Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. That Certain Summer
    That Certain Summer
    Irene Hannon
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 40% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 20 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW722494
    Video
4.5 Stars Out Of 5
4.5 out of 5
(11)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 20
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next
  1. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Caring For Elderly Parent, Divorce, Forgiveness
    June 8, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Irene Hannon in her new book "That Certain Summer" published by Revell Books takes us into the lives of Karen Butler and Val Montgomery.

    From the back cover: Two very different sisters . . . an unexpected homecoming . . . one unforgettable summer

    Karen and Val are family-yet they're anything but close. Karen has carried the burden of responsibility for her aging mother ever since her sister left town years ago to pursue a career in theater. But Val had other reasons for moving away-as well as a secret to keep-and coming home has never been an option . . . until their mother suffers a stroke.

    Reunited in their hometown, Karen and Val must grapple with past mistakes as they care for their ailing mother. When two handsome men enter the picture, the summer takes on a surprising new dimension. As their lives intersect, can each of them learn how to forgive, let go, and move on? And strengthened by the healing power of faith, might they also find the courage to love?

    With her trademark compelling characters and heartwarming hope, award-winning author Irene Hannon pens an inspiring true-to-life tale of complex relationships, the search for forgiveness, and the life-changing process of finding love.

    Just so you know, yes, Irene Hannon is famous for writing thrillers however this is not one of them. That does not mean, however, that "That Certain Summer" is not equally terrific. It most certainly is, just no killers are running around and no one's life is in danger. This is all about the relationship between two sisters and how they have to reconcile when their mother has a stroke and Karen needs help from Val. Ms. Hannon has taken on issues of how we care for our aging, and needy, parents, divorce and romance after divorce and abortion. "That Certain Summer" deals with forgiveness, reconciliation and moving forward with your life. This is not a fast read, however Ms. Hannon has given us much to think about. Ms. Hannon is an excellent writer and has given us wonderful characters that live and breathe and that we come to care about as we root for their success.

    If you missed the interview for "In Harm's Way" and would like to listen to it and/or would like to hear the previous interviews where we discussed the first and second books of The Heroes of Quantico series please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  2. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    A Contemporary Novel That Addresses Real Issues
    June 7, 2013
    i blog 4 books
    I'm a huge fan of Irene Hannon's books. In That Certain Summer though, Irene makes a departure from the romantic suspense novels that I've enjoyed in the past. This newest book features two sisters who are reconnecting after nearly 20 years apart. They've never been close, but as they join together to care for their mother, they realize just how much they need each other. Interspersed within Karen and Val's stories, readers are also introduced to David and Scott who become special friends to Karen and Val.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading about all four of these characters. They were interesting, and each had a great back story and growth throughout the book. The friendship that developed between Karen and Val was really special, and I was reminded repeatedly of how unique relationships between siblings are! One of the downsides, though, was that there was almost too much going on. There were four complete stories, and I wished at times that I could stick with one character or the other and continue with their story for a few more pages and/or chapters.

    Irene addressed some pretty heavy issues were introduced (i.e., divorce, faithfulness, abortion, lack of faith/trust in God), and I loved how she handled them with both sensitivity and realism.

    Midway through, I wasn't sure how all of these stories were going conclude, and I was torn about how I wanted a few things to turn out (a great thing, in my opinion!). Irene did a wonderful job pulling everything together, but I felt that I missed out on a lot of how we got to the ending. It seemed that a second book could have been written—a sequel—to give a fuller picture of the story to readers. I was left feeling like I might have missed out on some of the best parts.

    Overall, though, I did enjoy That Certain Summer. Irene is a wonderful writer and has a special talent for telling stories that feature Jesus at the center. I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy contemporary novels that address real issues. [3.5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review. Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  3. North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    A WONDERFUL STORY
    June 6, 2013
    My Book Addiction
    North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    THAT CERTAIN SUMMER by Irene Hannon is an interesting inspirational contemporary fiction. What happens when two different sisters come home for the summer,Karen and Val are not close,but they are family and are reunited in their hometown,what they find is hope,love and so much more. Filled with hope,coming to grips with your past,a dysfunctional family,faith,healing,forgiveness, and finding love. With life's trials, turmoil,and struggles "That Certain Summer" is sure to entertain us all. A heartwarming story of hope and the complex relationship of life and family. While, "That Certain Summer" is a different venue from her usual suspense genre,it is a wonderful story. True to her other stories, this title holds true to engaging,realistic characters as well as a strong plot. I would recommend this title if you enjoy uplifting stories,that will grip your heart. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    "Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: Sweet

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
  4. Potosi, MO
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Reconciliation and Romance
    June 5, 2013
    Pam Burke
    Potosi, MO
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    After reading Irene Hannon's Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, and Private Justice series, I was convinced she knows how to craft a story that will grab you from page one and hold you to the very end. I am a huge fan of her heart-stopping suspense and page-turning intrigue.

    Now I am happy to say that she can do exactly the same thing in a completely different genre. The characters in That Certain Summer engage you in their story right away. It is easy to feel with them the struggles and the joys they go through in an engaging tale of hope and inspiration. As hurts and secrets are revealed and dealt with, faith and forgiveness carry Karen, Val, and their family and friends through times of reconciliation, growth, and love.

    I highly recommend That Certain Summer and rank it right up beside Irene's other books. Fans of great Christian fiction will not be disappointed!

    Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Thanks to Revell for providing a copy of this book free of charge in exchange for my honest review.
  5. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    June 4, 2013
    Rel Mollet
    Irene Hannon is known for her romantic suspense despite having written numerous contemporary romance stories for the Love Inspired line. That Certain Summer is a full length contemporary novel combining romance, family drama, and self discovery as two sisters reunite to care for their cantankerous mother in her convalescence. I enjoyed Karen and Val's characters as they each grappled with past shame and choices in their younger years that have plagued them in adulthood and contributed to their strained relationship. Their slow reconnection is one of the joys of this story. In Scott and David, Irene has created men, while wrestling their own demons, are the perfect complement to the sister they choose to pursue. That Certain Summer is a tender story about reconciliation, forgiveness, and living free from guilt and shame.
Displaying items 11-15 of 20
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next