A Simpler Winter, Seasons of Lancaster County Series #1   -     By: Rosalind Lauer
Buy Item $10.99 Retail: $15.00 Save 27% ($4.01) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

A Simpler Winter, Seasons of Lancaster County Series #1

Ballantine Books / 2011 / Paperback

$10.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $15.00
|
Save 27% ($4.01)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW526717

Current Promotions

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 408
Vendor: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: 2011
Dimensions: 8.00 X 5.00 (inches)
ISBN: 0345526716
ISBN-13: 9780345526717
Availability: In Stock
Series: Seasons of Lancaster County

Related Products

  1. Katie's Way, Pleasant Valley Series #5
    Katie's Way, Pleasant Valley Series #5
    Marta Perry
    Berkley Trade / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.00 Save 22% ($3.01)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 7 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW243220
  2. The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
    The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
    Beverly Lewis
    Bethany House / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 80% ($12.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 43 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW206016
    Video
  3. The Wonder of Your Love, Land of Canaan Series #2
    The Wonder of Your Love, Land of Canaan Series #2
    Beth Wiseman
    Thomas Nelson / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $11.49 Retail: $15.99 Save 28% ($4.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 31 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW548863
  4. The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
    The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
    Suzanne Woods Fisher
    Revell / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 40% ($6.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 29 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW719871

Publisher's Description

THE PROMISE OF A HOME,
THE HEARTBREAK OF AN IMPOSSIBLE LOVE
 
As a budding journalist with a major newspaper, Remy McCallister is eager to prove herself. While investigating an unsolved crime, Remy winds up in the tightly woven Amish community of Lancaster County, the last place she would ever expect to find herself. The story leads her to Adam King and his ten younger siblings, who are trying to sustain their warm, loving home in the wake of the murder of their parents. Although Remy tries to remain professional, she is captivated by the Kings. With her own mother gone and her father disengaged from their relationship, Remy longs for a home and a family just like that of these good, simple people.

Suddenly patriarch of his large family, Adam struggles to do the right thing for his siblings, his community, and his God. He neither wants nor needs the complications that spirited Remy brings. But as much as he tries to push her away, even as he counts all the ways this lovely outsider cannot possibly remain in his world—or in his heart—the wondrous light she shines upon his troubled soul cannot be denied. Adam can only pray for the strength and the faith to get this Englisher girl out of their lives for good.

Snowbound with the Kings, Remy experiences the wonder and the chores of a simple winter among the Plain People, as well as the friendship of their warm community. When her peaceful interlude ends, does she dare to reveal a killer in their midst, knowing that she may lose the love of this special family and this remarkable man?

Editorial Reviews

"This book has it all: faith and family, mystery and inspiration.  You won't want to put it down.  I loved every word."—Debbie Macomber
 
"A promising start to a new series. The homespun feel and clash of cultures is sure to appeal to fans of Beverly Lewis and Mindy Starns Clark."—Library Journal

"Readers looking for a chaste and cozy fireside read will enjoy the leisurely pace as Lauer delves into the placid lives and unwavering faith of the Amish."—Publishers Weekly 
 
"Enjoy a story of warm romance, mystery and faith in A Simple Winter by Rosalind Lauer. This is a simple and sweet story of family and faith set amid the Amish life. Those looking for a cozy romance should look no further." –Parkersburg News & Sentinel 

"You could call this book a spiritual romantic suspense but I would call it just plain good."—Night Owl Reviews
 
"As intricately and uniquely developed as a dazzling snowflake, the very talented Rosalind Lauer has crafted a fascinating tale of unsolved murder, romance and community that immediately pulls you deep into this inspiring story right from the get go to its very moving and satisfying conclusion. Lauer sets out a complex and layered tale that is totally captivating and definitely sets the bar high for Amish romance stories….A SIMPLE WINTER is a wonderful reading treat you definitely will not want to miss!"—Fresh Fiction
 
"A wonderful story…Sharp characterization and a little bit of mystery color the pages in a novel that you will not put down or soon forget."—Romance Reviews Today
 
"A heartwarming tale . . . Ms. Lauer demonstrates that life holds no bounds, and though there are obstacles, if something is destined to be . . . it will be."—Reader to Reader

Product Reviews

5 Stars Out Of 5
5 out of 5
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Value:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1
  1. Deborha Mitchell
    Redding, CA
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A great read!
    December 13, 2012
    Deborha Mitchell
    Redding, CA
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Review for A SIMPLE WINTER by Rosalind Lauer

    "Forgiveness is like a three-pronged fork. There's forgiveness from the person you wronged. Forgiveness from God. And then, you've got to forgive yourself."

    This quote from the book tells it all. This is a lovely story about love and forgiveness. I admit that I really haven't read many books about the Amish, but this book makes me want to read more about them. A simple life, yet a hard life......

    Rosalind Lauer did a wonderful job bringing her characters to life. I felt the hurt, the love, the warmth of the King home.......so inviting. Adam and Remy's story is one that will stay with you for a long time; the whole King family will stir up emotions inside you.

    I encourage you to read this book if you are struggling with hurt and forgiveness. Or if you simply want to steal away to a simpler way of life and enjoy watching the King story unfold. Guaranteed to please, no matter the reason for reading it.

    I give it a big thumb's up!
  2. shoppermar
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    January 12, 2012
    shoppermar
    Quality: 5
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I just finished this book. The characters are real. Wanted more about Remy and Adam. The story is romantic but also a mystery. I loved it and can't wait untill the next book comes out. I know the second book is about Adams sister Sadie. So I hope the third book will be about Adam and Remy getting married and having babies.
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Reckless Heart
    Reckless Heart
    Amy Clipston
    Zondervan / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $8.19 Retail: $9.99 Save 18% ($1.80)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 14 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW719847
  2. The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
    The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
    Cindy Woodsmall
    WaterBrook Press / 2012 / Hardcover
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 37 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW446558
  3. A Simple Spring, Seasons of Lancaster County Series #2
    A Simple Spring, Seasons of Lancaster County Series #2
    Rosalind Lauer
    Ballantine Books / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.00 Save 20% ($3.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW526731
  4. Child of Mine
    Child of Mine
    David Lewis, Beverly Lewis
    Bethany House / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 35 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW212543

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Christianbook.com Search