Buy Item InStock8.19$8.19 Retail: $9.99 Save 18% ($1.80) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $9.99 eBook Details

#1: Redwall: Where Legends Are Made--A Tale of Redwood

Illustrated By: Gary Chalk
Penguin Books / Paperback

$8.19 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $9.99
|
Save 18% ($1.80)
Buy 36 or more for $7.78 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW302378

FLASH-SALE
  • Other Formats (5)
  • Others Also Purchased (15)
  • In This Series (16)
Other Formats (5)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. Expected to ship on or about 09/06/16.
    $17.99
    Retail: $23.99
    Add To Cart
    $17.99
  2. In Stock
    $9.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $9.99
  3. Expected to ship on or about 09/07/16.
    $8.49
    Retail: $12.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.49
  4. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  5. In Stock
    $6.29
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.29
Others Also Purchased (15)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.99
  2. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.99
  3. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  4. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  5. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  6. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.99
  7. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  8. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  9. In Stock
    $14.99
    Retail: $24.99
    Add To Cart
    $14.99
  10. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  11. In Stock
    $6.29
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.29
  12. In Stock
    $6.29
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.29
  13. In Stock
    $6.29
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.29
  14. In Stock
    $12.99
    Retail: $14.98
    Add To Cart
    $12.99
  15. In Stock
    $6.29
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
    $6.29
In This Series (16)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $8.09
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.09
  2. In Stock
    $8.09
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.09
  3. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.99
  4. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  5. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.99
  6. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  7. In Stock
    $8.09
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.09
  8. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  9. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  10. In Stock
    $8.19
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.19
  11. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  12. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  13. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  14. In Stock
    $7.19
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.19
  15. In Stock
    $8.09
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.09
  16. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $9.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.99

Product Description

The book that kicked off the phenomenon is now reissued with brandnew jacket art in honor of its 20th anniversary. Readers will delight anew in the thrilling adventures of young Matthias as he discovers the hero within. Brian Jacques' classic tale of peaceful creatures forced to band together in battle has never felt more timely or full of life.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 352
Vendor: Penguin Books
Dimensions: 7.74 X 5.12 X 0.95 (inches)
ISBN: 0142302376
ISBN-13: 9780142302378
Availability: In Stock
Ages: 10-12
Series: Tale of Redwall

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. #2: Mossflower: A Tale of Redwall
    #2: Mossflower: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Books / Trade Paperback
    $5.99 Retail: $9.99 Save 40% ($4.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW302385
  2. #3: Mattimeo: A Tale of Redwall
    #3: Mattimeo: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin / 2003 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $9.99 Save 10% ($1.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW02408
  3. #4: Mariel of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    #4: Mariel of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin / 2003 / Trade Paperback
    $8.19 Retail: $9.99 Save 18% ($1.80)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW02394
  4. #8: Outcast of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    #8: Outcast of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin / 2004 / Trade Paperback
    $7.19 Retail: $8.99 Save 20% ($1.80)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW401420

Related Products

  1. #2: Mossflower: A Tale of Redwall
    #2: Mossflower: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Books / Trade Paperback
    $5.99 Retail: $9.99 Save 40% ($4.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW302385
  2. #3: Mattimeo: A Tale of Redwall
    #3: Mattimeo: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin / 2003 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $9.99 Save 10% ($1.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW02408
  3. #4: Mariel of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    #4: Mariel of Redwall: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Puffin / 2003 / Trade Paperback
    $8.19 Retail: $9.99 Save 18% ($1.80)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW02394
  4. #5: Salamandastron: A Tale of Redwall
    #5: Salamandastron: A Tale of Redwall
    Brian Jacques
    Penguin Books / Trade Paperback
    $8.19 Retail: $9.99 Save 18% ($1.80)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW501528

Publisher's Description

Perfect for fans of C. Alexander London's The Wild Ones, and Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH.

The question in this first volume is resoundingly clear: What can the peace-loving mice of Redwall Abbey do to defend themselves against Cluny the Scourge and his battle-seasoned army of rats? If only they had the sword of Martin the Warrior, they might have a chance. But the legendary weapon has long been forgotten-except, that is, by the bumbling young apprentice Matthias, who becomes the unlikeliest of heroes. Teeming with riddles, humor, unforgettable characters, and high-bounding adventure, the original Redwall, the launching point for a series that has captured the world's attention, features seven full-color illustrations by renowned illustrator Troy Howell. This new paperback edition is a must-have for both longtime fans and first-time readers.

Author Bio

"I sometimes think it ironic for an ex-seaman, longshoreman, truck driver, policeman, bus driver, etc., to find success writing children's novels," said Brian Jacques (pronounced "Jakes"). Yet it is all too true. With the publication of his first children's book in 1987, the award-winning Redwall, Jacques' fresh talent has received exceptional praise from reviewers in the United States and England. Newbery Award winner Lloyd Alexander called it "a fine work, literate, witty, filled with the excitement of genuine storytelling. Young people will surely be captivated. I hope they give their elders a chance to share the delights."

A well-known radio personality in his native Liverpool--as well as an actor, stand-up comic, and playwright--Brian Jacques was the host of "Jakestown" on BBC Radio Merseyside. Ever the performer, Jacques was well-known for applying his acting and entertainment background to his lively presentations to legions of young fans at schools across the United States and England.

Brian Jacques was born in Liverpool, England on June 15th, 1939. Along with forty percent of the population of Liverpool, his ancestral roots are in Ireland, County Cork to be exact.

He grew up in the area around the Liverpool docks. His interest in adventure stories began at an early age with reading the books of: Daniel Defoe, Sir Henry Rider Haggard, Arthur Conan Doyle, Sir Thomas Malory, Robert Michael Ballantyne, Robert Louis Stevenson, Edgar Rice Burroughs, and Kenneth Grahame. He attended St. John's School, an inner city school that had its playground on the roof. On his first day at St. John's, at the age of ten, he had an experience that marked his potential as a writer. When given an assignment of writing a story about animals, he wrote about the bird that cleaned a crocodile's teeth. The teacher could not, and would not, believe that a ten year old could write that well. When young Brian refused to falsely say that he had copied the story, he was caned as "a liar". He had always loved to write, but it was only then, that he realized that he had a talent for writing.

Some teachers at St. John's proved to be good role models. As Mr. Jacques recalls:

"My favourite teacher was Mr. Austin Thomas. He looked like Lee Marvin. Big Man. A Captain in World War II. He came to school on a big bush bike with the haversack on back. He was a man's man. Always fair. I was fourteen at the time when Mr. Thomas introduced the class to poetry and Greek literature. (Because of him, I saved seven shillings and sixpence to buy The Iliad and The Odyssey at this dusty used book shop.)"

This interest in poetry extended to Wordsworth, Tennyson, and Goldsmith.It was also at St. John's that Brian met a teacher, Alan Durband (who also taught two Beatles, Paul McCartney and George Harrison), who, more than thirty years later would bring about a major change in his life.

After Brian finished school at fifteen, he set out to find adventure as a merchant seaman. He travelled to many far away ports, including New York, Valparaiso, San Francisco, and Yokohama. Tiring of the lonely life of a sailor, he returned to Liverpool where he worked as a railway fireman, a longshoreman, a long-distance truck driver, a bus driver, a boxer, a bobby (Police Constable 216D), a postmaster, and a stand-up comic.

Penguin mourns the passing of celebrated children’s book author Brian Jacques

Product Reviews

4.3 Stars Out Of 5
4.3 out of 5
(2)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Value:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1
  1. arkansas
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    All Redwall books are great.
    February 28, 2012
    babe
    arkansas
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    Value: 5
    I am commenting on all of the Redwall books. I am retired, have read all my life. I LOVE books, good books. I know these books are supposed to be for the younger generation, but I love all of them. They are something I can sit down and totally get absorbed in. I am sorry we lost Mr. Jacques and could not have more from him. The Redwall series remind me of books I read as a child, but better quality. The characters in his books are lifelike.
  2. 3 Stars Out Of 5
    September 24, 2010
    Danielle
    I was very bored with this book. I tried to get into it but i couldn't! I even read the next 5 books but they were basically the same plot with different characters. I was pretty disappointed with this book/series.
  3. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    August 11, 2009
    jared
    Wow,what a great book non stop fun.The first in a great sires. That I love
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search