Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

    4.9 Stars Out Of 5
    4.9 out of 5
    (9)
    (1)
    (0)
    (0)
    (0)
    Quality:
    4.9 out Of 5
    (4.9 out of 5)
    Value:
    4.6 out Of 5
    (4.6 out of 5)
    Meets Expectations:
    4.7 out Of 5
    (4.7 out of 5)
    100%
    of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    SORT BY:
    SEE:
    Displaying items 6-10 of 10
    Page 2 of 2 Previous 12
    1. Gender: female
      5 Stars Out Of 5
      What an amazing and inspiring woman!!!
      February 18, 2014
      Aussiegirl
      Gender: female
      Quality: 5
      Value: 5
      Meets Expectations: 5
      2/17/2014 Review Posted

      PERPARED For A PURPOSE

      By

      Antoinette Tuff with Alex Tresniowski

      What a beautiful cover. I love it very much it is heart warming and unique. Thank you for whom ever did the cover.

      As you travel through the pages of this true story with Antoinette as she tells of her heart break she is going through with her husband and her turmoil with her son for all he was dealing with as a young baby, boy and young man but still he is the strongest of all. Then this happened,to add to what she is already dealing with, but God knows who can handle what and whom he has in places to handle different circumstances for his plans.

      This is the true story of how one woman saved an Atlanta school under siege, it's find that they say that but I feel she also saved the lives of that young man by her love and understanding of what this boy was going through and with that understanding and with the help of her love and trust in God she saved his life along with all the others.

      Antoinette was going through own turmoil of marriage and life for what she should do, but her love for her children never changed it just got stronger with each time her husband was a jerk, yes I said jerk. He didn't deserve her. I have been through some not all of what her husband put he through. So I can tell you she will find the right man when God puts him in her path.

      Antoinette really has a very special son, one with a heart of Gold and strong for his Mother. She is a beautiful woman inside and out. I feel God has great plans for her.

      Antoinette was scared as anyone would be but she handled the situation she was in very well.

      This is truly a must have if you want to see how God plays a roll in the lives of his followers, the strength that we can draw from God, knowing he is there with us in the darkest time of our lives.

      I received this beautiful book from BethanyHouse free for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review just an honest one. The opinions I have express are entirely my own.

      5 Stars

      ISBN 978-0-7642-1263-5
    2. Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      5 Stars Out Of 5
      A Vessel For God's Use - Inspirational!!
      February 8, 2014
      Seasons of Grace
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      Quality: 5
      Value: 4
      Meets Expectations: 5
      This book is inspirational! Antoinette's story could be any one of us. She came from a broken home, and did all she could to keep her children from repeating the generational curse. She struggled to overcome the trials she faced. She has a great testimony to God's goodness. Did all things turn out well for her? Not in human terms of success, but God does not always see success the same way we do. Her daily struggles were the very things God used to help her be able to empathize with a school shooter. She was able to understand his feelings and feel compassion towards him verses just fear and hate. She was able to use the very things that had caused her pain to associate with his pain. She does not claim to be a hero. Instead she says, she was created for a purpose as we all were and that day she was simple a vessel being used by God. This book will be an encouragement to all who read it! I would highly recommend it. This is the kind of people I want my children to hear about! People who rise above their circumstances, and trust God through it all!

      I received this book from Bethanny House in exchange for my honest opinion.
    3. Midwest
      5 Stars Out Of 5
      "God, what are we going to do now?"...
      January 28, 2014
      Jen Pen
      Midwest
      Quality: 5
      Value: 5
      Meets Expectations: 4
      "God, what are we going to do now?" Many times in her life, Antoinette Tuff has asked that very question_through rough moments in her childhood, troubling times in her marriage, difficulties with her children and in a scary situation with a shooter at her school. As the story unfolds, both her past and her present are recounted, telling how she believes God prepared her to be vessel for Him when needed. Hailed as a hero for saving hundreds of children during a possible school shooting, Antoinette credits God with giving her the words, patience and wisdom to detain the shooter from causing harm while at the same time letting him know someone cares and understands.

      A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:

      Antoinette's story was very well written in a style which described how her past was affecting the present moment. The novel is full of Scripture verses which demonstrate how God uses each person in a specific manner for the good. Though not always easy, nor always in such a public manner, the book exhibits to the reader that past experiences prepares one for future moments. I found the story to be very interesting, very well written and very faith filled. Thankfully, the outcome of this situation was exemplary.

      RATING:

      4.5 (out of 5) pennies

      *I received a complimentary copy of Prepared For A Purpose from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review*
    4. Ashland, Ky.
      Age: 45-54
      Gender: female
      5 Stars Out Of 5
      One of the Most Amazing Stories I've Ever Read!
      January 27, 2014
      BTNSBJ
      Ashland, Ky.
      Age: 45-54
      Gender: female
      Quality: 5
      Value: 5
      Meets Expectations: 5
      I have to say this book was one of the best real true-life stories I'v ever read! "Prepared for a Purpose', by Antoinette Tuff is an inspiring story about how she herself kept a shooter at bay for over an hour at a school where she worked. She makes the reader feel as if they are right there in the hostage situation along w/her.

      Antoinette does an amazing job of telling the story while she gives an in-depth look at how she was brought up and how it all came together to this moment in time where God used her in an unusual way to keep a 'madman' from killing anyone.

      What she was taught about God as a young child and the faith she had all the way through adulthood, the very difficult personal trials she went through over the years, the lessons learned along the way, were all part of the key elements in her preventing what could have been an otherwise massive tragedy.

      I couldn't put the book down. It made me both smile and cry at some of the things this woman had to endure. I hope that someday they make a movie from this amazing woman's life!! You will not be disappointed in reading this book!!

      Thanks to Bethany House Publishers for letting me review this free book!
    5. East Jordan, MI
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      5 Stars Out Of 5
      Uplifting and Inspirational
      January 22, 2014
      Melissa W
      East Jordan, MI
      Age: 35-44
      Gender: female
      Quality: 5
      Value: 5
      Meets Expectations: 5
      Uplifting and Inspirational, January 22, 2014

      This review is from: Prepared for a Purpose: The Inspiring True Story of How one women Saved an Atlanta School Under Siege (Hardcover)

      I received Prepared for a Purpose from Bethany House for free in return for my opinion on this book.

      There were some things I really liked about this book, and there was things that I didn't like.

      First, I have never heard of this book before or the story of the school shooting prior to reading this book.

      I came across this book from Bethany House and was curious why it was listed as a Christian book if its about a school shooting.

      I won't go into details here, but its obvious why this is a Christian faith related book if you read it. For those of you who are turned away from Christian faith books, first its not a preachy book, it really relates to her personal life and what keeps her motivated.

      The first pages were great and I was quite surprised how the author started out the book. This was probably one of my favorite parts in this book. They just jumped into the story plot and events on the first couple pages. I really liked how the author grabs your attention by doing it this way.

      The only thing I didn't like was the story went back and forth, switching from past to present and so forth.

      I have seen other books do this style of writing as well. I am not sure if I really like it or not. It just makes your brain function more because you have to keep track of two stories at the same time, while fitting them together. However, this style does make the plots more interesting to read. You just have to pay more attention as your reading, if you are one that likes details, which I am.

      The author decided to use some of the blank pages to write scriptures and recaps on the pages.

      There are also scriptures written in this book as she tells her story. They are some scriptures printed on the chapter pages, which I really liked.

      The parts I didn't like was some of the bold messages of quotes from the book that were on the pages as you were reading.

      Some people may like this and some may hate it, I was not a fan of it, but the scriptures I was okay with, just not so much with the recaps.

      Overall, I would have purchased this book if not given by Bethany House for free. I really enjoyed this book. This book also goes deep into the life of this lady and helps you get an understanding of why the events happened as they did during the school shooting. So yes, this book is about her life and personal relationship with God and how he helped her through some trying and difficult times. Even if you are turned off by the Christian faith, I encourage you to read this book. If you are a Christian, this book will definitely lift up your spirits and maybe even convict you a little bit. There are pages at the end of the book that you can take deeper if you want to use as a study/guide for your life as well. I really enjoy reading these types of book and it gives off hope that yes, we can be overcomers in the most darkest times of our lives.
    Displaying items 6-10 of 10
    Page 2 of 2 Previous 12