Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Shattered, Alaskan Courage Series #2
    Shattered, Alaskan Courage Series #2
    Dani Pettrey
    Bethany House / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 74 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW209833
    Video
4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
(46)
(25)
(2)
(1)
(0)
Quality:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
96%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 16-20 of 74
Page 4 of 15 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last
  1. Canada
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: Female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Quirky characters ― what fun!
    June 7, 2013
    GC
    Canada
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: Female
    Meets Expectations: 3
    Shattered came as welcomed as a cool breeze, refreshing this reader and transporting her to Alaska, after days of knowing hot temperatures. It was nothing but a pleasure to get reacquainted with the McKennas. Most delightful is their bantering. Piper's and Landon's that is. I enjoyed journeying with them through the ups and downs and some of their scenes just left me grinning silly.

    I'd say Pettrey's characterization abilities mature with this one. Gruff and overly protective, with a bit of a boyish appeal, Landon constantly clashes with a stubborn yet also caring and vulnerable, Piper, which creates quite an interesting picture. Other characters hold important roles in the story: Bailey and Cole; Darcy and Gage ― whose relationship also evolve; Kayden and Jake, the former a character portrayed and highlighted as a very intriguing man, leaving me to anticipate the release of his story (with Kayden in it as the heroine, hopefully...)

    Good things in this one, really! That being said, there are some things that hindered me from rewarding it with higher than 4 stars. I couldn't help but notice them.

    First, during the second-half of the story, I found that the story dragged on, due to three things that stand out. A big red herring suddenly looms as the characters are knee-deep into their adventure, which shifts the direction of the story considerably. Then there's the lack of suspense, which is more of a remark then a complaint on my part, since I am absolutely not a fan of too much suspense in a story, but more suspense would have helped in keeping me on the edge of my seat. And the third is that Piper and Landon's romance blossoms a bit too quickly, considering the novel's length. Also, there are some slightly awkward moments in the family, in my opinion.

    But the good aspects of this novel trump on the less positive ones because I am still interested in the Alaskan Courage series. Probably my favorite scene in it happens toward the end of the story. With no intention to spoil anything for anyone, I'll just say that it involves moving it to the next level. I JUST SQUEALED as fresh awareness that this was truly happening between Landon and Piper coursed through me. Oh, delightful! Simply delightful. Also delightful is the way Gage and Darcy depart from each other... their story can't come quickly enough after that scene.

    To those of you considering this read, sit yourself comfortably because you're in for a ride!

    Good job, Dani.
  2. Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    June 6, 2013
    Janna
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Great book! Love the series and can't wait to have the whole series in my home!
  3. Alaska
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Alaskan mystery #2
    May 31, 2013
    Alaskamom
    Alaska
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Shattered was a well written 2nd book in the series. It referenced the first book, but it didn't repeat a lot. I appreciated the characters staying true to form until heart changes were made, and family sticking together in hard times.

    I enjoyed Shattered more than Submerged (#1). There were a few parts I thought were a bit too drawn out, but overall the book was good.

    In the books defense, I missed the part of these books being labeled 'romantic suspense'. I wouldn't have chosen to read them had I looked at the label before reading the first one (now I have to finish the series). I tried to look past those parts since I tend to have a low tolerance for romance & suspense isn't high on my like list.

    Disclaimer: I did receive a free copy of Submerged & Shattered from Bethany House for review.
  4. Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Great Read
    May 17, 2013
    Lucy
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    I really enjoyed Shattered. I thought it was a book that hooked you right at the beginning and kept your attention throughout. I enjoyed the plot and the characters, but my mom, on the other hand thought the romance in the book was super cheesy. I guess I just kinda skimmed through those parts and didn't notice. This was the first book I had read by Dani Pettrey so after I finished Shattered, I went to my local library to pick up a copy of Submerged, the first book in the Alaskan Courage series. Much to my disappointment, Submerged was not near as intriguing as Shattered. I couldn't even make it past the first few chapters. But I can't wait for the next book in the series; It looks really good.
  5. Raleigh, NC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Can't wait to read the next one!
    May 14, 2013
    Carol Gehringer
    Raleigh, NC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Dani Pettrey returns with another contemporary suspense novel set in the Alaskan wilderness, and continuing the story of the McKenna family.

    In Shattered, Reef McKenna returns to Yancy, Alaska after an absence of five years. His sister Piper is delighted until he shows up on her doorstep covered in blood. While circumstantial evidence points to Reef for the murder of a fellow snowboarder, Piper believes her brother when he swears he is innocent.

    Meanwhile Deputy Landon Grainger, a lifelong friend to the McKenna family, is determined to find the facts, especially as the details of snowboarder's life points to a life of mystery. They discover that the snowboarder, a mobster's daughter, was once in the Witness Protection program, and dated a guy involved in top-secret biotech research, any of which could have been the reason she was killed. While they try to sort out the leads, Reef is charged with the snowboarder's murder. As Landon and Piper race to find out the truth, they plunge headlong into Alaska's backcountry, their changing relationship, and the real killer who will do anything to bury the facts and possibly, them.

    Pettrey has done it again, writing a cleverly-crafted mystery with romance, adventure, rich character development, and spine-tingling suspense. Her characters are imperfect - they struggle with faith and relationship issues, and yet, they endear themselves to the reader because of this. It was sad to read the last page of Shattered because it meant leaving behind people I enjoyed spending time with. Hopefully, Ms. Pettrey will return with another book in this series.

    Fans of Dee Henderson, Irene Hanson, and other Christian suspense writers will not be disappointed by this series.

    Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thanks to the publisher for an advance copy of this book.
Displaying items 16-20 of 74
Page 4 of 15 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last