Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
    Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
    Eva Marie Everson
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.00 Save 20% ($3.01)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 11 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW734381
4.5 Stars Out Of 5
4.5 out of 5
(6)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Value:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.4 out Of 5
(4.4 out of 5)
91%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 6-10 of 11
Page 2 of 3 Previous 123 Next
  1. Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    June 21, 2013
    Rosie
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 2
    Not a favorite, but a sweet story nonetheless!

    I wasn't sure what I expected to find in Slow Moon Rising but what I found certainly wasn't the picture in my head. I had to force myself through the first few chapters and I struggled getting into the story, particularly when we kept changing point of view every few chapters. While I'm glad to say it got easier to read as I went, I never fully connected with any of the women aside from Ami. She's my not-so-secret favorite.

    I loved Eva's vivid descriptions and attention to detail in the setting. Anise's little hometown in Maine, Ami's world in Atlanta, and my favorite, Cedar Key, Florida came to life in my imagination. Eva also did a superb job making her characters as real as they come. Their struggles, their problems, and their lives are under no circumstances perfect.

    Slow Moon Rising is the third and final in the Cedar Key series. I haven't read the earlier books yet, but it didn't seem to take away from the story. If I had read the previous books, some things in the story might have made more sense. I don't recommend this book to younger teens. This novel is definitely more on the adult woman's side of the spectrum--something I didn't know when I requested the book.

    Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
  2. New Mexico
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    A Relaxing Summer Read
    June 20, 2013
    AlyciaMorales
    New Mexico
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    If you're looking for a relaxing summer read, Eva Marie Everson provides just that with Slow Moon Rising.

    Once again we join the Claybourne family, this time visiting the four sisters (Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami) and their step-mother, Anise. The family is hiding a secret, and one daughter in particular wants to know the truth behind the lies and the cover ups.

    As always, Eva Marie provides a compelling story that brings the reader straight into the written world. Slow Moon Rising may be a meandering read, but that doesn't mean it isn't worth turning the pages. Just as it takes time to reveal any family secret in the real world, the truth slowly rises throughout the novel.

    This is definitely a beach read, especially if you'll be visiting Cedar Key.
  3. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    A Great Summer Read!
    June 18, 2013
    Pamela Meyers
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    I have been reading Eva Marie Everson's Cedar Key series of novels since she began writing them, and have loved each one. A good author friend of mine told me about Cedar Key, Florida many years ago and made it sound so delightful I was ready to jump on the next plane and plant myself there to do nothing but write. But, so far I've not yet made the trip. At least by reading this series, I've been able to vicariously enjoy the setting through Eva Marie's wonderful characters.

    I jumped at the chance to review her latest -- Slow Moon Rising. But when it arrived I was in the middle of a number of writing projects and other things and had to put the book on my to-be-read pile. When I realized a few days ago that the blog tour was this week, I made myself take time to start reading and I'm better than halfway through it. I only wish I could just sit for a whole day and do nothing but read. It's that good!

    The only complaint I have is that the first couple chapters were a little too slow-paced for my taste. But having read many of Everson's books, I had faith that the pacing would pick up, and it did. If you find this small nit-picky point to be the case with you, hang in there because the best is yet to be!

    Note that I received a complementary copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes. All opinions are my own.
  4. Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A book with the pull and currents of a river...
    June 18, 2013
    Sufficient in Jesus
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    The luscious cover on this book is what first caught my attention, the family epic inside is what held it.

    Slow Moon Rising does not falter once through all its 376 pages of story.

    I am left wondering: who is the woman in white alone on this sunset beach? It could be any of the women whose stories are revealed inside the cover...

    It could be Anise, who fell in love with a newly widowed man over 20 years her senior. She married Ross Claybourne, and grew to love his four daughters even they rejected her and resented her place in their father's life.

    The woman could be Kimberly, the Clayburne's eldest daughter, with her two sons and her broken heart...

    Or she could be Jayme-Leigh, the next girl, who became a physician like her father.

    She could be Heather, who may understand better than anyone what their mother Joan went through...

    Or she could be Ami, the youngest Claybourne, whose story is achingly sad with the potential to be stunningly beautiful. Ami, who carried a secret for the longest time.

    The woman in white might even be Rosa, a woman who lives in Cedar Key and who is part of this story in a way the four daughters never expected her to be.

    These are the women of this book, all of whom experience both wounding and the beginning of healing.

    This novel is a tapestry, woven full of experiences that make up life, events and changes and trials that every woman has encountered at some time in her pilgrimage on earth. I think the phrase "a book like a river" describes this one well. There are many currents under the suface, all braiding together, there is a journey that the story is taking, and the pull of the flowing writing sweeps you away. Yes, a river is a good metaphor for this book.

    I like the way that the point of view transitions from one woman to another through the chapters, so as you read you are allowed to see inside their world and to look out with their eyes.

    As I read Slow Moon Rising I found that I really cared about all of the women here...I am so glad I got to meet them!

    Thank you Eva Marie and Revell for this book!

    **Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.**
  5. Tampa, FL
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    One of My Favorites!
    June 16, 2013
    Sally
    Tampa, FL
    This is without a doubt one of my favorite novels! How I hated to have it end. Complex characters are written so well that their experiences could be true.

    The story is told from the first-person viewpoint of five different Claybourne women. Rather than the usual way of repeating the same scene over and over from a different angle; therefore, the timeline advances down through the years as each person shares. The novel begins in the year 2000 and concludes with the current day. I loved piecing the story together. I did not want to to put this one down as long-kept family secrets are revealed.

    Here is your summer read. Don't miss this compelling Christian novel.

    Thank you to Donna Hausler for my copy. Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Displaying items 6-10 of 11
Page 2 of 3 Previous 123 Next