The God of Promise and the Life of Faith: Understanding the Heart of the Bible  -     By: Scott J. Hafemann
Buy Item $15.99 Retail: $21.99 Save 27% ($6.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

The God of Promise and the Life of Faith: Understanding the Heart of the Bible

Crossway Books & Bibles / 2001 / Paperback

$15.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $21.99
|
Save 27% ($6.00)
Buy 44 or more for $15.19 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW342616

Current Promotions

Product Description

In the midst of the suffocating self-love of our postmodern culture, the Bible is clear that our real need is to know the God revealed in its pages--that we might satisfy our cravings for security (faith), purpose (hope) and acceptance (love) with the only thing that truly satisfies, God Himself. Yet the concept of studying biblical theology with its academic terminology and profound questions scares many Christians. In the tradition of Martyn Lloyd-Jones and John MacArthur, Scott Hafemann lets the Bible tell its own message, in words that speak clearly to every heart. This book provides a basic framework for understanding the Scriptures that will aid every reader and encourage them to take up the Bible for themselves to discover the secret and promise of contentment in God.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 352
Vendor: Crossway Books & Bibles
Publication Date: 2001
Dimensions: 8.5 X 5.5 (inches)
ISBN: 1581342616
ISBN-13: 9781581342611
Availability: In Stock

Related Products

  1. How to Do Biblical Theology
    How to Do Biblical Theology
    Peter Stuhlmacher
    Wipf & Stock / 1995 / Trade Paperback
    $19.13
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW350269
  2. The End of the Beginning
    The End of the Beginning
    William J. Dumbrell
    Wipf & Stock / 2001 / Trade Paperback
    $18.99 Retail: $24.00 Save 21% ($5.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW910556

Publisher's Description

This theological primer lets the Bible tell its own message, providing a basic framework for Scripture that will encourage readers to take up the Bible for themselves and grow in faith, hope, and love.

Author Bio

Scott J. Hafemann is currently the Mary F. Rockefeller Distinguished Professor of New Testament at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. He also taught for nine years at Wheaton College. He has written numerous books and articles.

Product Reviews

5 Stars Out Of 5
5 out of 5
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Value:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1
  1. Rothesay, NB
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    August 30, 2013
    Atlantic Smitty
    Rothesay, NB
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Dr. Scott Hafemann has written a book that presents the vital link between faith and obedience. I have been a Christian for many years. I have never heard or read anyone who so clearly communicates the importance and understanding of how our faith and obedience are inseparably linked, not compartmentalized. The trust-obey concept is well presented. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is serious about growing deeper in their faith and in their desire to walk in holiness with our God.
  2. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    January 21, 2005
    David Herring
    Hafemann has done an extraordinary service to the church by publishing his user friendly summary of biblical theology. Having both the influences of Daniel Fuller and Meredith Kline in one biblical theologian is too much to ask for generally. But Hafemann weaves their broad and great themes into his own thought seamlessly. It is rare to find a seminary professor that cares as much about his exegesis of Scripture as he does about his exultation in God; but we find that in this book. This is a great book to use in small groups, bible studies, and personal edification in order to understand the Scripture as a whole.
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search