Art of Spiritual War, The: An Inside Look at the Enemy's Battle Plan - eBook  -     By: Andrew Farley
Buy Item $8.89 Retail: $13.99 Save 36% ($5.10) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Art of Spiritual War, The: An Inside Look at the Enemy's Battle Plan - eBook

Baker Books / 2013 / ePub

$8.89 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $13.99
|
Save 36% ($5.10)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW46170EB

Current Promotions
* This product is available for purchase worldwide.

Read this eBook on:




Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Baker Books
Publication Date: 2013
ISBN: 9781441246295
ISBN-13: 9781441246295
Availability: In Stock

Publisher's Description

Bestselling author Andrew Farley takes readers on an imaginative journey through the enemy's plan of attack. This creative, modern-day parable exposes evangelical readers to the reality of the supernatural and equips them to do battle against the hidden--but very real--realm of Satan and his demonic forces. Now in paper.

Author Bio

Andrew Farley is the lead pastor of Ecclesia: Church without Religion and bestselling author of The Naked Gospel, God without Religion, Heaven Is Now, and The Hurt & The Healer. Andrew's writings have been featured by national news outlets such as PBS, ABC, and FOX, and his live call-in radio program airs nationwide on Sirius XM. Connect with Andrew on Facebook and Twitter (@DrAndrewFarley). Learn more at www.AndrewFarley.org.

Product Reviews

5 Stars Out Of 5
5 out of 5
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Value:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1
  1. Oak Harbor, WA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    finally, a book worthy of "Screwtape" in the title
    December 28, 2012
    bookwomanjoan
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Finally! A book worthy of Screwtape in the title!

    In the tradition of C. S. Lewis, Farley has crafted a book worthy of being called the sequel to The Screwtape Letters.

    This novel is a manual for training future deceivers from the realm below. This fictional manual contains everything a demon needs to know to keep Christians from living the life God has intended for them. Just like The Screwtape Letters, this book has a wealth of information for Christians regarding spiritual growth and how we are kept from growing.

    (For those unfamiliar with Lewis' work, this book is written from a demon's viewpoint, so the "Enemy" is Jesus or God.)

    Jesus said the thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy and that is the outline for this manual.

    I know of no other way to convey the excellence of this book than quoting some passages.

    "So despite the fact that he who is in them is greater than all of us combined, we still have one overwhelming advantage against the obtuse half-wits: many simply do not know what it means to possess the Life. They are not acquainted with the power and resources in them. Our best strategy is to occlude the Life from them, so their minds do not perceive his presence. This is effectively accomplished by means of distraction." (90-91)

    "Many of these stupid saints prefer to determine their spiritual condition through the lens of their own natural senses, lending more authority to them than to the Book itself, whenever the two appear to contradict." (99)

    "Their crucifixion with the One must go undetected. If many of them realize it as a literal and actual death and rebirth at the core of their being, it would be devastating to our cause." (109)

    "Grace. We shudder at the dreadful word scattered throughout the Book. A proper understanding of grace will render any patient nearly impervious to even our finest strategies." (128)

    "There is nothing more discouraging to us than a patient who serves the Enemy joyfully, from the heart, free of guilt or any sense of obligation." (149)

    This is a great book! It is cleverly written and contains a wealth of insight into the Christian life and how we are kept from being who God wants us to be. Read it and discuss it with your friends.

    Beware, Farley steps on some toes. But those toes need to be stepped on as they are on the feet of people who are doing exactly what the demons suggest.

    I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search