Sarah, Plain and Tall, Softcover   -     By: Patricia MacLachlan
Buy Item $3.49 Retail: $5.99 Save 42% ($2.50) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $5.99 eBook Details

Sarah, Plain and Tall, Softcover

HarperCollins / 1987 / Paperback

$3.49 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $5.99
|
Save 42% ($2.50)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW0205X

Current Promotions

Product Description

The year is 1910. Sarah Wheaton answers an add for a mail-order bride placed by a Kansas farmer named Jacob Witting---a widower whose family still grieves their mother's death. But Sarah wins their lonely hearts with her nurturing ways and her warm stories of her home in Maine---and they heal her homesickness with a quiet acceptance of her help and, eventually, her love. Recommended for ages 8 to 12. The 1986 Newbery Medal winner.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Vendor: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 1987
Dimensions: 5 1/4 X 7 1/2 X 1/4 (inches)
ISBN: 0064402053
ISBN-13: 9780064402057
Availability: In Stock
Ages: 8-12

Related Products

  1. Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover
    Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover
    Patricia MacLachlan
    Joanna Cotler / 1985 / Hardcover
    $12.49 Retail: $16.99 Save 26% ($4.50)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW241012
  2. Caleb's Story
    Caleb's Story
    Patricia MacLachlan
    HarperCollins / 2002 / Trade Paperback
    $5.49 Retail: $5.99 Save 8% ($0.50)
    Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/07/15.
    CBD Stock No: WW05905
  3. Ella Enchanted
    Ella Enchanted
    Gail Carson Levine
    HarperCollins / 1998 / Trade Paperback
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 5 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW07055
  4. Forge
    Forge
    Laurie Halse Anderson
    Simon & Schuster / 2010 / Hardcover
    $15.29 Retail: $16.99 Save 10% ($1.70)
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW961444

Publisher's Description

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Author Bio

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, including Sarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers include Arthur, For the Very First Time; The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt; Skylark; Caleb's Story; More Perfect Than the Moon; Grandfather's Dance; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; and The Truth of Me. She is also the author of many much-loved picture books, including Three Names; All the Places to Love; What You Know First; Painting the Wind; Bittle; Who Loves Me?; Once I Ate a Pie; I Didn't Do It; Before You Came; and Cat Talk, several of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives with her husband and two border terriers in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Exploring Creation with Chemistry and Physics
    Exploring Creation with Chemistry and Physics
    Jeannie Fulbright
    Apologia Educational Ministries / 2013 / Hardcover
    $25.99 Retail: $39.00 Save 33% ($13.01)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 13 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW495401
  2. Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 3A US Edition
    Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 3A US Edition
    Singaporemath.com Inc / Trade Paperback
    $11.80
    5 Stars Out Of 5 9 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW185046
  3. Caddie Woodlawn's Family
    Caddie Woodlawn's Family
    Carol Ryrie Brink
    Simon & Schuster / Trade Paperback
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW714160
  4. Number the Stars
    Number the Stars
    Lois Lowry
    Sandpiper / Trade Paperback
    $4.49 Retail: $6.99 Save 36% ($2.50)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 4 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW577090

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search