Buy Item InStock12.99$12.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 24% ($4.00) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover

HarperCollins / 1985 / Hardcover

$12.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $16.99
|
Save 24% ($4.00)
Buy 48 or more for $12.34 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW241012

Current Promotions
  • Others Also Purchased (15)
Others Also Purchased (15)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $4.99
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    $4.99
  2. In Stock
    $3.99
    Retail: $7.00
    Add To Cart
    $3.99
  3. In Stock
    $6.29
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.29
  4. In Stock
    $37.49
    Retail: $62.99
    Add To Cart
    $37.49
  5. In Stock
    $4.99
    Retail: $5.99
    Add To Cart
    $4.99
  6. In Stock
    $4.99
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    $4.99
  7. In Stock
    $13.99
    Retail: $17.99
    Add To Cart
    $13.99
  8. In Stock
    $5.39
    Retail: $5.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.39
  9. In Stock
    $3.99
    Retail: $5.99
    Add To Cart
    $3.99
  10. In Stock
    $20.99
    Retail: $24.95
    Add To Cart
    $20.99
  11. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  12. In Stock
    $17.09
    Retail: $18.99
    Add To Cart
    $17.09
  13. In Stock
    $15.29
    Retail: $16.99
    Add To Cart
    $15.29
  14. In Stock
    $1.79
    Retail: $3.99
    Add To Cart
    $1.79

Product Description

Caleb doesn't remember Mama, who died a day after he was born. But his older sister, Anna, says papa and Mama sang "every-single-day." Now papa doesn't sing at all. Papa places an ad in the newspaper for a wife and he receives an answer from a woman named Sarah, who lives in Maine. Caleb wants to know if Sarah snores. Anna wants to know if Sarah can braid hair and make stew and - most important of all- if she sings. Sarah writes, "I will come by train. I will wear a yellow bonnet. I am plain and tall." And so Caleb, Anna, and Papa wait. Sarah comes in the spring with her cat, whom she calls Seal because she is gray like the seals that swim in the sea near her home. Everyone hopes she will stay. But Sarah misses the sea, her brother, and the "three old aunts who all squawk together like crows at dawn." When Sarah takes the wagon to town alone, Caleb and Anna worry. What happens tells much about happiness and hope, and what it is that makes a family. Recommended for ages 8 to 12. The 1986 Newbery Medal winner.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 58
Vendor: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 1985
Dimensions: 8.33 X 5.65 X 0.46 (inches)
ISBN: 0060241012
ISBN-13: 9780060241018
Availability: In Stock
Ages: 8-12

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. The Bronze Bow, Paperback
    The Bronze Bow, Paperback
    Elizabeth George Speare
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt / 1997 / Trade Paperback
    $4.99 Retail: $7.99 Save 38% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 8 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW137195
  2. Mr Popper's Penguins
    Mr Popper's Penguins
    Richard Atwater, Florence Atwater
    Little, Brown and Company / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $7.00 Save 43% ($3.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW058438
  3. The Hundred Dresses
    The Hundred Dresses
    Eleanor Estes
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt / Trade Paperback
    $6.29 Retail: $7.99 Save 21% ($1.70)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW2052607
  4. Little House on the Prairie, 9 Vols., slipcased
    Little House on the Prairie, 9 Vols., slipcased
    Laura Ingalls Wilder
    HarperCollins / 1989 / Trade Paperback
    $37.49 Retail: $62.99 Save 40% ($25.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 10 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW44004

Related Products

  1. Sarah, Plain and Tall Study Guide on CDROM
    Sarah, Plain and Tall Study Guide on CDROM
    Progeny Press / Compact disc
    $13.99 Retail: $17.99 Save 22% ($4.00)
    Availability: Expected to ship on or about 09/28/16.
    CBD Stock No: WW095505

Publisher's Description

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Author Bio

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, including Sarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers include Arthur, For the Very First Time; The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt; Skylark; Caleb’s Story; More Perfect than the Moon; Grandfather’s Dance; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; and The Truth of Me; she is also the author of countless beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search