Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBookeBOOK
    Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
    David Thomas
    Tyndale House / 2010 / ePub
    $8.84 Retail: $14.99 Save 41% ($6.15)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 10 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW19675EB
4.4 Stars Out Of 5
4.4 out of 5
(7)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(0)
Quality:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Value:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.3 out Of 5
(4.3 out of 5)
90%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 10
Page 1 of 2 12 Next
  1. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    Great book, especially for football players!
    February 11, 2011
    Vikki
    Quality: 5
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    I bought this book for a 23 year old male who had a full ride to a Virginia college to play football. He got very sick just before leaving in the fall and decided to turn down the scholarship. He regrets it every day. His family was furious with him. Recently his family moved to Texas. He was left here homeless and vehicle-less. We took him in and he read this book in 4 days. He hasn't read anything since High School. He said it made such an impact on him especially since all his family is in (and from) Texas. Said it gave him an entirely new perspective on the game, the fame, and his life. He said "READ it!"
  2. Canada
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Great Book for Grade Eight Graduation
    February 3, 2011
    Momof4
    Canada
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Okay, I am not usually a football fan. But when I had the opportunity to review this book from Tyndale Publishers, I jumped at the chance...because I have two boys in my home that do love football.

    After reading the back cover...I was hooked. Remember WHY You Play, by David Thomas is not just a book about football. It is a book about living out your christian life. The coach in this book is inspiring, he teaches the kids both football and faith IN ACTION. If you have a teen aged son, who just happens to be interested in football, get them this book.

    This is a great book for a grade eight graduation...this book will inspire..it will challenge and it will teach kids to believe. Excellent book!

    Thank you to Tyndale Publishers for providing me with this copy for purpose of review. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.
  3. 2 Stars Out Of 5
    Disappointing
    December 15, 2010
    i blog 4 books
    Based on the back of the book (which had me tearing up within minutes of getting the book out of the mailbox!), I expected this book to be about an amazing high school football team with an amazing coach who was ultimately trying to teach kids life lessons and biblical truths that were more important than just playing sports. The back of the book describes an incredible game against a team of boys from a youth detention center. With no one to cheer them on, the coach asked parents of his players to "switch sides" for the night and cheer by name for the other team's players. The author, however, spends the majority of the book talking about the games leading up to a much-deserved championship game. It's obvious that the coach understands that there are greater things in life than football and uses his opportunity to influence his players to develop godly character. While I enjoy watching sports, the writing is a bit technical for my taste - talking about all the ins and outs of different plays and practice techniques. As much as I wanted to like this book, it fell a little flat for me. It was just different than I expected and only gave one chapter at the end to the story described on the book jacket.

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
  4. Singapore
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    Good book for sports people
    December 5, 2010
    thesheep
    Singapore
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    Quality: 3
    Value: 3
    Meets Expectations: 3
    "Remember why you play" is about a football team, Faith Christian Lions and their coach. The book started off with a defeated Faith Christian Lions in the previous season, and described how the team trained hard under their coach, to achieve success.

    I was in a canoe team once. My coach was rather fanatical about canoe-ing. He insisted that I train on Sundays and not go to church; otherwise, he'd take me off the competition team. "Fine! Take me off the list," I said.

    This book is testimony that success need not be achieved through giving up values and principles. It highlights principles such as character, discipline, and teamwork. I recommend it for sportsmen, sportswomen, people who have a competitive personality, coaches, and parents.
  5. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    An Inspirational tale of Faith and Football
    November 25, 2010
    Paula Phillips
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Review : Remember Why you Play ? Faith, Football and a Season to Believe- David Thomas - October 2010

    Who enjoys films like Gridiron Gang , Forever Strong , The Longest Yard and TV Shows like Friday Night Lights ? . Remember Why you Play ? is for all those fans of the above inspirational though Longest Yard is a tad more comical movies. Remember Why you Play? takes us on a journey back to the year November 2008 when Faith Christian School opened their hearts and home base up to the lives of those at Gainesville State School - a maxi security correctional facility.

    As we know by watching the movies , it starts with a coach at the correctional facility trying to give their boys something to work for and a rewarding experience of working as a team. In November 2008, the season of Football was finishing up , when Kris Hogan of Faith Christian School had an idea , why not invite the Gainesville Correctional school to play against their team the Tornadoes. For Gainesville , they had never ever won a game or scored rarely a touchdown and in this final game , they scored two touchdowns. Though this isn't what makes Remember Why you Play? such a touching story that in the end had my eyes watering. It was the fact that the coach Kris Hogan had organised half of his Tornadoes families and fans to sit on the benches for the team of Gainesville and cheer for them. For most of the kids on the team, they had never had anyone encourage them or praise them using their own names , some never had any encouragement.

    This tale is so inspiring and it goes to show that a little effort can make a huge difference in somebody else's life even if we don't realise the huge impact.
Displaying items 1-5 of 10
Page 1 of 2 12 Next