Mysterious Signal / New edition - eBook  -     By: Lois W. Johnson
Buy Item $5.09 Retail: $6.99 Save 27% ($1.90) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Mysterious Signal / New edition - eBook

River North / 2013 / ePub

$5.09 (CBD Price)
Retail: $6.99
Save 27% ($1.90)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW39010EB

Current Promotions
* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Read this eBook on:

  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
  1. In Stock
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
  2. In Stock
    Retail: $8.99
    Add To Cart

Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: River North
Publication Date: 2013
ISBN: 9780802486554
ISBN-13: 9780802486554
Availability: In Stock
Series: Freedom Seekers

Publisher's Description

When Jordan and his father, Micah Parker, learn they are being watched, they need to leave Springfield, Illinois, at once. With the stolen money recovered and the thief behind bars, Libby looks forward to returning the money Pa needs to pay off the Christina. Jordan makes plans to travel to Chicago and turn over the gift to help fugitive slaves. But then a dangerous man escapes!

If he recognizes Libby, Jordan and Peter will be in danger. When a disguise for Libby seems the only answer, it requires a sacrifice she isn't sure she's willing to make.

Arriving in a strange city, the Freedom Seekers look for a safe house--a station in the Underground Railroad where fugitive slaves can hide. When finding help might be a matter of life or death can they spot a mysterious signal in time?

And how does a young teacher named Annika become an important part of their lives? Can the great detective Allan Pinkerton offer the surprising solution they need? Will a life-threatening steamboat accident and Libby's new willingness to forgive her Aunt Vi bring the breakthroughs she needs?

In The Mysterious Signal, the fifth Freedom Seekers novel, as well as others in the series, Lois Walfrid Johnson uses fast-paced storytelling and biblical truth to bring important concepts alive.

The Freedom Seekers series is a six-novel middle-reader set in 1857. Feel the rush of immigrants to the new land, and the dangers of the Underground Railroad in these true-to-life Riverboat stories.The characters will receive a heart-warming response from readers of all ages. Adult readers will ask themselves, &quote;Would I have been one of those who helped runaway slaves?&quote; Lois Walfrid Johnson uses strong historical research, great writing, and wonderful storytelling to bring alive a critical time in American history.

Author Bio

LOIS WALFRID JOHNSON is a speaker, teacher of writing, and former instructor for Writer's Digest School. She is the author of 38 books, including Girl Talk, the Gold Medallion Book Award winning Let's-Talk-About-It Stories for Kids series, the bestselling Adventures of the Northwoods mysteries, and the much-loved Riverboat Adventures. In her exciting Viking Quest series Lois' characters travel from Ireland to Norway, Iceland, and Greenland, then sail with Leif Erickson to what is now America. Lois' husband, Roy, is a gifted teacher and idea person for her writing. They enjoy time with their family, friends, and readers who have written from more than 40 countries to say, "I love your books. I can't put them down."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook


Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search