Talk of the Town - eBook  -     By: Lisa Wingate
Buy Item $6.39 Retail: $7.99 Save 20% ($1.60) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Talk of the Town - eBook

Lisa Wingate / 2008 / ePub

$6.39 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $7.99
|
Save 20% ($1.60)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW6497EB

Current Promotions
* This product is available for purchase worldwide.

Read this eBook on:


CBDReader App for Android

  1. 1

    Using your Android device, you can download the CBDReader App directly from the Android Market. First, click on the 'Apps' icon from your main screen.

  2. 2

    On the app screen, click 'Market' or 'Play Store'.

  3. 3

    Click the spy glass icon and search 'CBDReader'.

  4. 4

    Click 'Free'.

  5. 5

    Click 'Install'.

  6. 6

    Click 'Accept and download' to affirm the terms and conditions.

  7. 7

    Click 'Open' to open the reader.

  8. 8

    Log in with your CBD account and all the eBooks you've purchased on the Christianbook.com website will be automatically added to your device.



Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Description

Between Hollywood glamour and small-town secrets, what is the truth? The show American Superstars is the hottest thing on television but its associate producer, Mandalay Florentino, is worried. She has just arrived in the tiny town of Daily, Texas, to arrange a surprise reunion concert for hometown finalist Amber Amberson. Only it turns out everyone in town seems to know the secret. And paparazzi are arriving. Word from Hollywood is that Amber has disappeared with a "bad boy" actor. Can anything go right in this tumbleweed town?

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Lisa Wingate
Publication Date: 2008
ISBN: 9781441205667
ISBN-13: 9781441205667
Availability: In Stock
Series: Daily Texas

Related Products

  1. Firefly Island, Moses Lake #3
    Firefly Island, Moses Lake #3
    Lisa Wingate
    Bethany House / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 58 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW208232

Publisher's Description

Between Hollywood glamour and small-town secrets, what is the truth? The show American Superstars is the hottest thing on television, but its associate producer, Mandalay Florentino, is worried. She's just arrived in the tiny town of Daily, Texas, to arrange a surprise "reunion concert" for hometown finalist Amber Amberson. Only it turns out everyone in town seems to know the secret. And paparazzi are arriving. And word from Hollywood is that Amber has disappeared with a "bad boy" actor. Can anything go right in this tumbleweed town?
Imagene Doll loves her town of Daily, Texas, but things are lonelier without her beloved husband. Life seems dull. At least until that fancy-dressed woman pulls into town, looking terrified and glamorous all at once. Soon life's not the least bit boring as Imagene--and the rest of Daily--find themselves at the center of a media maelstrom...with a young girl's future on the line.

Author Bio

Lisa Wingate is a popular inspirational speaker, magazine columnist, and national bestselling author of several books including Tending Roses, Drenched in Light, and A Thousand Voices. Her work was recently honored by the Americans for More Civility for promoting greater kindness and civility in American life. Lisa and her family live in central Texas.

ChristianBookPreviews

Courage is just one of the many things Mandalay Florentino is going to need in order to survive the small town of Daily, Texas for a weekend in Lisa Wingate’s new novel, Talk of the Town. As the associate producer of the hit reality show, American Megastar, Mandalay has to leave life in LA to arrange a surprise reunion concert for one of the top five contestants. Problems arise as word spreads quickly in Daily. Mandalay's sadistic boss is ever demanding, and paparazzi and reporters begin to invade. With the help of Imagene Doll, a local woman with the need of a little courage herself, Carter Woods, a mysterious cowboy with good looks and a penchant for running into Mandalay everywhere, and the rest of the Daily community, Mandalay may just find the courage she needs to make the reunion concert perfect… or at least close.

This novel is laugh-out-loud funny and quick to read. Lisa Wingate does an excellent job of phonetically spelling out the way in which the people talk consistently and in such a way that you can practically hear them talking in that Texas drawl. This author also does a remarkable job of creating all of the quirky and endearing characters one would expect from a small town. With the ghost of the Daily Hotel lurking around and tales of posthumous visits from Elvis, even the town takes on a personality of its own.

This is such a cute story that is more than just a romance—it’s about friendship, big dreams, and having courage, too. The wit and charm of the small town created was truly inspired and translated to the novel as a whole. I would recommend this book to anyone who is in the mood for a laugh, a budding love, and some characters readers will want to open the book back up to visit over and over again. -- Shannon Potelicki, www.ChristianBookPreviews.com

Publisher's Weekly

When Hollywood producer Mandalay Florentino comes to the tiny hamlet of Daily, Tex., she's not at all sure what she will find. She's trying to do damage control because Amber Anderson, a good-girl gospel singer from Daily who is a contestant on Mandalay's American Idol–like reality show, keeps getting herself caught in the tabloids. Mandalay's also trying to keep a lid on the fact that Amber's about to become a finalist, but in a one-stoplight town like Daily, the mere presence of folks from Tinseltown tips off the whole community. Making matters even more complicated, as Mandalay holds off paparazzi, sniffs out the underhanded doings of her conniving boss and begins to suspect her L.A. fiancé of philandering, she loses her heart to a blue-eyed country boy who's got a secret of his own. Wingate (Tending Roses) pens a light and entertaining story of life in a small town with Texas-sized charm. The narration alternates competently between Mandalay and her new ally, Imagene, a widow who discovers new life even as her 70th birthday looms. The novel's Christian themes are incorporated quietly, as characters grow in grace without melodramatic conversions or bedside confessions. Fans of Anne Dayton and May Vanderbilt's brand of engaging, contemporary chick lit will enjoy this story. (Feb.)Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Product Reviews

3.8 Stars Out Of 5
3.8 out of 5
(2)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(1)
Quality:
3.8 out Of 5
(3.8 out of 5)
Value:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
80%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 5
Page 1 of 1
  1. didi
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    1 Stars Out Of 5
    November 20, 2012
    didi
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 1
    Value: 1
    Meets Expectations: 1
    so boring. could not read half way. really tried but had to drop it.
  2. Ralph
    Washington, DC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    The product was a great read. I enjoyed it.
    October 15, 2012
    Ralph
    Washington, DC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I could not put the book down it was a good read. The book was humorous and a great romantic story.
  3. Esther
    Ontario
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Great story line.
    February 18, 2012
    Esther
    Ontario
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Loved the story. Portrays real life and the constant struggle of evil to paint good - black... God's grace is evident throughout.
  4. beverly Grider
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Feel good & laugh out loud funny
    July 17, 2011
    beverly Grider
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    What happens when a TV producer from the big city meets the small town Texas charm of the citizens of Daily, TX? A well written, exciting, and funny story that will have you laughing out loud one minute and wanting to write down inspirational passages the next.

    "Talk of the Town" is the zany story of a producer, her Swedish boss (the kind everyone loves to hate), an eclectic mix of town people and a talented young girl who deals with fame. Ms. Wingate tells the story in first person through the eyes of two of the main characters: Mandalay Florentino and Imagene Doll.

    This story draws you in and keeps you turning page after page. Ms. Wingate makes a good point about the ways God can make use of everyone's life, even with our flaws. She also touches on the way society looks at morality, and the way people should act toward each other according to the Golden Rule.

    I enjoyed Ms. Wingate's ability to weave life enhancing information throughout the story. Two sentences that really stayed with me, for example, were, "It's not your life Mandalay, it's just your job; there's a difference." And the other, "Quit fighting the sails & let the wind move the boat. Drift on faith for awhile."

    Being from Oklahoma, the Texas accents felt right at home and added to the authenticity of the story. All of the characters were believable and with Ms. Wingate's vivid descriptions, you felt as if you could sit right down in the cafe and become part of the town.

    I would really recommend this book to anyone. For more information on Lisa Wingate and her books, please visit her website, http://www.lisawingate.com/index.htm.
  5. Sharon M
    NC
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Laugh-Out-Loud Funny
    March 16, 2011
    Sharon M
    NC
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Very well written. So, so funny! I had to share this one with my teen-aged daughter. I'm going to be buying more books by this author.
Displaying items 1-5 of 5
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1 - eBookeBOOK
    A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1 - eBook
    Sarah Sundin
    Revell / 2010 / ePub
    $5.59 Retail: $6.99 Save 20% ($1.40)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 43 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW4355EB
  2. A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBookeBOOK
    A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
    Beth Moore
    B&H Books / 2010 / ePub
    $9.99
    5 Stars Out Of 5 9 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW6353EB
  3. Things Pondered: From the Heart of a Lesser Woman - eBookeBOOK
    Things Pondered: From the Heart of a Lesser Woman - eBook
    Beth Moore
    B&H Books / 2004 / ePub
    $9.99
    5 Stars Out Of 5 2 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW6964EB
  4. Breaking Free: Discover the Victory of Total Surrender - eBookeBOOK
    Breaking Free: Discover the Victory of Total Surrender - eBook
    Beth Moore
    B&H Books / 2007 / ePub
    $8.59 Retail: $9.99 Save 14% ($1.40)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 16 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW6350EB

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search