Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1
    Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1
    Janice Thompson
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $4.69 Retail: $15.00 Save 69% ($10.31)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 24 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721527
4.5 Stars Out Of 5
4.5 out of 5
(13)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Value:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 24
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next
  1. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Feuding Wedding Photographers and Romance
    February 22, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Janice Thompson in her new book, "Picture Perfect" Book One in the Weddings by Design series published by Revell returns us to Galveston Island and into the life of Hannah McDermott.

    From the back cover: She's trying to focus on her future. How can one man make everything feel so . . . fuzzy?

    Hannah McDermott has a successful photography studio. She'll soon be featured in Texas Bride magazine. And she has a celebrity client whose Galveston ceremony will be her ticket to the top spot on wedding coordinator Bella Neeley's list of recommended photographers. But it could all come crashing down around her because of one man: archrival and photographer extraordinaire Drew Kincaid.

    As the competition between Hannah and Drew heats up, Hannah is surprised to find that it's not the only thing getting more intense. She can't get the handsome man out of her thoughts-or even out of her line of sight-and the job of her dreams is turning into a nightmare. Will everything she's worked for slip out of her hands? And can she see past her pride to find a picture-perfect love?

    With contagious humor and a cast of quirky characters, Janice Thompson gives you crazy bridal-business drama, sweet romance, and a satisfying dose of laughter.

    It is my experience that, at a wedding, you are just not aware of the wedding photographer. Just like the caterer you know they are there but you just don't see them. Who would ever think that there could be feuding wedding photographers? Well Janice Thompson for one. What a mind this woman has I am so impressed. Ms. Thompson takes us back to Galveston Island and gives us a new set of characters to go along with Bella and her Italian family from the Weddings By Bella series. Bella is a wedding coordinator and Hannah wants to be one of her recommended photographers. However there is another photographer that also wants that spot and this is where all the fun is. This book is all about relationships within the family and also among friends and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. All the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  2. Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    I ADORED this book!
    February 20, 2013
    Rosie
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I ADORED this book!

    I couldn't set it down after I started reading! I truthfully don't know why I haven't read any of Miss Thompson's work until yesterday. Her wonderful writing combined with her humor and relatable characters made for such a great afternoon read. Yes, I did read Picture Perfect in an afternoon. No regrets.

    In Picture Perfect we are in the head of the lovely Hannah McDermott. All her life she's believed she's come up second and she's ready to be first. The only negative thing I can think to say about Hannah is that she isn't very close to God yet, however, she is on the right track. We get so up-close and personal with Hannah's thoughts that it really made me feel like I could relate to her and understand her better.

    Before I close this review there's a peeve I had that I would like to mention. I did not like how the married women made dreamy/infatuated comments about an actor right in front of their husbands. I mean, how disrespectful is that? But like I said, it was my only big peeve with Picture Perfect and it did not occur often enough to take away from my reading experience.

    If you like a good romance tale with some humor, this is the book for you. :-)

    Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
  3. PA
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Fun, Light-hearted Fiction: Picture Perfect (Weddi
    February 18, 2013
    Renee C
    PA
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Ever since I read the Weddings by Bella series many moons ago I've been in love with the Rossi clan and I was sad to see those characters go by the end of book 3. I am so excited that Janice Thompson has decided to bring them back in this brand new series. While they don't have quite as much "page time" in this series the fun, quirky Italian family is back and they're better than ever! Along with some old familiar faces this book introduces us to a new face, Hannah McDermott, Irish woman and photographer extraordinaire as well as a few others. I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that D. J. Neeley the hunky cowboy from the first series makes a cameo BUT he's no longer the only hunk on the scene. Drew Kincaid, Hannah's gorgeous; oh-so-sweet competition will steal your heart. This series is off to a great start, although reading all these books where food is such a big part of the story is not going to be good for my waistline. Hannah, her family along with Drew and others are entertaining and fun. Hannah's struggle with having to be #1 in everything from high school till adulthood but being denied it by a nemesis is something that we can all relate to -- think a toned down, grown-up Mean Girls. Picture Perfect has it all, some laugh-out-loud moments and that curl-your-toes romance. I was so pleased with this story and hope that the next book will be just as cute!

    ~ My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars ~

    "Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    *I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
  4. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    February 18, 2013
    Rel Mollet
    You've gotta love a Janice Thompson book ~ guaranteed feel good reading, fun and quirky characters, lots of laughs and joyful moments. Picture Perfect is the first in a new series that introduces fresh characters into the world of wedding planner extraordinaire, Bella Neeley, the subject of Janice's earlier Weddings by Bella series. Janice does a terrific job of creating new characters to love and cheer for as Hannah and Drew search for love and success in their chosen careers as wedding photographers. With plenty of cameo appearances from the Splendora sisters, Rosa, Brock, and DJ, readers old and new alike with enjoy Picture Perfect and be keen to discover Scarlet's journey towards love and cup cake perfection in The Icing on the Cake this August.
  5. Tampa, FL
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Fun Read
    February 17, 2013
    Sally
    Tampa, FL
    I'd love to live next door to Janice Thompson; she has such a positive outlook. I'm sure we'd be BFFs. I've read several of her novels, and each one has a lighthearted, bouncy plot. As I finished reading this her latest Christian fiction, I closed the book with a contented sigh and a smile on my face. Thompson's done it again!

    The protagonist, Hannah McDermott, photographer, nicknamed Shutter Speed by her father still lives at home with her parents. The reader watches as this flawed character struggles with her fledgling business, relationship worries, and low self-esteem. She's easy to like because she thinks and acts like real people.

    Clan McDermotts are a proud people, and each chapter offers an Irish blessing at its beginning. References to Grandpa Aengus are interspersed throughout the story, adding more Irish flavor. How I'd love to be invited to their annual Bing and Bob party. What a fun idea!

    As a fan of Dancing with the Stars, I've introduced it to my husband, and therefore, I understand the resistance of Hannah's father, Michael McDermott to viewing it. I chucked as he, like my husband, is drawn bit by bit to sneek a peek until (at last!) he becomes a fan.

    It's fun to watch Hannah blossom into her happy ending.

    If you want a fun book to read, get a copy of this one. I sure enjoyed it.

    Thank you to Donna Hausler at Baker Publishing Group for my copy.

    Available February, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Displaying items 11-15 of 24
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next