Talk of the Town - eBook  -     By: Lisa Wingate
Buy Item $5.59 Retail: $6.99 Save 20% ($1.40) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Talk of the Town - eBook

Bethany House / 2008 / ePub

$5.59 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $6.99
|
Save 20% ($1.40)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW6497EB

Current Promotions
Browse
Refine by
Advanced Search Links
* This product is available for purchase worldwide.

Read this eBook on:




Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Description

Between Hollywood glamour and small-town secrets, what is the truth? The show American Superstars is the hottest thing on television but its associate producer, Mandalay Florentino, is worried. She has just arrived in the tiny town of Daily, Texas, to arrange a surprise reunion concert for hometown finalist Amber Amberson. Only it turns out everyone in town seems to know the secret. And paparazzi are arriving. Word from Hollywood is that Amber has disappeared with a "bad boy" actor. Can anything go right in this tumbleweed town?

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Bethany House
Publication Date: 2008
ISBN: 9781441205667
ISBN-13: 9781441205667
Availability: In Stock
Series: Daily Texas

Related Products

Publisher's Description

Between Hollywood glamour and small-town secrets, what is the truth? The show American Superstars is the hottest thing on television, but its associate producer, Mandalay Florentino, is worried. She's just arrived in the tiny town of Daily, Texas, to arrange a surprise "reunion concert" for hometown finalist Amber Amberson. Only it turns out everyone in town seems to know the secret. And paparazzi are arriving. And word from Hollywood is that Amber has disappeared with a "bad boy" actor. Can anything go right in this tumbleweed town?
Imagene Doll loves her town of Daily, Texas, but things are lonelier without her beloved husband. Life seems dull. At least until that fancy-dressed woman pulls into town, looking terrified and glamorous all at once. Soon life's not the least bit boring as Imagene--and the rest of Daily--find themselves at the center of a media maelstrom...with a young girl's future on the line.

Author Bio

Lisa Wingate is a popular inspirational speaker, magazine columnist, and national bestselling author of several books including Tending Roses, Drenched in Light, and A Thousand Voices. Her work was recently honored by the Americans for More Civility for promoting greater kindness and civility in American life. Lisa and her family live in central Texas.

ChristianBookPreviews

Courage is just one of the many things Mandalay Florentino is going to need in order to survive the small town of Daily, Texas for a weekend in Lisa Wingate’s new novel, Talk of the Town. As the associate producer of the hit reality show, American Megastar, Mandalay has to leave life in LA to arrange a surprise reunion concert for one of the top five contestants. Problems arise as word spreads quickly in Daily. Mandalay's sadistic boss is ever demanding, and paparazzi and reporters begin to invade. With the help of Imagene Doll, a local woman with the need of a little courage herself, Carter Woods, a mysterious cowboy with good looks and a penchant for running into Mandalay everywhere, and the rest of the Daily community, Mandalay may just find the courage she needs to make the reunion concert perfect… or at least close.

This novel is laugh-out-loud funny and quick to read. Lisa Wingate does an excellent job of phonetically spelling out the way in which the people talk consistently and in such a way that you can practically hear them talking in that Texas drawl. This author also does a remarkable job of creating all of the quirky and endearing characters one would expect from a small town. With the ghost of the Daily Hotel lurking around and tales of posthumous visits from Elvis, even the town takes on a personality of its own.

This is such a cute story that is more than just a romance—it’s about friendship, big dreams, and having courage, too. The wit and charm of the small town created was truly inspired and translated to the novel as a whole. I would recommend this book to anyone who is in the mood for a laugh, a budding love, and some characters readers will want to open the book back up to visit over and over again. -- Shannon Potelicki, www.ChristianBookPreviews.com

Publisher's Weekly

When Hollywood producer Mandalay Florentino comes to the tiny hamlet of Daily, Tex., she's not at all sure what she will find. She's trying to do damage control because Amber Anderson, a good-girl gospel singer from Daily who is a contestant on Mandalay's American Idol–like reality show, keeps getting herself caught in the tabloids. Mandalay's also trying to keep a lid on the fact that Amber's about to become a finalist, but in a one-stoplight town like Daily, the mere presence of folks from Tinseltown tips off the whole community. Making matters even more complicated, as Mandalay holds off paparazzi, sniffs out the underhanded doings of her conniving boss and begins to suspect her L.A. fiancé of philandering, she loses her heart to a blue-eyed country boy who's got a secret of his own. Wingate (Tending Roses) pens a light and entertaining story of life in a small town with Texas-sized charm. The narration alternates competently between Mandalay and her new ally, Imagene, a widow who discovers new life even as her 70th birthday looms. The novel's Christian themes are incorporated quietly, as characters grow in grace without melodramatic conversions or bedside confessions. Fans of Anne Dayton and May Vanderbilt's brand of engaging, contemporary chick lit will enjoy this story. (Feb.)Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Product Reviews

Product Q&A



Other Customers Also Purchased

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Christianbook.com Search