Redeeming the Enlightenment: Christianity and the Liberal Virtues  -     By: Bruce Ward
Buy Item $25.20 Retail: $28.00 Save 10% ($2.80) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

Redeeming the Enlightenment: Christianity and the Liberal Virtues

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2009 / Paperback

$25.20 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $28.00
|
Save 10% ($2.80)
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
CBD Stock No: WW807618

Current Promotions
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA. We apologize for any inconvenience.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.
  • Others Also Purchased (15)
Others Also Purchased (15)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    $67.45
    Add To Cart
    $67.45
  2. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $15.00
    Add To Cart
    $8.99
  3. In Stock
    $8.49
    Retail: $13.00
    Add To Cart
    $8.49
  4. Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    $25.16
    Add To Cart
    $25.16
  5. In Stock
    $11.49
    Retail: $15.00
    Add To Cart
    $11.49
  6. In Stock
    $79.99
    Retail: $229.97
    Add To Cart
    $79.99
  7. In Stock
    $399.99
    Retail: $1100.00
    Add To Cart
    $399.99
  8. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $17.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.99

Product Description

In this probing book, Redeeming the Enlightenment, Bruce K. Ward reexamines four of the moral imperatives or "liberal virtues" associated with the Enlightenment - equality, authenticity, tolerance, and compassion - and argues that they are, in fact, based on Christian moral ideals. In the current debate surrounding post-Enlightenment secular humanism, Ward contends that we should seek not to reject or reclaim the Enlightenment but to redeem it.

Ward's study largely engages three key modern thinkers - Rousseau, Nietzsche, and Dostoevsky - yet also includes such other notables as Kant, Locke, Heidegger, Tolstoy, Kafka, Reni Girard, Charles Taylor, and Martha Nussbaum. The result is a lively and provocative forum for reconsidering and creatively retrieving what is most valuable in Enlightenment thought.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 264
Vendor: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.
Publication Date: 2009
Dimensions: 9.00 X 6.00 (inches)
ISBN: 0802807615
ISBN-13: 9780802807618
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
Series: Radical Traditions

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Kant and the Problem of God
    Kant and the Problem of God
    Gordon E. Michalson Jr.
    Wiley-Blackwell / 1999 / Trade Paperback
    $67.45
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW212205
  2. Fear and Trembling
    Fear and Trembling
    Soren Kierkegaard
    Penguin Classics / 1986 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $15.00 Save 40% ($6.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW444491
  3. After the Spirit: A Constructive Pneumatology from Resources Outside the Modern West
    After the Spirit: A Constructive Pneumatology from Resources Outside the Modern West
    Eugene F. Rogers Jr.
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    $28.35 Retail: $31.50 Save 10% ($3.15)
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW28918
  4. Religion and the Enlightenment: From Descartes to Kant
    Religion and the Enlightenment: From Descartes to Kant
    James M. Byrne
    Westminster John Knox Press / 1996 / Trade Paperback
    $21.49 Retail: $30.00 Save 28% ($8.51)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW57607

Related Products

  1. Reason Within the Bounds of Religion, Second Edition
    Reason Within the Bounds of Religion, Second Edition
    Nicholas Wolterstorff
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 1984 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $16.00 Save 31% ($5.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW16045
  2. Praise Seeking Understanding: An Augustinian Defense of Christological Reading of the Old Testament
    Praise Seeking Understanding: An Augustinian Defense of Christological Reading of the Old Testament
    Jason Byassee
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $28.80 Retail: $32.00 Save 10% ($3.20)
    Availability: Expected to ship on or about 03/09/16.
    CBD Stock No: WW840127
  3. After the Spirit: A Constructive Pneumatology from Resources Outside the Modern West
    After the Spirit: A Constructive Pneumatology from Resources Outside the Modern West
    Eugene F. Rogers Jr.
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    $28.35 Retail: $31.50 Save 10% ($3.15)
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW28918
  4. Pensees
    Pensees
    Blaise Pascal
    Penguin Classics / 1995 / Trade Paperback
    $8.49 Retail: $13.00 Save 35% ($4.51)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 2 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW46451

Publisher's Description

In this probing book Bruce K. Ward reexamines four of the moral imperatives or "liberal virtues" associated with the Enlightenment -- equality, authenticity, tolerance, and compassion -- and argues that they are, in fact, based on Christian moral ideals. In the current debate surrounding post-Enlightenment secular humanism, Ward contends that we should seek not to reject or reclaim the Enlightenment but to redeem it.

Ward's study largely engages three key modern thinkers -- Rousseau, Nietzsche, and Dostoevsky -- yet also includes such other notables as Kant, Locke, Heidegger, Tolstoy, Kafka, René Girard, Charles Taylor, and Martha Nussbaum. The result is a lively and provocative forum for reconsidering and creatively retrieving what is most valuable in Enlightenment thought.

Author Bio

Bruce Ward is professor in and chair of the Joint Department of Religious Studies at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ontario.

Editorial Reviews

David Lyle Jeffrey
— Baylor University
"An extraordinarily rich, synthetic, and polyphonic reflection on major, sustaining voices of the European Enlightenment. . . With precise definition, careful distinctions, refined intellection, and an exquisite, orderly exposition of foundational texts in both literature and philosophy, Bruce Ward gives us a bracing revision of some of those very Enlightenment thinkers that many of us have come to think of more as burden than as blessing. This is a must-read for intellectual historians, theologians, and students of Enlightenment philosophy alike — a brilliant tour de force in the tradition of George Grant and Charles Taylor."

Choice
"This rich, nuanced book by Ward draws on his previous work on Russian novelist Dostoyevsky, combining that literary analysis with probing explorations of philosophers such as Kant, Rousseau, Nietzsche, and Taylor. Ward argues that liberal modernity's ethics and philosophy are distorted reflections of richer Christian notions of the self and ethical existence. In contrast to the growing proliferation of specialized studies, this book offers an expansive tour looking for connections and differences among a host of thinkers — not to argue for a wholesale rejection of the Enlightenment but to show that Christian humanism is a richer philosophy upon which to base human fulfillment. In that project, humanity finds fulfillment in the giving of the self in love, not an endless quest for self-authored authenticity. This volume finds a way into a beyond-current debate about religion's role in a liberal society to show how religion and theology can point the way to a deeper meaning of the liberal project. Philosophically and theologically sophisticated, the book delineates the rich ways in which philosophy and theology can powerfully engage literature."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Availability

Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search