SuperSense: Why We Believe in The Unbelievable  -     By: Bruce M. Hood
Buy Item InStock13.49$13.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 10% ($1.50) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

SuperSense: Why We Believe in The Unbelievable

HarperOne / 2010 / Paperback

$13.49 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $14.99
|
Save 10% ($1.50)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW452659

Current Promotions
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.
  • Others Also Purchased (15)
Others Also Purchased (15)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $11.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $11.99
  2. In Stock
    $11.99
    Retail: $14.95
    Add To Cart
    $11.99
  3. In Stock
    $10.99
    Retail: $15.95
    Add To Cart
    $10.99

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 320
Vendor: HarperOne
Publication Date: 2010
Dimensions: 8.00 X 5.31 X 0.72 (inches)
ISBN: 0061452653
ISBN-13: 9780061452659
Availability: In Stock

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. God According to God
    God According to God
    Gerald Schroeder
    HarperOne / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW710162
  2. Questions of Truth: Fifty-one Responses to Questions About God, Science, and Belief
    Questions of Truth: Fifty-one Responses to Questions About God, Science, and Belief
    John Polkinghorne, Nicholas Beale
    Westminster John Knox Press / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $12.99 Retail: $20.00 Save 35% ($7.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW233518
  3. Christ and Evolution: Wonder and Wisdom
    Christ and Evolution: Wonder and Wisdom
    Celia Deane-Drummond
    Fortress Press / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $27.31
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW640132
  4. Is There a God? Revised Edition
    Is There a God? Revised Edition
    Richard Swinburne
    Oxford University Press / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.95 Save 20% ($2.96)
    3 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW580439

Related Products

  1. In Whom We Live and Move and Have Our Being
    In Whom We Live and Move and Have Our Being
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2004 / Trade Paperback
    $33.75 Retail: $37.50 Save 10% ($3.75)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW09786
  2. From Aristotle to Darwin and Back Again: A Journey in Final Causality, Species, and Evolution
    From Aristotle to Darwin and Back Again: A Journey in Final Causality, Species, and Evolution
    Etienne Gilson
    Ignatius Press / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $17.06 Retail: $18.95 Save 10% ($1.89)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW171698
  3. The Science of God: The Convergence of Scientific and Biblical Wisdom
    The Science of God: The Convergence of Scientific and Biblical Wisdom
    Gerald L. Schroeder
    Free Press / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $16.00 Save 38% ($6.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 2 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW129586
  4. I See Satan Fall Like Lightning
    I See Satan Fall Like Lightning
    Rene Girard
    Orbis Books / 2001 / Trade Paperback
    $15.99 Retail: $24.00 Save 33% ($8.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW53199

Publisher's Description

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

Author Bio

BRUCE HOOD is the author of The Science of Superstition and is one of the leading international authorities on child development and supernatural thinking in adults. He has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and has been a faculty member at UCL and Harvard and was a visiting scientist at MIT. He is currently the chair of developmental psychology at Bristol University in England and director of the Bristol Cognitive Development Centre. Born in Toronto, he now lives in Bristol, England.

Editorial Reviews

In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.
[A] fascinating, timely and important book. . . . Hood’s presentation of the science behind our supersense is crystal clear and utterly engaging.
Supersense is a terrifically fun read. But it is much more: though we may forever believe in ghosts, goblins and the beneficent deities, with a dose of skeptical scientific realism, a la Hood, there is hope that sanity will prevail.
“...a fun and illuminating book.”
“Hood’s treatise provides a much-needed counterbalance to hardcore skeptics by arguing that supersense, while not exactly grounded in rationality, ultimately gives our lives meaning.”
An intriguing look at a feature of the human mind that is subtle in its operation but profound in its consequences.
Reading SuperSense is like having lunch with your favorite professor--the conversation spans religion, biology, psychology, philosophy, and early childhood development. One thing is for sure, you’ll never see the world in the same way again.
In recent years, there has been a lot written about religion, superstition, and faith, but there has never been a book like this. . . SuperSense is a joy to read--beautifully written, deeply clever and funny, replete with brilliant insights and observations.
Dr. Hood, a world-class scholar in the field of cognitive science, explains the many weird and wonderful ways that we humans naturally view the world as ruled by supernatural phenomena. Bruce Hood’s SuperSense is sensational.
Read this beautifully written book, and you will lose some childhood innocence about how the world works. But, it will leave you wiser about yourself, and what it is to be human.
Magical thinking is a defining feature of the human mind – the source of all that is sublime and absurd about our species. In this timely exploration of the psychology of irrational belief Bruce Hood pulls off the rare feat of being both authoritative and wonderfully entertaining. Brilliant.
A compelling account of how beliefs in the supernatural world spring from the natural way our minds make sense of our experiences.
If we understood our own irrationality, and why so many people believe in ghosts, spirits, and invisible powers, then we might be able to improve the way we think. With quirkily fun examples and fascinating experiments Bruce Hood explains why we can’t always escape our Supersense.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search