camp, who is will move at any cost to fulfill a lifelong dream. Through Van Camp we meet a host of other characters, all able to shirk morality to achieve personal gain.

      In the opposing camp, we find Colonel Richards and his research team, charged with investigating unusual events around the globe. They've contracted Brent Michaels, a sociologist, to help solve their most mysterious case yet -- determining why the world is hurtling toward its end and finding a way to stop it.

      In short, this is a classic tale of good versus evil, although Hoesel takes the opportunity to explore the juxtaposition of faith and science as well.

      I appreciated the succinct dialogue and narration; this is in keeping with the military-style under toe felt throughout the book. The reader isn't given any fluffy information, and what you are given feels like exactly enough to draw you into the next chapter.

      I would recommend this book to any adult reader -- but in the world of fiction where "Twilight" and "Harry Potter" reign -- men will find this book a breath of fresh air.

      I received this book for free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
    3. Jack
      West Bend
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: male
      4 Stars Out Of 5
      Interesting, but not great
      June 5, 2011
      Jack
      West Bend
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: male
      Quality: 4
      Value: 4
      Meets Expectations: 4
      Normally one to shy away from fiction and stick to healthy debates on theological issues this was an interesting book for me to review. When I do delve into fiction it must be something that grabs my attention right away with a subject that may have some real world parallels to it. Don Hoesel's new book can loosely have some of those parallels so the summary intrigued me. Someone may possibly be orchestrating some events to coincide with the thought that the world will end on 12/21/12. Bring in sociologist Brent Michaels and team him with Colonel Jameson Richards in order to try to identify who might be trying to bring the world into a state of fear and you have the makings for a page turner. Add to this mix a woman assigned to help Michaels and you now have more intrigue. With all that as the backdrop for the story it sounds like it could be great...but I would have to say the book was only good. Often I will judge a fiction account by how often I desire to pick it back up and how often I stay with it. To say I labored through this is not quite the case, but I did not lay awake thinking of how it would end. The character development was decent and the narrative was fairly easy to get through, it just did not leave me hanging by a thread desiring to start the next chapter.

      I did receive this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review and was not compensated in any other way.
    4. Borger, TX
      Age: 55-65
      Gender: female
      4 Stars Out Of 5
      Great theme!
      June 1, 2011
      Borger, TX
      Age: 55-65
      Gender: female
      Quality: 4
      Value: 4
      Meets Expectations: 4
      I recently read the book, The Alarmists, by Don Hoesel. The scenario of this book is about a very wealthy man with media monopolization who manipulates the ending of the world--or at least a panicked world. And you know what? I could totally see something like this really happening.

      The book takes you from one corner of the world to the other. Brent Michaels is a college professor who is called in by the Pentagon to consult as a sociologist--trying to put world events together to see if there was once source creating chaos around the world. Colonel Richards of the NIIU is the person in charge of tracking the breakdown of civilization. And Colonel Richards has a team working for him which now includes Dr. Brent Michaels.

      Brent Michaels begins to believe that someone is manipulating small events towards one large polarizing event to piggyback on the ending of the Mayan calendar, December 21, 2012 which would create total chaos and the complete breakdown of civilization. As he reaches this conclusion, he only has 9 days to discover who is behind it...and exactly what is that polarizing event.

      This book was fun to read after I finally got into it. The first part of the book had me confused with the characters. Later, you understand that one man has an assumed name. And since the book tracks all over the world with the different characters, it was a bit hard to follow at times. But the theme of the book clearly had me intrigued.

      I'd give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

      Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
    5. seabe
      Fallon, NV
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      5 Stars Out Of 5
      You won't be able to put this one down.
      May 21, 2011
      seabe
      Fallon, NV
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      Quality: 5
      Value: 5
      Meets Expectations: 5
      The Alarmists by Don Hoesel

      This book is a great suspense story situated in December 2012 with the world approaching the brink of panic - the timing of which coincides with the ending of the Mayan calendar. Don't worry, this book isn't one that jumps head first into the belief that the world will end in December 2012. I found that in the story this subject was dealt with appropriately. I'd love to tell you more but haven't figured out how too without giving away too much.

      I can only think of one problem with this book. Once you start it, you're not going to want to put it down until you've finished it. I stayed up till early morning hours finishing the book myself.

      I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for writing a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
    Displaying items 1-5 of 13
    Page 1 of 3 123 Next