Sarah, Plain and Tall, Softcover   -     By: Patricia MacLachlan
Buy Item $3.49 Retail: $5.99 Save 42% ($2.50) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Sarah, Plain and Tall, Softcover

HarperCollins / 1987 / Paperback

$3.49 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $5.99
|
Save 42% ($2.50)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW0205X

Current Promotions

Product Description

The year is 1910. Sarah Wheaton answers an add for a mail-order bride placed by a Kansas farmer named Jacob Witting---a widower whose family still grieves their mother's death. But Sarah wins their lonely hearts with her nurturing ways and her warm stories of her home in Maine---and they heal her homesickness with a quiet acceptance of her help and, eventually, her love. Recommended for ages 8 to 12. The 1986 Newbery Medal winner.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Vendor: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 1987
Dimensions: 5 1/4 X 7 1/2 X 1/4 (inches)
ISBN: 0064402053
ISBN-13: 9780064402057
Availability: In Stock
Ages: 8-12

Related Products

  1. Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover
    Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover
    Patricia MacLachlan
    Joanna Cotler / 1985 / Hardcover
    $11.49 Retail: $16.99 Save 32% ($5.50)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW241012
  2. Caleb's Story
    Caleb's Story
    Patricia MacLachlan
    HarperCollins / 2002 / Trade Paperback
    $4.49 Retail: $5.99 Save 25% ($1.50)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW05905
  3. Ella Enchanted
    Ella Enchanted
    Gail Carson Levine
    HarperCollins / 1998 / Trade Paperback
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 5 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW07055
  4. Forge
    Forge
    Laurie Halse Anderson
    Simon & Schuster / 2010 / Hardcover
    $15.29 Retail: $16.99 Save 10% ($1.70)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW961444

Publisher's Description

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Author Bio

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, including Sarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers include Arthur, For the Very First Time; The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt; Skylark; Caleb's Story; More Perfect Than the Moon; Grandfather's Dance; Word After Word After Word; and Kindred Souls. She is also the author of many much-loved picture books, including Three Names; All the Places to Love; What You Know First; Painting the Wind; Bittle; Who Loves Me?; Once I Ate a Pie; I Didn't Do It; Before You Came; and Cat Talk—several of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives with her husband and two border terriers in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. The Mortification of Sin: Dealing with sin in your life
    The Mortification of Sin: Dealing with sin in your life
    John Owen
    Christian Heritage / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $10.99 Save 18% ($2.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW509770
  2. The Berenstain Bears' Kitten Rescue
    The Berenstain Bears' Kitten Rescue
    Jan Berenstain, Mike Berenstain
    ZonderKidz / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $3.99 Save 25% ($1.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 7 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW720973
  3. Deep & Wide: Creating Churches Unchurched People Love to Attend
    Deep & Wide: Creating Churches Unchurched People Love to Attend
    Andy Stanley
    Zondervan / 2012 / Hardcover
    $14.99 Retail: $24.99 Save 40% ($10.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 15 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW494843
    Video
  4. Love Finds You in Calico, California
    Love Finds You in Calico, California
    Elizabeth Ludwig
    Summerside Press / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 4 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW360010

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search