Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Raina's Choice, Western Justice Series #3
    Raina's Choice, Western Justice Series #3
    Gilbert Morris
    Barbour Publishing / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 15 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW267605
4.1 Stars Out Of 5
4.1 out of 5
(5)
(7)
(3)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Value:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 6-10 of 15
Page 2 of 3 Previous 123 Next
  1. Frederick, MD
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Raina's Choice, Western Justice Series, Book 3
    July 5, 2014
    MrsTina
    Frederick, MD
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Raina's Choice, Western Justice book 3 by Gilbert Morris****

    18 year old Raina Vernay works in a seedy saloon in Louisiana, the saloon she and her sister, Roxie inherited when their mother died. Not much of a home, but it is the only one she has. To make matters worse, Billard, Roxie's husband, watches Raina with an evil look in his eyes. He is evil and has made inappropriate advances toward her before. Now he wants her to wait on tables instead of cooking. Desperately Raina tries to come up with a plan of escape before it is too late. Who can she trust to help her?

    A stranger wonders into the saloon for something to eat. Tyler Kincaid is passing through on his way to Ft. Smith and Judge Parker. However, there is a wanted poster on him and the local sheriff arrests him and puts him in jail. Now he may be facing going back to the Mexican jail he escaped from and certain death.

    Raina devices a plan to break Tyler out of jail if he will take her with him to Ft. Smith—the last known place her father had written from so many years ago—with hopes in finding him. Raina plans succeed but not without challenges along the long way to Ft. Smith. Once in Ft. Smith they part company and go their separate ways. Raina finds work in the Bed and Breakfast she is staying at and begins her search in finding her father by showing the only picture she has of him to everyone she meets. No one has seen him, but Raina does not give up. Tyler finds work as well but finds working as one of the Judges deputies is not how he envisioned it.

    Will Raina find her father and when she does will he want her as much as she wants her father's love? What of Tyler, is working as a deputy for the Judge really what he wants out of life? Is there something else for him? And what about Raina? Could she care for him the way he cares for her? What plans does God have for these two lonely people? Can they trust their lives to Him and follow His leading no matter where it takes them?

    I am a long-time fan of Gilbert Morris' books. I enjoy books/stories set in the "old-west" time period in which this book is set. The story is easy to read and the characters are interesting. They face a number of challenges that many of us face today. Their are some surprises along the way and the story takes some unexpected turns. Integrity, hope, faith and love all are woven into the story.

    ~~I received a copy of this book from Book Fun Network for my review~~
  2. Bangor, ME
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    A quick enjoyable western read.
    July 2, 2014
    Rachs Ramblings
    Bangor, ME
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 3
    DESCRIPTION-When a mysterious stranger, Ty Kincaid, arrives in her town from Mexico, headed for Arkansas by way of the riverboats, Raina Vernay s mind starts churning a plan to escape her brutal brother-in-law and locate the father she s never know. Ty just might be her ticket to Indian Territory and freedom. . . . Then Ty lands himself in jail, and Raina has to wonder if this wanted man is any use to her. She needs a hero. Can she find him in Ty?

    Western Justice Series:

    Book 1 - Rosa's Land

    Book 2 - Sabrina's Man - Available December 2013

    Book 3 - Raina's Choice - Available June 2014

    This is a stand alone novel.

    My REVIEW- This was a sweet quick read. Nothing deep here, but I did enjoy how Ty's coming under conviction was presented. I never really felt connected to the characters in any way. For some reason, they always felt distant and unknown. As a result, though, this makes the twists and turns unknown. If you don't feel you know the character, then the reader does not have a good feel as to how they make their decisions. The character George is especially an odd character and doesn't at all fit into the story.

    However, I did enjoy the pleasantly written story. It was sweet and well written. It's rather amazing that by the time I got to the end, I had almost entirely forgotten Ty had been in jail. This was a nice change of pace for me with the other reads I've had lately. Light easy reads are great for losing oneself in a book, but it was easy to out down. So, if you are a fan of a bit shallow romantic reads this just might be your read....if you just need a break from the heavy reads you so much enjoy( that would be me), then you might enjoy the nice change of pace.

    I received this book through bookfun.org for my honest opinion which I gave given.
  3. Coral Springs, FL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    A good read
    June 26, 2014
    Marilyn
    Coral Springs, FL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This is book three in the Western Justice series, yet it is a stand alone book. You do not need to read the first two to understand anything that happens in this one. However they are also a good read.

    Raina must overcome some hard circumstances and learn to trust a total stranger, and a man at that. Will life ever seam to get easier for Raina? She has to help keep more than one man alive in all her trials. Will she ever find her father?

    Ty doesn't seam to ever catch a break. However when all he has left is to trust a complete stranger, He is not sure what all is in store for him. When they make it to Indian Territory and He becomes a Marshal, is that what God wants for him?

    Ty and Raina must both make life altering choices throughout this book. There is suspense, drama, and surprise through the book. I enjoyed reading this and would recommend it to anyone who likes Christian Western Romance Novels. I was given this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
  4. Georgia
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A great Christian fiction novel
    June 23, 2014
    Donna
    Georgia
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I really enjoy reading books by Gilbert Morris. I especially like western historical christian stories. Although this is the 2nd book in the Western Justice series I had no problems reading this book even though I have not read the first one.

    Raina Vernay inherited half of the Silver Dollar Saloon from her mother. Her sister's husband Millard Billaud now owns the other half. He is a brutal and cruel man who is constantly making advances toward Raina. She wants to leave town and try to find her father that she does not know, who may be in the town of Fort Smith, Arkansas in Indian territory. The only thing she has to help her identify him is a very old photograph. She needs help to get there.

    Ty Kincaid comes to town on his way to Fort Smith in search of a job. He escaped jail in Mexico but now finds himself back in jail. Could Ty be Raina's hope of escape. This may be her one chance to get to Fort Smith so she breaks him out of jail. As they travel they encounter many hardships. Freezing weather, food shortages, shelter and illness.

    Will Raina and Ty go their separate ways after reaching Fort Smith or will the relationship between them grow? Does Raina find her father?

    This book is well written with a lot of other strong and interesting characters. A great read.

    I received a copy of this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
  5. Alabama
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A Great Read
    June 16, 2014
    homeschoolmom24
    Alabama
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    About the Book:

    When a mysterious stranger, Ty Kincaid, arrives in her town from Mexico, headed for Arkansas by way of the riverboats, Raina Vernay's mind starts churning a plan to escape her brutal brother-in-law and locate the father she's never know. Ty just might be her ticket to Indian Territory and freedom. . . . Then Ty lands himself in jail, and Raina has to wonder if this wanted man is any use to her. She needs a hero. Can she find him in Ty?

    Western Justice Series:

    Book 1 - Rosa's Land

    Book 2 - Sabrina's Man - Available December 2013

    Book 3 - Raina's Choice - Available June 2014

    About the Author:

    Gilbert Morris is among today's most popular Christian writers; his books having sold nearly six million copies worldwide. He specializes in historical fiction and won a 2001 Christy Award for the Civil War drama Edge of Honor. Once a pastor and English professor who earned a Ph.D. from the University of Arkansas, Morris lives with his wife in Gulf Shores, Alabama.

    My Review:

    When her sister married a nasty excuse for a husband, Raina Vernay was left at the mercy of her brother-in-law. Raina had always loved the beautiful things in life such as nice flowers and pretty smelling perfume. But unfortunately it wasn't in the cards for her to have fancy things such as those. She was trapped at a dirty, smelly saloon with her vile brother-in-law and depressing sister, and a town full of drunkards.

    Tyler Kincaid, a stranger, stumbles into the seemingly quiet town. Struggling from an illness and chronic cough, Tyler finds the old saloon---needing food and a place to stay. To his surprise a very pretty Cajun woman aides him and all he can think about is, why someone of her caliber would be in an old run down saloon like this one? As the two of them get closer and closer he learns of her need to escape this prison she finds herself in.

    I will just have to say that I really liked the book and what happens to Ty in the end reminds me of exactly what my husband said upon the calling he received. It was a really fun book and I will enjoy seeing more from the author.

    **Disclosure** This book was sent to me free of charge for my honest review from Book Fun.
Displaying items 6-10 of 15
Page 2 of 3 Previous 123 Next